My Civil Service #5 - I FOUND A SERVICE PLACE - The civil service center in the middle of a peaceful countryside, PART 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

"Your education period will be over before you even realize it", our teachers said. And they were were right; three weeks are gone and it feels like we started yesterday. We are already heading to the last week of the education period in the service center before we all go on continuing our duty by working service in our service places.


Previous posts you might want to check out if you're not familiar with why and what I'm doing the civil service for.


Talking about the service place, I have good news: I now have a service place in the Vantaa city's intoxicant services! It is a unit in a public sector providing many helpful services for people struggling with drug abuse. The work is mostly consisting of as a fill-in for the janitor in reception(s).

Incidentally, a mother of a good friend of mine had been working in the same place for years as a doctor until just leaving it recently and the staff interviewing me were close with her and even knew the friend I was talking about.

Having connection to there it already feels like I'm going to a familiar place despite being there only for a small visit, for now.

peace.jpg
A 'peace' sign etched to a rock by some former civil servant(s?) in the service center.


Today I will show even more places in the civil service center in the small village of Ingerman and share some of the history of it for what I know.

enter image description here
"The children's house" was my place of shelter.

On the second floor there are rooms for accommodation and a parlour with a TV in it. I have hang out there almost none because I barely ever watch TV anymore.

I suspect the buildings upper floor being earlier used as a accommodation for children's camps done in the village. The ground floor is a space for our lecturers during the day.

enter image description here
Sikala,
the "piggery"

Sikala used to be a piggery of a farm many decades ago but has been transformed for other needs. Today it features a lecture hall and a canteen.

enter image description here
The canteen

In the canteen there is a snacks vending machine, a coffee machine (with many special coffees costing only 40 cents) and a shell with many different magazines.

enter image description here
There is also a chess table...

enter image description here
...and a pool table.

There is also a jukebox, an air hockey and computers on the left. This free time space of the canteen is also used for educational purposes.

enter image description here
The lecture hall of Sikala

enter image description here
An annual recap of the piggery from a year 1968 on the wall of the lecture hall which tells about the events and housekeeping of the former piggery.

enter image description here Lampola,
the "sheep barn"

Judging by the pattern, this lecture hall, part of the same structure as Sikala, used to be a sheep barn.

enter image description here
In between Sikala and Lampola there is a warehouse that is still being used by the locals.

pakkaamo.jpgPakkaamo,
the "packing department"

Like other buildings, this also has a history according to its name: vegetables, farmed in the past green house next to it, were packed in the building before it also got transformed for educational purposes.


On Thursday I finally checked the band room....

enter image description hereBlasting those drums with a double bass pedals was a joy after not touching drums for months.

...in which some other guys joined my company and we jammed together for a while.

Then later I hit the gym...

enter image description here

...that has a good collection of machines and weights.

enter image description here

I usually don't go to gym for they cost money (most of the time I work out with body weight exercises) but when there's a free gym I'm happy using it.

I did a lot of dead lifting (it has been a long time since I did that last time: probably a year ago in my high school's gym) starting light with 40-60 kg of 10x and 8x sets to get the feel for it again. After multiple sets I decided to try the max I could lift and I still managed to push the weight further from 60 kg to 75 kg (165 lb) and do couple reps with it. I weigh a bit above 60 kg so I managed to lift well above my body weight.


After working out (I did such a hard work out I felt like a walking spaghetti afterwards) it was a perfect time to go to sauna.

enter image description here

enter image description hereAfter sauna I captured this beautiful full moon in the night sky.


The mushrooms are also in the dark.


I am a young man from Finland currently on education period of my civil service.


In the near future I will share more of my experiences on my duty.

Check my introduction post if you want a better impression on me.

See you later!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40