Back to the mundane... NO! ADVENTURE TIME! - My Civil Service #16

in #work6 years ago (edited)

You might've noticed a pattern. I like to complain about my civil service. I'll admit, I get satisfaction for pointing my finger on what I think is wrong in the system. However, I've realized and learned that my situation ain't bad at all. I've actually learned a thing or two during it. But even though something can be a learning experience it doesn't necessarily make it right. One can learn anything from everything. It's just a matter of attitude.

The last week I was a janitor, but now that the standing janitor is back from his holiday, I'm fairly close being a professional time waster. Luckily I am gifted in this art of "flushing things down the toilet." Who wouldn't be, it's just a matter of pushing a button. Although Japanese have made even that a matter of needing a rocket flying license for their UFO spacetoilets. They would probably launch into space if given the wrong (or right?) combination of buttons.

This vacuum cleaner sucks so bad it doesn't even suck properly.

Gladly my job isn't about flushing the toilet. That would probably take the rock bottom even from me being a "leaflet arranger" among other fairly mundane things as most of the chores in our human lives are described as.

The unavoidable "mundane" isn't necessarily bad though, and it can actually be fulfilling if it's part of a progression towards something; repeating a scale with an instrument, sawing the boards for a house or stepping forward again and again knowing in the end you'll get a cup of hot liquid of your choice.

But when the mundane becomes nothing but the act itself, leading nowhere, it becomes unfulfilling. Although something "highly ordinary" as a cup of coffee in the morning is highly enjoyable for a lot of people. But that's by their own choice because it sets them for a good mood to start the day.

How I see it, is that when the mundane is part of an aspired lifestyle it doesn't feel as empty. But as we're sometimes forced to work on jobs that don't really take us anywhere but only sustain our vitality, it can lead to increasing bitterness towards the tasks we don't see ourselves growing with. Like above where I express my strong opinion about the shitty sucker. But hey, didn't have to hoover today on Monday, which is usually my hoovering day, becaaaaaaause...


unexpected quest appears


I got an mission to deliver some urgent papers to the social and health care permission supervising ministration (or something along those lines) in Helsinki.

"Hah, excellent!"

And then my manager was sorry that I had to go in to the warm sunny day. Mmm, miserable fate indeed. Definitely would've rather molded inside.


Upon my arrival to my destination I realized that I probably wasn't looking at the place I was looking for. Looks into a kitchen decoration exhibition estate.

"Probably not..."

Then I look the address and of course: I had mistakenly went to Mannerheimintie 106 instead of 103. Oh well it was only some 1 kilometer more North. Meh, got to waste my working hours by walking on sunshine.


After getting the papers into the right address I started my way back to the railway station.

Except that it didn't go that straight forward.


poetic shit.JPG

Muahhaahahhahahaa.

Look at that: A McDonalds soda cup, cigarette butt and a BIG MOTHERFUCKING tart on the side next to them. It doesn't get anymore poetic than that.

What a shame I already did my shitpost. Would've been some top quality material for that.


I noticed a trail into the woods, right next to a big road, in the middle of Helsinki.

I was already passing by it when it suddenly whispered it's lure onto me: "Come and find out what's in the end of this trail."

You can probably tell by now that I gave in to the temptation. How could one say no for such an offer on a - oh so deviant day from the mundaine - as an adventure hungry 20-year-old youngsters who's eagerly waiting to get off the chains of the government to explore the world?

No free will involved with this.


pano rama.JPG

Well, well, look what I found?


The pipe was taaaaaaall.

Then I dived into the woods on the left and I encountered a lot of horse shit. "Must be a stall nearby." Unfortunately my phone battery died out so I couldn't deliver further documentation for you enjoyment.

So, then I found a bigger trail with many passing bicyclers, going to a way I estimated was about where the railway station would be.

The trail divided into two and between them was a large area covered with dozens of small vegetable gardens right next to each others with some people who've come outside to take care of their plants. Pretty cool you can have a garden even in such a big city. But I imagine it has to cost some to rent (or buy?), though not too much probably.

Eventually the trail led to civilization amongst suburb of block of flats.

I wasn't too sure where the railway station was, but as I walked towards a road which happened to have a stop there, a bus with a heading "railway station square" arrived.

Like what?

Jump into the woods -> Have no idea where you are but don't give a damn and just keep wandering -> Come out of the bushes near a bus stop -> Bus comes -> Step inside -> Get off on railway station

How much smoother can existence get than that? You just walk somewhere, come elsewhere, and right away a bus takes and pics you up like by a hand of God.

(On top of Universe's incredible synchronization, I have to give credit to public transportation if it can save an off-stroller like me.)


By the way, the Pasila railway station in Helsinki will get a whole new look with also big apartment blocks raising right next to it with stores on the bottom floor to which the becoming inhabitants can just take a lift down for shopping. Convenient, but pricy as well I'm sure.

Noisy.



Thinking of what profoundly wise I could say in the end...

Go with the flow and don't worry too much in advance how you're going to find your way out. You will.


TL: 115 Days

Today Left of service


Was this interesting? Do you want to waste more time? In that case I might have just the right cure for you:

Sort:  

It sure is good to get perspective on one's situations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65765.48
ETH 2628.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66