Come hike with me! Photo journey - Ellis Brook Reserve (Summer Edition)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Come hike with me!

Ellis Brook Reserve

hike 1.jpg

Ellis Brook reserve is located Martin, Western Australia. Its hosts four bush walks of varying difficulties, the most popular and most difficult one being the Sixty Foot Falls trail, the trail I will be walking you through today. My husband @shai-hulud and I discovered Ellis Brook Reserve about four years ago when we got bored of our standard walk so decided to do some research for local walks/hikes. It was the best thing we ever did as we love to hike now and have found many wonderful places like this to explore.

hike 2.jpg

My sister @beenathinkin will be joining us, she is new to steemit and like many of us not sure where to start, much like my fitness journey. The arrow indicates where we are hiking up to, its the most interesting even during the dry season when there are no waterfalls to be seen. This is one of the closest things you will find to a mountain in Western Australia and it's more like a steep hill with steps.

hike 3.jpg

Let the stepping begin, this hike is just over 2km long and as I said its steep. It has been graded as a level 4 with many rocks to step up although over time as this place has gained favour with the locals more man-made steps and rails have appeared.

hike 4.jpg

These are some of these man-made additions I was talking about, it makes it safer and it's not uncommon to see many families with children as young as five with there dog in tow. Pet peeve: If your going to take your animal hiking or walking with you, wonderful they will love it and I am all for exercising your animals but pick up the poop! Stepping in poop is an easy way to ruin someone's day!

hike 5.jpg

Celebrate! We made it a third of the way round the loop, up three sets of calf breaking steps and a rest break is withing sight. The first time I did this walk I had to stop every third step to catch my breath and stop my heart beating out of my chest. Now I can jog up them, WINNING!

hike 6.jpg

Rest and water break, plus the the best view of the currently non-existent Sixty Foot Falls. In winter they and the connecting rivers flow freely but for how long depends on the rainfall which sadly is never enough, our dams are currently sitting at a low 41% capacity.

hike 7.jpg

We made it to the top of the falls, exhausted and sweating but happy with our efforts. Behind us in the dip is Perth city, on a clear day you can see the buildings and just how tiny it is.

hike 8.jpg

Not even a trickle of water, this is one of the sources to the falls and in winter an obstacle to jump over that ofter ends with wet socks if you don't use the stepping stones right. During winter I will take you to overlook the top of the falls.

hike 9.jpg

Could it be more disapointing to see more stairs after you believe you had reached the top?

hike 10.jpg

Ok, now this really is the top! I love this chair, all the soil has eroded around it but it still stands. I know one day I will turn that last corner looking for my iconic chair and it will have fallen but I love that I feel like a little kid sitting on it, so until that day I will always take a second to celebrate making it.

hike 11.jpg

It's all downhill from here, the stones can be slippery and in winter it can turn into a bit of a mud slide but it all adds to the experience. I am super impressed with my sister who on her first visit here slipped on the homeward stretch rolling her ankle, she hobbled the remained of the way down, healed up and tackled the walk again the next month.

hike 12.jpg

Our reward, that view! I also have a thing for trees, in particulr ones that a bit twisted I like to think of then as unique , the one featured below was devestated by fire years back only for it live again. Below that to the right you can see some local wattle in flower, one of more than 500 species that can be found in Ellis Brook, a sight to be seen in Spring.

This needs no words, other than I am very proud of my sister who is 55kg lighter than she was nine months ago, she had another 20kg's to her perfect weight and I have no doubt that she will achieve it.

hike 13.jpg

If you are happy to do the same as my awesome sister and squeeze yourself though that tiny "unauthorised" hole you will be rewarded with this awesome view of the old Barrington Quarry. I really wish you could swim in that water but unfortunately, some have to ruin it for the whole. There is abandoned vehicles along with many other hidden surprises in that alluring water.

hike 15.jpg

hike 16.jpg

Homeward stretch and the last set of stairs, by this stage legs are commonly jelly and you may be in need of a long bath but you will feel happy with your achievement and impressed with what you have seen no matter what the season.

hike 17.jpg

The end for now! Thanks for hiking with us today, we hope you will join us for another one soon!

