10 Facts and 1 Lie REVEALED! Was your guess the lie?

10-facts-busted.jpg

Created by @traciyork, nominated by @princessmewmew, and personalized by yours truly.

It's been a fun week, watching friends old and new attempt to guess the lie on this list. An added and unexpected benefit was the trip down memory lane pulling photos from my archives to illustrate the truths!

Here's the list of guesses in the order they were received:

Did you spot the lie? Here we go!

1. I went to the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janiero.

13920580_10206975438200241_6972702763160665479_n.jpg

13887119_10206975438840257_8331596590822520564_n.jpg

Athlete: Travis Stevens, USA Judo team.

In 2016, I spent sixteen days in Brazil, watching judo, swimming, beach volleyball, cycling, and many more! I ended up watching the Judo finals from the USA box, seeing Travis Stevens make it through finals to win silver.

To see my Brazil on Film Part 1 photo project, check out my first Steemit post ever.


2. I kept an urban farm in the city (at my house) with a dozen chickens and a half dozen quail.

251215_3792587969047_2106468584_n.jpg
A segment of my army of egg layers, bug slayers, and yard destroyers.

1909386_10201629983447213_1050040062_o.jpg

So. Many. Eggs. 😍


3. I am of Chippewa Native American heritage.

Though I don't have any photos of this one, just trust me. My Grandfather's mother was a Chippewa tribeswoman who married a Caucasian man and the rest is (genetic) history!


4. I've been in more than one movie.

302307_634939245040_1280441259_n.jpg
From the red carpet premier of Lady Bug for the International 48HR Film Festival.

At 12, I took my first acting class and landed a starring role in a very deep play, The Yellow Boat. After that, I did a string of plays and musicals, eventually moving into screen acting by way of being a "production assistant" which basically means you help everyone on set and put up with being objectified 24/7. Eventually, standing in to run lines enough times proved my worth and a few people took a chance on me in their films. Even though I no longer work in the industry, I still hope to revisit that part of my artistic expression.

I do happen to have an IMDB page.


5. I used to be a professional roller coaster rider.

coaster

Bert Travel Ch. 2010.jpg

Each time a TV Show, for example Bert the Conqueror on the Travel Channel (who I've worked with a few times) the crew needs folks to ride a roller coast 10+ times for filming and not get sick or bow-out halfway through. I'm one of those people.


6. I'm allergic to dairy products.

2017-05-27 17.30.14-1.jpg

That means I've spent many, many years developing dairy-alternative recipes. Including this lovely cashew milk that I typically make each week.


7. I work as a barista for a living.

29C614BE-C7A7-4A48-AADD-99FA7ED4D637.JPG

Sadly, this one is the LIE!

I'm an avid home barista and coffee connoisseur but am apparently not hired-barista material in the great city of Knoxville! No matter how many places I've applied, still no barista opportunity. Maybe someday I'll open my own shop instead... I'll show them!


8. I am a tarot card reader.

IMG_1263.jpg

Though this photo is from an oracle card reading I shared on Steemit yesterday, I have read the Rider Waite deck for many years.


9. I studied contortion for two years.

318867_3563924812611_1943124517_n.jpg

540385_3618576778876_1592299712_n.jpg

Just a couple progress shots from my training days. I focused primarily acrobatic contortion, tumbling, and aerial silks. Though I did experiment with trapeze and hoop on a good day.


10. I'm a contributor to my local newspaper.

Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 10.51.52 AM.png

This is my most recent piece, published in the March edition that goes to print this week!


11. I have a cat named after a car.

petcollage.jpg

See the bottom left photo of the black & white demon whose name is Mini Cooper. 💜 I found her in a Craigslist ad, living in a trailer park outside my hometown. When I went to pick her up, she could've have been older than four weeks, abandoned by her mother, and eating canned tuna (from the can) on a pool deck.

She adopted me the moment I chose her, with her huge head and her huge thumbs, and followed me around incessantly, acting like a "mini-me." I wanted her name to be something fitting but also something unique. And so, Mini Cooper got her name. Normally, she goes by "COOP!" or "STOP THAT!" 😂


And the winner is...



raven
Photo from GIPHY.

dun dun dun...



didi

Congratulations, @didic!



You are the winner of the 0.5 SBD prize pool and the sheer GLORY of correctly guessing which of these is a LIE.

Want to create a 10 Facts / 1 Lie challenge for yourself?

@traciyork's rules for the challenge:

  • Post 10 facts and 1 lie about yourself
  • Have people guess which is the lie. One guess per person
  • Offer some sort of prize
  • Reveal the answer only after payout
  • Use the tag #tenfactsonelie
  • Tag your friends to do their own!

Thank you for all of your guesses!

I'll just get back to polishing my resume up for that dream barista job...






Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Each week, I post on a smattering of topics, but mainly about women, herbalism + tea, fun facts and challenges, and my Curie curation journals. Every other week, I share my experience through the Steemit Beginner's Series. I'm also known to throw down a mean five-minute freewrite once in a while. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and get to know me a little bit more!

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

damn, how did I miss your original entry (very sad face!!)

anyway - when i was reading the answers I totally realised that you were not a barista!

This is an awesome challenge, and a nice way to get to kno you

Thank you!

Ha ha! Yes, sadly, not a barista but I know I will be someday. Even if it's just in my own little way at home or in my own shop. Thank you for nominating me!

How awesome. What a lot of experiences you've had already in this life :) I loved reading about it and thinking about doing this challenge myself.

My daughter studied aerial silks and contortion for a while as well. It is a LOT of hard work! We've also done several movies as extras/on set people and you're right in that it's a lot of being objectified or even just being taken advantage of because you should be 'grateful' to even be near the process!

Great post

Thank you, @byn! the movies are a beautiful thing... but the sets can be a real nightmare. Despite the sometimes undesirable company, I loved every minute of it. Sometimes about making movies, short films, even commercials, brings me such a creative rush.

That is such a great post! Love this haha;)

Victory is miiiiiiine!

You are one amazimg lady! WOW!!!!

haha awesome! what a varied life!!! <3 nice one

I almost won too. hahaha.. just got a little bit late. lol. Congrats @didic. Nice game @ameliabarlett. Thank you

You did have a good guess! You should create one for yourself, it's been a blast. 😂

Congratulations, @didic and well done, @ameliabartlett! Love reading about all these awesome little tidbits about your wicked interesting life! In fact, you probably have enough for a second go-round....LOL! And thanks so much for the shout out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82