KLYE Witness Update - 2016/11/18

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)


Hail and good morrow fellow STEEM users, witnesses and developers, hope all is well.
(Every friday I'll make a witness post highlighting my current STEEM witness activity)

I woke up at around 6:30AM this morning to this...


(Oh dear.. This is why I should never fall asleep - Screencap from steemit.chat)


(Restarting BOTH servers. / Thanks for the PM @liondani- Screencap from steemit.chat)

Both my Main and Backup Witness Servers REKT

Great way to start a friday morning..! Alright, I'm awake! Looks like sometime overnight as I slept not only my Main but also my Backup witness servers managed to have a bit of a crash party. You can imagine my surprise when I woke up to the scene above... Wake up, See main is crashed and failover script didn't work, go check backup, it's crashed, game over man. Thankfully I'm only a backup currently and this just serves as a reminder to me to further check into my current witness server infrastructure and debug the problem. A script was in place to handle the failure of my main and pass the block load over to my backup.. But of course that only works if your backup isn't crashed as well! I'll be working on strengthening my server monitoring today. I apologize for any lag in the network caused by my server being down for the few hours it was and will in the future hopefully have proper working backup server in place when I need it (like this morning).

Now that that's out of the way.. let's have a look at the STEEM projects I'm working on!

streemit.online


(A screenshot of streemit.online)

Haven't made as much progress as I would have liked to on streemit this week as I was sidetracked trying to get the other project for STEEM I recently started up to the point I was confident enough to show you guys a preview on it. As far as work left to be done on streemit goes I'm still looking to properly implement both SBD and STEEM tipping and wallet functions on the site as well. A completely new (and far more cross platform friendly) video streeming client is being built as well, although an ETA on it's arrival has yet to be established. When it's complete it will make mobile support far less janky then it is now.

One thing to mention as well is that the video uploading and browsing as well as picture uploading on the site does work but the GUI still needs a fair amount of tweaking before I push that functionalities availability. You are more than welcome to upload pictures on streemit and post them in your posts here. It is in part what the site was designed to do. As we learned from youtube cutting off our STEEMfest feed due to b*llshit DCMA requests in regards to the music played in the background.. The need for the STEEM networks own streeming site is there and in the near future streemit.online aims to be that site.

The site IS basically operational at the moment. Although not nearly polished nor cross platform friendly as it needs to be so I'll continue working on updates for the site until it gets to that point. Currently it's the most expensive project I've personally run ever run for STEEM and hopefully once completed it's able to sustain itself through usage. A look into the monetization model of the site has users opting in to VIP subscriptions for $1 SBD a month which will have premium features, hopefully once fully launched this is enough to cover operating costs. streemit.online is a non-profit project.

Steem-Roller.com


(Early alpha screenshot from steem-roller.com (Under Construction))

Pretty excited to finally release the name of this project. Steem-Roller is the first off chain over / under 1% dice game announced exclusively for STEEM and Steem Backed Dollars ($BD/SBD). Not only is this announcement exciting because the STEEM network will finally have a provably fair game of chance featuring the currencies of STEEM but also due in part to the planned investment feature which will allow users to invest their STEEM / $BD into the site's bankroll.

TONs of work still needs to be done to this site before it's ready for both players and investors to sign up and try their hand at the dice or joining the house bankroll, but a rough estimate on puts the project on course to finish and launch before end of Q1 2017.

The goal with steem-roller.com is to have a fast, secure gaming site for our community to enjoy. While not longer a gambler myself I know many in the community do enjoy games of chance and investment opportunities like the ones being implemented on steem-roller. A target of > 5 bets a second regardless of wager size and user load on the system is hoped to be achieved

steem.global


(Screenshot from steem.global)

steem.global originally was going to serve as a news site for STEEM. Unfortunately I simply don't have enough hours in my day to keep ontop of all the latest breaking news on the between coding the two other projects above and trying to accomplish the other tasks I have in a day to keep the site properly updated so I'm proposing to change the functionality of steem.global from news site to STEEM Faucet and Web-Shop. In the next weeks when I find time I'll slowly be converting this project over to a faucet to help spread STEEM to those looking to test the wallet or simply just grab a bit to power up. When I get it converted over I'll be sure to let you all know.


Your Current Witness Votes do Anything for STEEM?
Support Future Top 19 Witnesses!

Vote @klye for Witness!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You can vote for me easily by clicking the link above and upvoting klye.


A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada
(News on @steemcanada Campaign Soon!)

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!

( hopefully no one takes offence to me using the busy tag! I've been busy too! :) )

Sort:  

Some people simply can live through an entire Odyssey without leaving the room. You seem to be one of them.

One of these days I'll write down some of the (mis)adventures I managed to fall into the odd times I have left the room.. It's been an interesting if not tiring life I'll tell you that!

Between Scylla and Charybdis - I am looking forward to it.

Best of luck getting your servers going well again.

They are going again fine now.

Just a matter of getting better monitoring in place basically.

Great update klye, good to see that you are keeping yourself busy. But remember that every hero needs some sleep :p

@Klye for witness!

You are one very busy steem apps developer :) Congrats!

Did both servers check out simultaneously? Maybe there is a common cause...

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $29.05 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Cool update!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33