Symptoms of Heat Exhaustion

in #health7 years ago (edited)

I knew I was in trouble when It took me 12 tries to type the word “thought” here on Steemit…

I was the victim of Heat Exhaustion the day before yesterday. I could not stop throwing up, and the muscle ache and malaise wouldn’t allow me to leave my bed.

In hindsight, I should have gone to the hospital. But I, like most people, tend to put that off. I really hate hospitals, and avoid them at all costs apparently!

It began with a nagging headache. I was here on Steemit posting and commenting, and I finally had to shut my computer down after my weakness and headache became all encompassing.

When it took me, the “Word Dominatrix” several minutes to type the work “Thought”, I assumed my confusion and lack of brainpowerz was due to my headache.

But it was because I could not think clearly due to the fact that I was suffering Heat Exhaustion.

I don’t think I could or would have called Emergency Services. I lacked the “thought” (haha) to do so. Thankfully I had a loved one appear and took care of me. I was absolutely useless to help myself.

What followed was a very miserable and dangerous 12 hours.

If not treated heat exhaustion can turn into heatstroke.

You can die.

Do not ignore the symptoms. You can have many or some. But as always- listen to your body. It is incapable of lying.

Symptoms of heat exhaustion:

Headache

Nausea or vomiting

Confusion

Heart palpitations

Trouble breathing

Dark urine

Rapid or slow heartbeat (pulse)

Faintness or dizziness

Heavy sweating often accompanied with cold and clammy skin

Pale or flushed face

Muscle cramps

Great fatigue- it like literally knocks you down and gravity increases

If you feel yourself or someone is suffering heat exhaustion, do not delay, call 911 or your emergency services immediately. As you are waiting, gently and slowly cool the person. Bring them into a building with Air Conditioning. Or into the shade. Fan them. Cool them with tepid water.

Another point I would like to make that you don't hear on the news is to have a buddy with you during extreme temps. They will know when you can't that there is something wrong with you.

If you have elderly neighbors, please check on them mid day. Yes, even the curmudgeons ;) We all need someone to watch our backs, and you may be the grumpy one someday. ;)

And please remember our four legged friends. If you're hot, they're hot.

Images via CDC.gov, MayoClinic, WA Animal Hospital & Giphy

shaded line.jpeg

animated-dividing-line-image-0032

Enter the Creative News Headline contest for cash prizes! And Dont forget to vote for your favorite :)

Sharing is caring :) Follow @ArbitraryKitten for more :)

Minnows! Do you realize your power?

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

I appreciate your support :)

animated-dividing-line-image-0110

Sort:  

Wow, I'm sorry to hear that.. Hope you're feeling better! Get into some AC!

Thank you <3

I know! My house is SO old, and SO hot. Ug

"I knew I was in trouble when It took me 12 tries to type the work “thought” here on Steemit…"
do you mean word?

Its okay happens to the best of us :)

Considering it took a dozen tries for one word, I'd consider it work... ;)

lol, thanks for noticing hun, and for the heads up! Most people just keep scrollin'

Anytime :) thx for sharing this! =)

Of course. If it can happen to me, it can happen to anyone! Seriously though, it was super scary. If I can spread awareness I might help prevent this sneaky killer from happening to someone else.

And i agree on the overheating :O especially animals are left in cars during hot weather, i didn't know this before but you are allowed to break the window of any car under such circumstances.

And I have seen people do this and I really admire them :)
i would do the same.

Yessir that is correct. And even if it wasn't allowed, I would do so anyway.

That's just plain neglect. In this day and age of information, everybody knows better.

Oh Sir... so formal :O Okay Miss i agree :D haven't done it yet though but kind wanna break a window someday :'D

And now I kinda wanna watch you do it!

I feel so much pressure now :D but it's fairly balanced weather in Belgium at the time so no dogs in cars atm I kinda wanna add unfortunate to this text but that's inappropriate for the dogs. Poor creatures.

Right.

But this is a good thing, because in hot weather for every one noticed there are more that are passed by...

That is true. But if i find a Dog in need, ill make sure to film it for you me being the HERO :D

Righteous and honorable

Good plan :)

if you Follow & Upvote me, i will Follow & Upvote you...!

Hm... Tell you what. I will check out your page :)

Glad you're feeling better! And thank goodness for whoever came to your rescue. Heat exhaustion can be sneaky... one day I will live in a place where it doesn't get above 80 in the summer.

It was as sneaky as a burglar with a bad leg and a warrant.

Seriously tho, by the time I knew something was wrong, it was too late for me to physically do something about it.

Yep, that's usually how it goes. With humans and animals unfortunately.

I've been thinking of getting one of those beer-dispensing helmets and putting water in it so I don't forget to drink! :)

Yes! And it'll have dual purpose by also cooling you from the head down :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

That's terrible, glad to read you've recovered!

In the UK summer seems to be over, so we won't be in any danger over here...

That is good. But still handy info to have stored in your knowledge base for future heat waves :)

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
the Best And amazing.

My Name @kouba01 I Am Coming From Tunisia
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or#eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @kouba01 and i will follow you and upvote to you
I would like to express my gratitude

Good info to be sharing at times like this. Heat Exhaustion and being dehydrated are very real things you need to be careful of.

I am just hoping that enough people see this - if I would have been aware I could have reversed it at the first signs... I hope noone has to experience it- it was truly scary. I honestly thought I would perish.

Just very glad you're okay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60910.03
ETH 3358.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47