Weekly Steemit Anthology | March 5 - 11

weekly-header-mar-5-11.jpg

Not every week on this journey is a rousing celebration.

I worry that my online persona may come off as overly-optimistic, self-promoting, and like my life is nothing short of perfect. It's been a humbling week and a stark reminder to remain real, honest, and grounded.

Each week, I share my week in posts in case you missed something you enjoy.

I sincerely appreciate all of the support each visitor to my blog has shown these anthologies. Posts can get lost in the fray, buried by higher-quality reads, or simply missed in the mind-numbing scroll of the feed.

Sharing what you may have missed...



botanical

Botanical Oracle Reading for a State of Mental Chaos

I started the week already knowing it'd be a doozy. This ethereal reading graced me, set my mind straight, and inspired me to share.

For anyone experiencing mental chaos or discomfort today, I invite you to join me in following this reading's intentions.

I pull three cards.

  1. How to be with myself.
  2. How to be with others.
  3. How to be in the moment.

Read the full post and enjoy the timeless effect of an inspired intention.



ode

An Ode to the Women in My Life

Contrary to previous years where I spent this week's special awareness days with audacious fundraisers and nonprofit campaigns, I enjoyed International Women's Day, March 8 with a personal tribute to the women in my life.

Featuring:

  • My mother.
  • My best friend.
  • My confidant.
  • My mentor.
  • My sister from another mister.
  • My soul sister.

Read the full tribute and consider calling the women in your life to appreciate them, no matter what day it is.



los

Ladies of Steemit, Volume 7 | Artist Selection

Ladies of Steemit celebrated the a selection of the female voices in Steemit's diverse art community!

Featuring the very talented:

Read the full post and check out each portfolio from these talented artists.



shrcontest

Slow Rolling Home Logo Contest Winner!

I proudly announced the winner of the logo contest for my school bus tiny house conversion called slow rolling home and I couldn't be more stoked about the new graphic!

@themonkeyzuelans did an incredible job interpretting the style, personality, and intention of our journey into a versatile digital brand.

Check out their detailed and well-crafted progress post illustrating how they created the final logo.

Read the full announcement post to see the suite of mockups provided with the logo to showcase the diverse applications of the graphic.



bookreview

Book Review: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

By recommendation of @didic, I read All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders, the first book I'd ever read written by a transgender author. Though my review was published too late to be considered for his WOC and Trans Author Book Review Contest, I published the article anyway because I felt entirely compelled to share my experience.

To make up for my lost entry, I'm participating in @didc's latest literary contest: Desi and SEA Book Review Contest this week.

Read the full book review and do a quick audit of your bookshelf:

  • How many women of color are represented?

  • How many transgender or genderqueer authors are represented?

  • How many LGBT voices are represented?

  • How many of your books focus on female main characters, main characters of color, LGBT main characters, or subject matter pertaining to the the experience of those persons?



10facts

10 Facts and 1 Lie REVEALED! Was your guess the lie?

In case you missed this hilarious opportunity to learn a bit more about me, I go into great detail in this post to help you discover which statement was the lie?

Read the full post and have a laugh at my expense.



jesmilitary

Thoughts on the Concept of National Military | Five Minute Freewrite: Day 141

In this five minute freewrite, I took the opportunity to write stream-of-consciousness on the prompt: the military. Pictured about is my best friend of many, many years, who four years ago signed her contract with the US Army, and ultimately becoming a military police officer.

It's rare that I share my perspective on such sensitive topics as global policy, the US government, the military, and matters of national security, but I'm happy to have hopped outside my comfort zone in this short piece.

Read the full piece and consider sharing your inspired thoughts in the comments following.



This week, I went back to my photography roots.

My first interactions on Steemit were almost exclusively in the photography community. Participating in photo contests and sharing my work freely helped me forge relationships on the platform and ultimately jumpstart my Steemit blog.

I am endeavoring to share my work daily, as part of the daily @photocontests by @juliank, a #sevendaybnwchallenge for which I was nominated by @saffisara, and the @colorchallenge daily prompts.

