My Civil Service #7 - First week in the work servicesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

The first week on my work service is now down so today I'll explain a little of what is it I'm doing in it.


Previous posts you might want to check out if you're not familiar with what is the civil service about:


My service place in Vantaa city's drug services where my main job is to be a assistant janitor in the clinic where people with drug problems can get help for their addiction. The first week consisted of observing the main janitor who I work with in the Eastern unit of the city and practicing the simple tasks that he does; receiving and guiding clients, booking some clients into a database and breathalysing compensation treatment patients who come seeking their meds.

It might sound scary dealing with drug addicts but they are all voluntarily in the treatment and there has been rarely any kind of troubling in the facility. Even if there was some, the workers are safe behind a locked door that can be controlled from the janitor room. So throw all the prejudices out the window, it's useful especially with my job; imagine stepping in to a lobby and the first guy seeing you despises you when you're actually getting help for your problems. Not very nice, is it?

Even though I'm a civil servant there, I'm as much of a employee as anyone else and treated equally, except for the fact I get paid 5,10€ of day money + 13,50€ of food money (ahem... "thank you" government for making me a slave for not wanting to be trained to be a piece of a war machinery).


"Ok, let's not dig any deeper into politics before escalating, at least for now..."


Though it's still about 560€ per month most of which I'll get to save (and invest to crypto, of course) because I still live at home so I don't have much expenses other than just some lunch for work which I'll economically cover with bread, peanuts (a great work lunch; they're good for you and the cost to calories ratio is great, like 600-700 calories per 100 grams), beans and other canned goodies.

But for the next week I'm already being commanded to the Western unit of the city because the janitor in it got ill and sick leave for the next week, so it remains to be seen how I'll handle the janitoring alone with a working experience of a one week😅

But no worries; In case of uncertainty I'll just bother my co-workers to whom I'm trying to navigate in the new clinic.

And if someone questions of what I'm doing I'll just be like:


"I don't know, I just work here."


I don't have pictures from my work place because it's in a office complex so there's not even a lot to photo but here's a cool graffiti just nearby:

graffiti@celestal.jpg


Hereby I wish you all good rest weekend amidst the falling leaves!🍁🍂


Picture and gifs: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40