You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Write Club report: 7 writers, 16 weeks--you do the math

in #writing7 years ago

Oooh, that's smart, linking your older posts at the bottom ;)
This is gonna be a wild ride, I can tell you that, but I love how you look at it through the lens of "This is making me better and making me do stuff" v.s. "Dear Heavenly Father, my arms are falling off!!"
Very inspiring! :D

Sort:  

Yes it is going to be a wild ride. And crazy fun. Didn’t you say you have already drafted your story based on the new prompt? See, we all work so differently. I need to plant the seed in my brain, sketch some ideas, ruminate about them, and then let the best one gestate a while. It’s not a speedy process, but it’s how I create my best work.

I wrote a story for a contest entry a few days ago (“Nine Eleven”) in about four hours. I can do that sometimes, particularly for a short Steemit piece. But I can’t pull it off for a full length story for a literary magazine. I bow down to you, @caleblailmusik!

I don't think you should bow until you read my story :P
I'm not sure I'd call 2500 "full length" nor would I call the story "Literary Magazine material" but thank you. I can't wait to read the next round's stories!

The fact that you are doing it is huge. Every piece you write helps to shape who you are as a writer, helps to sharpen your skills, and find your voice. That is what matters. 😊

You right. And that's why I'm not utterly defeated right now! :D
You're the bomb! Can't wait to see what comes next, Bates!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54