My Civil Service #3 - The civil service center in the middle of a peaceful countrysidesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This week was interesting education wise and that for I'm going to dedicate another post to it. I only reveal so much from it to tell that we had a very special quest lecturing to us. But not special in a way you'd think at first... So, stay tuned to find out more about it.


Previous posts you might want to check out if you're not familiar in why and what I'm doing in civil service.


Whew... the second week of education period is already behind me and since everything is now stable, I thought now would be a better time to show some places around in the civil service center. I'm feeling tired on this Friday night after arriving back to home but I'm starting to write this so I can accordingly get everything I want out on this weekend.

Source
An overview of the village of Ingerman in which the civil service center has its education, located in the small municipality of Lapinjärvi, population about 2700 people.


In the village of Ingerman there lives some regular people also and right next to the football field of the civil service center is a crop field.


Source
Picture of the "A-building" in where we registered right after arriving to the center. After signing our names there was legally no turning back to military. It also includes accommodation and in its bottom floor is the computer class which might be the single place I've spent most of my time in, mostly with writing and Steemit.


On entering the civil service we got divided into rooms randomly. I got into a room in a separate building with three beds, and later me and my two roommates' stuff.

Meanwhile the room next to ours featured closets and private toilet with a shower. Our closets were in a seperate room though I don't mind it since I only store my towel in it.

I only complain a bit about the beds being quite narrow. Also the other of my room mates is a very noisy snorer though luckily I brought my earplugs with me so it's tolerable.

Oh, and my roommates are cool guys although I don't hang out with them outside of our room.

The "B-house" featuring health care and some more accommodation.

The B-building has an interesting history: it used to be a sanitarium for recovering alcoholics. One story from those times was about a worker in there who used to secretly sell liquor to the alcoholics. Obviously, s/he lost the job after getting caught doing business with them.

"The mansion" in which the management of the civil service center is done.


This cat was a regular quest in front of the dining hall and s/he clearly
enjoyed the attention purring when people greeted it with a scratch.


On Thursday after day's education I went for about a 13 kilometer run around the Lapinjärvi lake, from which the municipality also got its name.

The name literally translates as "lake of Lapland" which is a bit strange as Lapinjärvi (Lappträsk in Swedish) is located no where near Lapland but in Southern Finland. The name's prefix, lap, stems from Lapplanders who were originally people in Middle-Age living outside of farming areas in Northern Finland as nomads.

On the other side of the lake the air was full of geese and their cackling which invades all the way in to the civil service center.

No better way to end the round than dipping in to the 12 degrees Lapinjärvi lake and going straight to a hot sauna recovering; I'm still feeling it in my legs and calves for I have never gone for such a long run before.
The opposite shore can be seen partially from the dock in the morning fog

I realized only after that the horizon looks curved since my hand wasn't quite steady enough when taking the panorama so don't use this as an evidence against flat earthers.


Update on the service place

I have an upcoming interview on next week's Wednesday for a place in the Vantaa city's drug facilities. I'm hopeful because I'd really want the place though I still should be applying to other places as well until I have one secured. Though I haven't yet because I'm inefficient.


The Saturday was spent with friends playing a fantasy board game "Talisman". This time the game was anti-climatic since after hours of playing no one was even near winning it and the game was quit unfinished. Playing with too many expansion probably contributed to it.


Here's a mushroom picture.


I am a young man from Finland currently on education period of my civil service.


In the near future I will share more of my experiences on my duty.

Check my introduction post if you want a better impression on me.

See you later!

Sort:  

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Hi @celestal! Hope you are doing well. Your post was interesting and it was very nice seeing all your pictures. It looks like a really nice place to stay. Have a great week ahead! :D

Hello again @cabbagepatch! It is quite cozy place and there's also a gym and a band room which I'm going to check out next week. I wish you a good week too!

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42