Here are the photos I shared this week.

jen

The Grace of the New Mother | Portrait Photography

I invite you to view the full post as it shares further highlights from this intimate shoot.



roser

View from My Morning Stroll | Smart Phone Photography

View the original post.



mistymeadow

Misty Meadow at Dawn | Golden Hour Photography

I invite you to view the original post to see more photos from this ethereal and spontaneous roadside find.



botanicalgarden

St Louis Botanical Gardens | Color Challenge, Green Thursday

View the original post.



blueboiler

Blue Boiler Room | Color Challenge: Saturday Indigo

View the original post.



purple

My Favorite Lifestyle Magainze: Taproot | Color Challenge: Sunday Purple

View the original post.



bnw1

Seven-Day Black & White Photo Photo Challenge | Day 1

View the original post.



elliot

Seven-Day Black & White Photo Photo Challenge | Day 2

View the original post.



jade

Seven-Day Black & White Photo Photo Challenge | Day 3

View the original post.



curation-header-mar5-11.jpg

My second week as a Curie curator may put me dangerously close to expulsion.

Last week, I didn't make time to curate until mid-to-end of the week. This meant that my submission slots did not open again until seven days past my first submission.

I found a post early on in the week that I deemed curie'able, and badass curator @geekgirl submitted on my behalf, earning a solid acceptance and a worthy payout for the author.

vegan.ninja

Why vegans live a healthier life, or why not🌈RAINBOW BREAKFAST - How to create the next level food🌈

View the original post and enjoy every drool-worthy rainbow breakfast photo!



My only formal acceptance this week is the stunning mini-collection of photos by @faris.hindi, featuring this amazing aerial shot of humpback whales:

whales

View the original post and enjoy a bold statement of photographic talent.



While my final submission waits in queue:

Homemade Tofu by @deldreth, which can be viewed here

I am reflecting on another Curie lesson learned this week. I submitted @themonkeyzuelans process post for the Slow Rolling Home logo contest on the grounds that it was a beautifully formatted post, a confident showcase of dual-language formatting, and the pair had not been curie'd before.

The result: Rejection, which I now see is fitting on the grounds that almost all of their past posts are in a language other than English.

As a new curator and the space cadet that I am, I can read and reread the guidelines but not fully absorb each consideration when it comes time to judge a submission. This qualification is rational and I'll have it top of mind moving forward.

What I want folks whose native/first posting language is not English to take away:

Keep posting stellar content and keep working on your translations. It's a bummer that the community (and the world) is so heavily attached to the English language, but it's undoubtedly a worthy language of which to have a competent grasp.

  • Experiment with dual-language posting.
  • Go beyond the translator and consider having a friend more versed in the language check your work.
  • Experiment with English often to put your stellar content in the running for Curie curation.


Thank you for another beautiful, friendly, challenging, and rewarding week on Steemit.

If we're not yet acquainted (and even if we are), please say hello in the comments!




Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Each week, I post on a smattering of topics, but mainly about women, herbalism + tea, fun facts and challenges, and my Curie curation journals. Every other week, I share my experience through the Steemit Beginner's Series. I'm also known to throw down a mean five-minute freewrite once in a while. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and get to know me a little bit more!

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

There are a couple quality curators that I've come across, but you outshine them all!

I think you are biased because we have become friends. 😉 I'm still not a top-notch curator when it comes to having the eye for quality and consistency but I'm going to keep working hard!

Ok I’ll give you that I could possibly be biased, BUT you don’t give yourself enough credit. There’s always room for growth, but you consistently grow and I, for one, take notice ;)

These are simply BEAUTIFUL, well thought-out amazing posts that celebrate such a broad array of steemit’s creative community. I love what you do, keep on being you because SHE IS WONDERFUL.

💓💓💓 Thank you, my friend. These posts are a labor of love because they take some time to craft but I always feel so complete with my week once they're published. It's like closing a chapter and beginning anew.

Thank you very much dear @ameliabartlett <3

Wow Amelia! You are doing such an amazing thing. I have yet to go through all the articles you have mentioned but they sure seem like amazing ones. I am giving you my full upvote which isn't a very big one, but not too bad either. Resteeming this and will also feature this post in my curation post this week.

Many thanks, @sharoonyasir! I'll keep an eye out for your curation post so I can head over and support. 💓

That's really mind blowing. Really love the way you write and capture things. You're definitely someone to be followed. A big thumbs up for your curation.

Thank you, @bethrao! Looking forward to see what you create, as it looks like you're pretty new. If you need any help getting started, check out @thealliance and some of my past Steemit Beginner's Series posts:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90