My Civil Service #8 - My service was found precious right in the beginningsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

For the last week I was sent to the Western clinic of Vantaa city's drug services as a substitute for the janitor who had gotten sick, only after one week from the start of my service.


Previous posts you might want to check out if you're not familiar with what the civil service is about:


As I explained in the previous post (My Civil Service #7 - First week in the work service) I was thrown into my job with only one week of introduction to the job description from the standing janitor in the Eastern clinic which is my "home base".

The job is quite simple: receiving clients and answering phone calls, along other miscellaneous tasks, like buying or fixing random small stuff. The phone calls were the exact thing I had had no first hand experience; I had only followed my instructive janitor on it.

When jumping alone to the job in the new Western clinic my co-workers were very supportive: they told me not to take any pressure and ask them for help any time I needed. And indeed, there was nothing to stress about as I quickly picked up the rhythm for the occasional phone calls. The whole week in the work went peacefully with my chores and some writing on the side as sometimes there's simply nothing to do than to just sit and wait, and to look outside the window of passing trains and pedestrians under the drifting clouds and airplanes landing to the airport nearby.

The scenery from my working room, not that bad of a view.

The view was quite pleasing to let my eyes rest looking to the distance. And looking to distance is actually very good thing to do at times for it relaxes strained eyes from the constant looking of close screens. I've noticed my eyes getting "lazy" when looking to distance after prolonged watching of a close target. But after a moment of relaxing my eyes in the scenery my vision gets from blurry to sharp again and my eyes gain the focus to the distance.

Unexpectedly we got the first snow already in October in the Helsinki Metropolitan area so the scenery changed completely after one night. Though the snow is only temporary as the temperature won't yet stay consistently under 0 Celsius.

So, remember to relax and maybe have a look at the sky!


enter image description here

Oh, and I got a big thank you from my principal chief for keeping the building running; hard to function if there's no one connecting the phone calls to the workers ;)

Sort:  

@celestal you seem to always land on your two feet despite the challenges set before you! I am so glad that your unexpected experience was good with supportive people and a wonderful views. I loved your pictures, especially of the snow!

I guess I'm an agile person :D, the snow was indeed beautiful, shame it already melted.

I genuinely love everything I've seen so far of Scandanavia - will probably be visiting for a month or so next year :)

That's cool! In that case I give a warm welcome (well, could be a cold one).

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67