Write Club report: 7 writers, 16 weeks--you do the math

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

What do you get when 7 writers egg one another on to write a story every two weeks for 16 weeks? A total of 56 stories! Okay, I did the math for you.

We have just completed Round 1, and I'm amazed at what we're accomplishing. If you would like more background on Write Club (an event sponsored by The Writers' Block), simply check out the #writeclub tag, as several of us have blogged about it. In a nutshell, it's a 16-week writing boot camp that we believe will result in all participants completing multiple works for publication. Each writer will produce a total of 8 stories, all of which will be peer edited and ready for finalizing and submitting to publishers. In this post I'll do a quick retrospective on the first round, with some take-aways for serious writers, and then share what happens next.

writeclub.jpg
(Image source: Pixabay)

Round 1 retrospective

We did it! Seven survivors have slogged through the first round of the 16-week Write Club boot camp. Here’s a quick retrospective:

  • Our first prompt-master, @tanglebranch, issued a story prompt for us all to follow.
  • We had a Discord chat to launch Write Club and connect up about how to use the prompt and get cracking.
  • Each of us submitted a story by the deadline, a week after the story prompt was announced.
  • We read each of the other stories and did a high-level review, via questionnaire. This feedback was collected in a spreadsheet where we could peruse all the comments on our work to learn what worked, and what didn’t.
  • Then, we each picked our two favorite stories to critique in depth. We completed the critiques two days ago, and now it’s time to do it all over again.

How does it feel to have completed a round? Fantastic.

Honestly, right now I have a “pinch me; is this real?” feeling. I went into Write Club with a lot of trepidation. I wasn’t sure how I was going to fit it into my life. I had already committed to writing daily posts for the month of January, and adding all this activity to my schedule in addition to that seemed potentially grueling.

And yet, I’m doing this. I’m loving it. It’s going well. I haven’t missed a daily post. Truth be told, there are some challenging days when my eyes want to close and it’s past midnight as I wrap up whatever I still have to get done for that day. On days like that, you know what I think? I think without these challenges, I wouldn’t be doing all this. I would allow my busy life and my desire for sleep (over-rated, right?) to set my schedule. There is no way I would be getting all this writing done under normal circumstances.

That’s the take-away I want to share from this. Having commitments and a schedule makes all the difference when you need to level-up from whatever plateau you’re comfortably stuck on.

Let Round 2 begin!


Yesterday, @Jordan.Lesich, founder of Write Club, as well as our esteemed leader, issued the next Write Club writing prompt. And it’s a doozy.

If you would like to participate informally, come on along. Here's the idea behind this prompt: you must write about two unrelated things, one of which is a metaphor for the other. The story that inspired this prompt is called Chicxulub, by T.C. Boyle, and you can click that link to read it online in the New Yorker.

I am hoping not to give any spoilers; but the two things that happen are a a science/nature event and a personal event.

You know you have to go read it now and find out what happens!

Today we had our session launch Discord call. Of course we are all stewing and brewing about this prompt. That is part of the fun of all this: deciding how to generate a unique and interesting story idea from a prompt. And then it’s incredibly fascinating to see how 7 different people approach it.

  • Some write a one-sentence summary of the storyline.
  • Some map out their stories.
  • Some just start writing and see what comes out.

The first step, for me, is to sketch out a number of storylines (or loglines). Then I spend a bit of time mulling them over, and I pick the one that really speaks to me.

I'm ready. Here we go. Wish me luck!



Thank you for reading.

Are you a writer seeking community or help with your writing? If so, please check out The Writers' Block on Discord.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

My recent posts

Sort:  

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am cheering you on honey. I love that you are engaged with your writing in a whole new way. Thanks for posting, keep on writing!!

Thanks Ms. @ducksaplenty. So glad you are a part of my village. I am cheering you on too!

my Sister is a great writer too,
wish i ha met your post earlier
But nice work you are doing here :)

Thank you! Is your sister on Steemit?

Hey, I like this initiative and want to participate.

Hi @sidrahwrites, that’s wonderful. You can participate unofficially by using the prompts to write stories. Be sure to use the #writeclub tag so we can find them. We are all working to get our next story done by the night of January 29. If you like, you can use that deadline for yourself too. See the prompt post I linked to in the description of Round 2 above. Good luck with your writing!

Thanks a lot I'll nake sure to participate!

And what should the word count be?

Oooh, that's smart, linking your older posts at the bottom ;)
This is gonna be a wild ride, I can tell you that, but I love how you look at it through the lens of "This is making me better and making me do stuff" v.s. "Dear Heavenly Father, my arms are falling off!!"
Very inspiring! :D

Yes it is going to be a wild ride. And crazy fun. Didn’t you say you have already drafted your story based on the new prompt? See, we all work so differently. I need to plant the seed in my brain, sketch some ideas, ruminate about them, and then let the best one gestate a while. It’s not a speedy process, but it’s how I create my best work.

I wrote a story for a contest entry a few days ago (“Nine Eleven”) in about four hours. I can do that sometimes, particularly for a short Steemit piece. But I can’t pull it off for a full length story for a literary magazine. I bow down to you, @caleblailmusik!

I don't think you should bow until you read my story :P
I'm not sure I'd call 2500 "full length" nor would I call the story "Literary Magazine material" but thank you. I can't wait to read the next round's stories!

The fact that you are doing it is huge. Every piece you write helps to shape who you are as a writer, helps to sharpen your skills, and find your voice. That is what matters. 😊

You right. And that's why I'm not utterly defeated right now! :D
You're the bomb! Can't wait to see what comes next, Bates!

I really like your posts and I enjoy very much with all your posts.👍

Why thank you very much!

So nice to read an update about what is happening in Write Club, very excited for you all! And also extra grateful you still find time to go over the queue to help out other writers... respect! And enjoy the next ride!

I also loved the new prompt and story. Hope to be able to keep up with the prompts. This one is challenging on a new level, so nice!

Thank you, @nobyeni! Yes, it is a wild ride, alright. I’m so glad you are following along and using the prompts to get inspired. I do pop into the queue to help when I can, but you are far more active right now. I will hopefully be able to ratchet up my editing activities when my commitments subside a bit. 😊 Thank you so much for all the support!

I'm amazed that you decide to join the Write Club despite being occupied with writing your daily article. It must have been very difficult, yet you still persevere. Kudos! I admired your determination to challenge your limit. Good luck and more success to you.

Thank you! Stepping up to challenges makes us better. It is really interesting to find that your limits are not where you believed them to be. 😃

I know how you feel, about how these challenges actually keep you writing. I've been feeling that way, too, haha. Wish you the best of luck with this prompt! It certainly is a doozy!

It really is a kick in the rear! If I had gotten involved in Steemit, Discord, and The Writers’ Block years ago when I wanted to write but couldn’t find my way, I would be in a very different place with my fiction today. Good luck with all of your writing adventures. (To anyone reading this: go see! Check out @therosepatch! She is doing some very inspiring and creative things!)

Aw thank you @jayna! And yes, if I'd found all this years ago my writing journey would've gone much different, haha. I can't wait to see what you're cranking out through Write Club! :D

I can DM you a link after I complete the next draft. Or I may drop it in the TWB queue. We shall see. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44