I had hoped to end the post with our celebratory breakfast post hike, but we ate it before we remembered to take the photo. Sorry....

hike 18.jpg

How about I end it with the geese that attacked the car on the way home but were too cute not to film.


1ecb412b-a627-4b86-85c7-9212deba5355.gif

Want some inspiration or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers!
What is love?
Paradise or Death - Round TWO
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven from @catweasel & @enchantedspirit
How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine

My hubby is also a great steemian worth a follow, check him out @shai-hulud. Below are some of his:

Alphabet Adventures Episode 7 .. "Absolve" (fck cancer)
The 7 Secret to Steemit fundraising plus bonus tip - Fck Cancer
FCK Cancer

Don't forget to follow us so you don't miss a thing!

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.
Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!


asapers 1.png

One last thing! @asapers a new curation team has started a profit-sharing curation post promotion, follow @asapers to check it and more out!

The STEEM Engine

Why am I on Steemit?

I recently started a blog called Insideout Ostomy Life to raise awareness around chronic illness and ostomy’s, it won WEGO Health’s Rookie of the Year Award in 2017. @insideoutlet gives me opportunity to reach more readers while exploring all aspects of my creativity.

What’s special about steemit?

Steemit is a platform that you can earn cryptocurrency from when you engage with it. One Steem is now worth approx. 4USD, and can be earned easily by:
• Creating original content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
• Upvote (Like) other people contents. sounds a bit like something I know.
• Comment on other people's posts, etc. Again, I think you may already be doing this.

Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, Images are all my own, Page Dividers by @odrau

Sort:  

Beautiful terrain. How wonderful that you and your sister can share in moments like this. Congrats to her for her achievement in a lower weight. Hope she makes her goal.

Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for reading, my sister is my best friend, we often spend time together and do things like this, after the hike we had a cooking session and made nine small lasagnas. Gave away four and kept five for the coming month.

That is so awesome that you have such a close relationship with her. Lasagna wow that sounds delicious.

Thanks for sharing.

Your welcome. It was delicious! We gave some away to I'll neighbours and they appreciated it too.

nice pictures! I love a good hike :) Makes me miss the nice summer weather - I'm stuck in snow and freezing weather in the US. thanks for sharing such a fun post!

haha, the grass is always greener, I wish we got snow! We have to travel 3,000km to find some lol. How hot do your summers get? We were in the US in Jan 17 and were hoping for snow, it snowed the day after we left for the cruise lol....

lol isn't that how it always goes?! I live right on the east coast so our summer's have that nice ocean breeze but we do see upper 90's F (upper 30's C) sometimes.

Nice, yes it is always the way lol. Our summers average around that too buy we have weeks at above 40 so 104 plus. You feel like your melting in the sun while getting second degree burns simultaneously. Lol.

LOL yesss especially for us pigmently-challenged.. sun burns are a serious problem!

Yes the "wranger" (ginger hair) in me likes to burn fast. Lol. My hubby is the whitest too. Burns and peels. We have a lot of sunscreen in our cupboards. Lol.

Wow! that hike looks like a real workout... must be a challenge to keep going all the way to the top.

Thanks for sharing :-)

It is but you feel so good when you get to the top! Thanks for checking it out!

reall great places, you both look gorgeous.hope youhave a sweet time.

Thank you we had a great time today.

good post mam

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=insideoutlet
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=come-hike-with-me-photo-journey-ellis-brook-reserve-summer-edition


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=insideoutlet
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=come-hike-with-me-photo-journey-ellis-brook-reserve-summer-edition


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @insideoutlet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 10 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Oh wow, thank you. Consistency is key I think. It's been a good week for curated work. I'll check this out after work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52760.21
ETH 2328.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12