Blue Boiler Room | Color Challenge: Saturday Indigo

BlueBoilerRoom.jpg

Taken inside the boiler room at Patriot's Point Maritime Museum in Charleston, South Carolina. Fisheye effect achieved with a super-cheap Vivitar 52mm 0.43x Wide Angle Attachment Lens on a Nikon D5100.

All post-processing done in Adobe Lightroom.

Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png

Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Each week, I post on a smattering of topics, but mainly about women, herbalism + tea, fun facts and challenges, and my Curie curation journals. Every other week, I share my experience through the Steemit Beginner's Series. I'm also known to throw down a mean five-minute freewrite once in a while. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and get to know me a little bit more!

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

Awesome, Amelia!

I love this Fisheye lens, and the cool blue tones.

Thank you! It was such a cramped room, no more than two or three people could walk through, and only single file. The fisheye perspective makes it seem so strange and warped! I actually photographed a lot more of the interior of this maritime museum (which is an old, decommissioned Navy ship) so I will continue to share. Most of them are creepy. 🤓

Those old, cramped rooms are perfect for the Fisheye!
Lots of pipes, leading here and there, make for awesome treatment.

The combined effects of the fisheye and the coloring are a bit trippy. Feels like the middle of a psychological thriller. Awesome job.

Thank you! You're my authority for this question - would this make an interesting poetry or story prompt?

I believe so. there are so many ways to spin this picture into a story. A flash fiction challenge would probably be best for it, in my opinion.

Super cool shot!

Boiler rooms make lots of steem, amirite? :^)

😂 Right you are.

From a colour-veil perspective (art therapy) this is an excellent example of ("pale") indigo! It is actually a dark colour with little luminosity, so here it is the darkness around the highlights. When the indigo is too intense it gets hot, otherwise, when it is too pale it lacks warmth. It can then easily have an eerie feel to it, like some volcanic landscapes in the moonlight. Good to see a hyper modern example of such a scape.

Wow. I had no knowledge of color in the way you just described it. But now, I'm very curious to learn more. Thank you for sharing this information with me!

Hi @amelia looks great! just wondering how you find out which day is which color for the color challenge?

Hey @celestialcow, I looked back into the post archives for the original list, which I'll past here for you:

  • MondayRed
  • TuesdayOrange
  • WednesdayYellow
  • ThursdayGreen
  • FridaySkyBlue
  • SaturdayIndigo
  • SundayPurple

Use the tag #colorchallenge and the day/color as a tag in your post to join the community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76