E.E. Wilson Wildlife Area - Not the Visitor's Guide - Part 1 - Birds in CagessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Thanks for following along on another Robyn Eggs local photo blog...

Please feel free to use these photos for your own purposes. I wish to add them to the collection of photos available on the Oregon Fish and Wildlife website, which are limited. I want to provide a more close-up viewer experience for those at home, and for those wishing to visit the area.

20170829_182735.jpg

Signage at pullout for Camp Adair / E.E. Wilson 3024 x 4032

It was an impromptu Wednesday

I parked the car at the visitor's lot of the Wildlife Area. It was late August 2017 near Corvallis, OR. I had always wanted to get a close look at the birds there, kept in cages.

This trip I got to take my time and photograph most of them for Steemit. The quail were too small to capture, running around in the shade at the back of their pens, but the pheasants were very calm and chill that late afternoon, as it was hot, but not too hot to nap in the tall, dry grass.

The smoke was less hazy and my new camera was able to capture quite the scene, surprisingly well. Beams of light shone down in the cages, between the wire, and my eyes were welcomed by the bright colors and mysterious locations of each bird.

Native to the area, these birds looked well cared for. Or eaten and replaced with fresh ones every so often...I couldn't tell.

Visitor's Guide

The Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife purchased the area in 1950. The 1,788 acres of wildlife area offer hunting, fishing and a live shooting range, still in use after all these years.

20170829_182626.jpg

Flag post at Camp Adair (historic preservation area) 3024 x 4032

The old training base of Camp Adair is nestled in the fertile Willamette Valley of Oregon and hosts a variety of wet and dry land birds, fowl, and small animals. It is filled with old, mossy apple, plum and cherry trees that were probably planted there by the troops, if not shortly after the land was purchased, 50 years ago.

apple_re_3024sq.jpg

Not the Visitor's Guide

What the visitor's guide doesn't have is first-hand, personal photos of up-close flora and fauna, capturing the interpretive trail from SW to NE and back around. Seriously, I got side-tracked on this awesome, overgrown back trail. It was magically awesome to behold as the afternoon sun got lower and lower in the sky...But first, we begin with the birds in cages, which are located adjacent to the visitor's parking lot.

Birds in Cages

phea2_re_1000.jpg

Here we behold a typical pheasant. Out and about and wondering what the heck we are doing looking at it. It is tucked away towards the back of the cage.

phea1_re_1000.jpg

The pheasant appears to be nesting comfortably in the heat of the afternoon, until I disturbed it. Surely it could hear me park the car. I tried to zoom in all the way to capture it better.

silverph_re_1600.jpg

In the next cage rests a Silver Pheasant. It's hiding in the shade, in the back. Most of the birds were unimpressed with peering eyes and so they avoided the front of the cage.

cingoldph_re_2016.jpg

Next we behold the beautiful and colorful Cinnamon Golden Pheasant. I left this image larger so you can zoom in on it. At first I didn't think I caught it on camera, but then I was delighted to find I did.

phea3_re_1600.jpg

A mysterious bird...this one refused to budge. It was fun to find it, napping in the grass. Maybe it is the female partridge.

phea4_re_2016.jpg

The Partridge remained elusive, as advertised. It's hiding all the way in the back, in the shadows, too far away to zoom in on it.

phea5_re_2016.jpg

The quail were flat-out too quick to catch on my phone camera. They rushed to the back of the cage with their soft little sounds. So fat and tasty looking. I just love their head feather, so proud and elite.

The area boasts a multitude of quail and pheasant for hunters. But finding them in the brush is the fun part...

Stay tuned for Part 2

The E.E. Wilson Wildlife Area - "Not the Visitor's Guide" tour, Part 2, will feature photos from the interpretive trail, on the way to the seasonal reservoir (North), which is resting at a very low point, in the heat of the summer. Prepare to see more local flora and perhaps some amphibian action.

Part 3 will finalize the series with a trip down a less-traversed trail...


thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

one human basket


Sort:  

A lot of wildlife reserves I've been to do that shit too.

It gives the hunters a chance to know what they are after. It also provides the children with an up close view, rather than have them run about scaring birds. I believe the birds are well taken care of honestly...but yeah, setting them free would feel amazing. Although if they are domesticated, setting them free would ruin their chances of survival in the wild...2 sides to every coin they say.

Ya, it just makes me sad. Then again most people don't realize the cages they build for themselves anyway. :)

Do I sense a cage poem coming on.... ;-) ?

I like your logo there @alamin7

love the shots, esp the 1st

Thanks for your compliment @doitvoluntarily Hope you have a wonderful day! I am loving my new cell phone camera S8!

Thanks a lot dear @robyneggs! It's very interesting! I like these birds! Awaiting the next part!)

YAY! I am glad you love it @evgsk! Thanks so much for stopping by! Blogging the local area has been fantastic so far. I am really enjoying the green of Oregon, even at the end of Summer. It was super hot out yesterday (over 100) and I still went out. I captured more of the fall presence, leaves dropping, grass drying out....I've been able to document the change over the season and I can't wait to share more! XO Cheers~! Have a nice day!

nice art! upvoted! followed! resteem!

Thanks Babe! You too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45