Witness Update DragosRoua

After I announced my intention to become a witness I received a lot of positive feedback and, most important, a lot of support. I was voted by very high profile people in the community and I'm very grateful for that. But truth to be told, this only adds to the pressure and responsibility. Also, I want to thank to @someguy123 for his very well made dockerized versions of steem nodes, I omitted to do this in the initial post and it doesn't feel right. Thanks, mate!

Here's what I did during last week:

Steem Witness Node

  • monitored my seed and witness nodes, uptime 100%
  • secured a second server and decided to move my seed node to a colocation facility in Bucharest (planning to finish this, including the setup of the scripts, this week)
  • installed a raspberry pi at home with the intent of using it as a remote control for the management scripts

Content

I wrote a piece related to the gloomy tone I saw on the community lately and it seemed a lot of people resonated with it. Once again, I don't have anything against anyone, I honestly think all people are ok, but their actions sometimes are not. So I will keep contributing to the platform while distancing myself from negativity and FUD.

Here's the piece, in case you didn't see it:

Ok, I Have A Problem With People Having A Problem With Steemit

Apps

I continued devleopment at @zentasktic, putting together a roadmap. You can read it here, along with the most recent screenshots.

It's in that article too, but in case you won't go there I'll let you know here that you can test the app at http://app.zentasktic.com. Please be aware that this is alpha software, all info (including user accounts) may disappear.

This week was all about the UI, since the backend is relatively stable. I think I found a good combination and the app starts to look a bit more consistent. Next week will be all about integration of missing features and implementing security rules in Firebase.


If you think Im qualified, I invite you to vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Since I'm not yet in the first 50, you can just add my username dragosroua in the form at the bottom of that page and press vote.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua

Sort:  

Get that lion!

We seem to have a lot in common. Good for you running a witness campaign NOW after the payout shrunk. I think its a great way to get involved a little more intimately with Steemit. Best of luck!

Thanks! As for the witness thing, it's more the governance part that attracted me, not the payout (although it counts, especially once you start building projects for the community).

Maybe now, after the payout shrunk, there will be more witnesses involved directly into the community. It's an interesting governance exercise, nevertheless.

I was tempted to do the same.. similar IT background as you.. You seem to be doing all the right things to get to the point where you manage a top 50 node. Im an entrepreneur too - I was also attracted to the political aspect of running one to promote my projects - but I would rather buy SP now :)
I voted for you and follow you - best of luck.

Thanks and good luck with buying, the price seems to be going in the right direction for buyers. :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.25 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09