My Civil Service #6 - An end with a new beginningsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

It's time to say good bye to the civil service center. The whole 4-week-long education period is now done and what a month it was: I learned about first-aid, self-conscious skills, relationships, mental health, violence, and about the history of weapon denial in Finland. I also made couple of really good friends one of them being the exact same guy who incidentally sat next me on the bus on the first day when arriving into the civil service center in Lapinjärvi.


Previous posts you might want to check out if you're not familiar with why and what I'm doing the civil service for.


The civil service center in the village of Ingerman, familiar from my earlier posts, is part of the Lapinjärvi so now I decided to take a walk to the Lapinjärvi village center which is only a half an hour walk away from the civil service center.

The small center of the village basicly forms around the main road:


"How do you know you're on countryside? People stop by the store with tractors."

An interesting thing I realized was the fact that over a year ago I had bicycled through this exact same road when I biked to my friends summer cottage. I actually cross the the topic of the same bike trip on my #manifestchallenge post of Day 3 so read it if you're interested in it.

By the main road through Lapinjärvi village there are basic services:

A bank...

...a dentist and grocery store...

...an insurance company on the left and health care facility on the right.

There is also a cafe and workshop store which I suspect providing handcrafts and furniture.


A church tower and the church behind, around whom the village has been originally built.

A cemetery on the yard of the church.


The "famous" restaurant-hotel Goose just outside the Lapinjärvi village in which the civil servants get wasted every Wednesday. I'm not even kidding; on the last Thursday a few people had a really bad hangover and I only heard stories of the evenings events.

On the education period Mondays are free if one has a civil service place already, Tuesday and Thursday evenings are occupied with sauna. On Friday night people are already at home. Wednesdays on the other hand are completely unoccupied and how "coincidentally" the hotel restaurant is open on Friday, Saturday AND Wednesday

Guess where the name of the hotel comes from?

You guessed right, from the swarms of geese invading the Lapinjärvi lake filling the air with their cackling.


On the walk path to the Lapinjärvi village I noticed a few messages left by former civil servants:


On the middle:
By bike to Goose and back. What a civil service!

On the bottom:
You can do this [the civil service]. Soon you don't have to shoot anybody.

Another one just outside the civil service center on a lamp post:


Civil area. Passage forbidden from militarists.


So has the education period ended and it's time for a new beginning: I'm jumping to my work service itself right on the next Monday on the 16th of October. And that shall last until 30th of August 2018 when I'll be a free man!

I'll keep updating on my civil service but more unfrequent posts should be anticipated on the first weeks when my situation stabilizes in the work service job in Vantaa city's drug services.

If by some chance there is a fellow young Finn male who is pondering on military and civil service I can definitely recommend the civil service based on the education period!

In the end I want to give a big thank you for the people and the education and everything else that made my stay in the civil service center so enjoyable!

enter image description here


See you later!

Sort:  

I really love your photos. You have a talented eye. Wow, just... gorgeous!

Thank you so much @arbitrarykitten! I never knew my photos, most of which are one shots taken by my iPhone 4S, would please someone's eye so much but I'm glad they do! Though I always try to take pictures that satisfy my eye.

You have a great eye! Those are good, seriously.

I take your compliment with pleasure :)


This post was resteemed by @funaddaa!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 1.00 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 3500 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

The @funaddaa users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in funaddaa's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Looks like a good place to live in. I wish to visit some of such places.

If you don't mind the low population and like quietness it's a place you'd enjoy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.03 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67