How to Pretend to Be Busy, Without Pretending - My Civil Service #14

in #work6 years ago (edited)

The easiest way to look busy at work, is to not be on the sight of the other people at all. Like in the archive room where nobody can see me. While putting files inside folders, I hit a podcast from my earbuds so that I don't go completely crazy with the void I suddenly have on my hands; my "to-be-archived" folder's empty. I think about scanning the few last drawers' alphabetical order I haven't yet done. But I don't care right now, might as well dilute my day with doing nothing - like adding more water to a cup of coffee to make it look bigger, busier, than it is - because the drawers will not be leaving me for over 4 months. Or rather I won't be leaving them.

Here, in this room I can dilute my coffee, to sip more often, like I was a busy man. To look like a busy man, without actually looking like anything. Maybe I should sip less often, only holding the coffee is enough to make me look busy.

I didn't care that much about coffee. "But you need coffee." I insisted this is not true and I couldn't see the point of forcing it to me.

"Other people like coffee, so you should look like one too to please others and not make them feel like you're despising them for not taking coffee yourself."

There shouldn't be anyone to hold the coffee for, they know there is only so much to brew.

But then you still give in and take a cup just for the sake of avoiding the stupid line of conversation.

"Where's your coffee?"

It's much easier to just hold the cup so that the answer is obvious regardless if the inside is holding nothing but thin coffee's watermark of the grim outside world distorted onto the bottom.

The good thing with this, is that nobody is going to ask "do you have coffee in there?" Well, what do you think I'm holding it for?


I sit on the floor, in my own cup of endless source of dilute. Who knew a room full of thousands of memos of alcoholics could be the most peace I could find at work?

So I laid down on the floor with my most comfortable hoodie that I own, laying my head covered like a glove. And gosh, was that floor on the Monday afternoon the most blissful thing ever. Almost zoning out from the conversation still going on in my ears, I almost thought that someone might come in and see me lying on the floor, but I didn't really care to grab on that thought. If someone came, I would've heard it.

laying on the floor.JPG

I'd rather not pretend, it gets tiring after while. But when you can pretend this comfortably, I don't mind.

Sort:  

This is hilarious dude! I think 90% of the workforce wishes they had the balls to just lay down on the floor of a closet or archive and listen to a podcast at work :) As you say, the pretending to be busy at work can be tiring! I really enjoyed some of your turns of phrase here, particularly "I sit on the floor, in my own cup of endless source of dilute" - that is poetry <3 Much love - Carl

Hey, thank you @carlgnash! It made a big smile on my face knowing how much you enjoyed it :D

Absolutely beautiful @celestal!

I think that we all get sick of pretending to avoid further conflicts, whether it's in relationships, with our partners, or our colleagues. Your life is yours, and you never fail to realize that.

Look busy... by being brilliant instead!~

Cheers,
@shello

Well, well thank you so much @shello!

Look busy... by being brilliant instead!

I am getting there.

AYEEEE!~

Someone's gotta be the hero in your story—and I'm pretty sure it's not Ted from accounting!

020.png

GGEZ. You got this <3

Nice. Stealing back moments of your life as you rent them to a company is a guilty pleasure. Some people take company time in the bathroom, smoking area, coffee line up or out in the open.

You choose to take yours out of the sight of others and not interfere with the culture.

Pictures of the ceiling. Hahaha!

You choose to take yours out of the sight of others and not interfere with the culture.

Yeah, their culture isn't really for me. I prefer eating alone and taking pictures from my precious archive room.

Thanks. I will use this in the future and try to remember the coffee cup :)

For me the coffee cup was more of an abstraction but it sure could have some use in practice. Glad to be help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81