Reports from the Witnesses 2016-11-20

in #witness-category7 years ago

When I first joined Steemit, @clains was posting a weekly "Witnesses Exposed" report - which summarized what all the witnesses were up to. This was by far my favorite Steemit series to read as a new user. I was fascinated about what all the witnesses were up to, and it was great to be able to find all the information in one place!

Since @clains has no longer been posting these (since August), I thought it would be good to try and revive the idea. I will begin posting a weekly "Reports from the Witnesses" series. Each week, I will assemble all the witness reports that have been posted since the previous week. I will do my best to post it every Sunday.

Witnesses can continue posting their posts to the witness-category and/or witness-update tags, and I will assemble everything I find there. If I miss any reports, just let me know and I will correct it ASAP. Also, if any witnesses would prefer to just direct message me a report via Steemit.chat, I can include those as well. (This is how it looks like a lot of them were done back when the Witnessses Exposed series was done.)

Since this is the first report, I did include reports that went back further than 1 week - to try and get updates from each of the witnesses.

So without further ado, I bring you the first 'Reports from the Witnesses'!


Reports from the Witnesses 2016-11-20

  1. @charlieshrem - Witness Position 2: Last Witness Post
  2. @anyx - Witness Position 3: Last Witness Post
  3. @jesta - Witness Position 6: Last Witness Post
  4. @clayop - Witness Position 7: Last Witness Post
  5. @roelandp - Witness Position 9: Last Witness Post
  6. @abit - Witness Position 10: Last Witness Post
  7. @smooth.witness - Witness Position 11: Last Witness Post
  8. @gtg - Witness Position 14: Last Witness Post
  9. @wackou - Witness Position 20: Last Witness Post
  10. @joseph - Witness Position 24: Last Witness Post
  11. @klye - Witness Position 26: Last Witness Post
  12. @good-karma - Witness Position 28: Last Witness Post
  13. @someguy123 - Witness Position 30: Last Witness Post
  14. @thecryptodrive - Witness Position 31: Last Witness Post
  15. @delegate.lafona - Witness Position 37: Last Witness Post
  16. @busy.witness - Witness Position 42: Last Witness Post
  17. @bitcoiner - Witness Position 43: Last Witness Post
  18. @steem-id - Witness Position 48: Last Witness Post
  19. @dragosroua - Witness Position 52: Last Witness Post
  20. @bacchist - Witness Position 54: Last Witness Post
  21. @theprophet0 - Witness Position 61: Last Witness Post
  22. @timcliff - Witness Position 65: Last Witness Post

Some Notes:

  • Many witnesses do not report every week, and prefer to only report when they have updates.
  • I recommend that you include communication as one of your criteria for evaluating witnesses, but keep in mind - it is not the only criteria. There are some witnesses that prefer to work "behind the scenes", and do not do much as far as reports.
  • For witnesses that are not currently posting any reports, I would encourage you to provide the community with at least some insight into what you are currently working on :)

Remember to vote for witnesses here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Absolutely amazing, thank you very much. I will try to support all of these post....I don't currently use bots so I miss things occasionally. CLains did a brilliant job but he's obviously busy right now...you've taken up the torch and the challenge. I hope Steemers realise how valuable this information will be and offer you plenty of support!! Good luck!

Since you seemed interested in the last one, I wanted to let you know that I posted this week's edition :)
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@timcliff/reports-from-the-witnesses-2016-11-28

Do you know if there is an issue with the witness voting page? I'm using all 30 of my votes and yet the votes are not indicated and the page says i have 30 left. Yet when I try to vote it says i've already voted and I should indicate i want to change my vote....however there is no means to do so.

Yes, I opened a GitHub issue for it a month or so ago. Just refresh the page and it should load them the second time.

https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/issues/437

Smashing....that's done it...thank you :)

I have voted for you as a witness. I hope your efforts continue to be recognised and you are able to gather more support! Best of luck :)

Awesome, thank you so much! You bumped me up to position #64 :) I've been gunning for @nexus-dev's position for weeks now, hehe

Thanks @benjojo - I appreciate it!

Thanks for the update. Better if the dates of last updates are shown in the list.

Great tip, thanks. I'll include that in next weeks report.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.85 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Tim, you crazy cat! With everything you're already doing you've just added one more thing to your plate! LOL Well, good on you. I love the report.
Just brainstorming, but what if the witnesses created a shared username to post their reports...and then the community can follow that "user" for all the consolidated witness news. Maybe set decline payout as the default for that account... Or use payouts for Steemit projects that need funding. Then it's really up to the witnesses to actually use the posting key.

Thanks! :)

It's a good idea, but as I mentioned to another commenter earlier - getting all the witnesses to do something like that is a little bit like herding cats :)

I did bring the idea up in the witness chat group. We'll see if it catches on :)

LOL.
Good luck. MEOW.

I'm pleased to see someone picked this back up and ran with it. it's hard to keep up with what they are all up to.

I agree. Most users aren't going to go digging for all the posts, but I think they are still interested in reading them. This will make it a lot easier for the community to follow what the witnesses are all up to.

That's very useful and there must be a way to automate this somehow. Maybe using Streemian?

Possibly. I found that I had to do a fair amount of digging and filtering to put the list together. If every witness used a common tag that was not used for anything else, that would make it easy - but getting that to happen would probably be more difficult than herding cats :)

I am also thinking of adding a summary of each report in future editions, so it would be less work for readers to consume the content.

Good suggestion though. If anyone wants to try it, I'm not opposed.

There are only about 3 on that list that I have interacted with since I started steemit over 3 months ago. Very few of them interact with the community.

There are definitely some "ghost" witnesses, but a lot of them really do do a lot for the community. If you haven't already, I suggest that you at least read some of the reports and see what they are up to :) The ones here are at least taking the time to write reports to the community, which I think is a really good thing!

For the community or for themselves? Yes there are that do a lot for the community but let's, say we make the witness payout to $0, how many of them do you think will still being doing a lot for the community?

To expect people to do things for free is a little unreasonable. The idea behind Steem is to pay people for their contributions for the community. I think most people that are here are to some extent participating because they hope to profit from the success of the project in the long-term.

Then I wouldn't say they are doing it for the community, they happen to do things for themselves that is benefiting the community.

Even this report, I wrote it 'for the community'. I also did it because I figured there was a decent chance I could earn SP from it. It is a little bit from column A, a little bit from column B. True altruism these days is rare. I'd say a mutually beneficial goal where both the community and individual benefits is a win :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99