Slow Rolling Home Logo Contest Winner!

in #slowrollinghome6 years ago (edited)

SLOW ROLLING HOME - WOODEN MOCKUP-header.jpg

I'm so proud to announce the winner of the Slow Rolling Home logo design contest!

Thank you each of the designers who took time to get to know us, our style, and our bus! This is my first Steemit contest and I'm grateful for each of the designers who submitted logo contenders. See the original contest post to learn more about the bus, our journey, and see what influenced our choice.

Two logos stood out from the rest, and only one could be our choice! The most important aspect I wanted for this logo is that it epitomized our journey, and specifically, our bus.

Meet the Slow Rolling Home


srh
This handsome man is my other half, whose opinion contributed to the winning pick.

These are the two logos vying for the top spot and the ultimate winner of the Slow Rolling Home logo contest.


Honorable Mention: @mrlightning

lightning

@mrlightning took great care in tracing the shape of our bus from the photo we provided and positioning it upon the world, as we aim to travel as far and wide as possible!


Winner: @themonkeyzuelans

SLOW ROLLING HOME LOGO.jpg

At first glance, I was completely taken aback by their clear understanding of the style, journey, and personality I outlined in the original post. They have created a logo with clean lines, elements that can be used independently or together, and ensured the logo could be utilized in a variety of applications.

srh2

The more I looked at the logo, which looks fabulous on a sticker, the more I saw details that made this an uncanny fit and well-thought out design.

1. The Slow Rolling Home journey intends to go from Canada to Patagonia, invariably on Hwy 1 / Pacific Coast Highway.

Looking at this logo, we see the bus traveling down a road... if it were moving southbound with the mountains to the east and the coast to the west, THAT IS HIGHWAY 1. 🤯

2. In each digital bus graphic, vector, and rendering I've come across, they always looked two-dimensional and somehow incomplete.

Pay attention to a few details that make the (vectorized) Slow Rolling Home so complete:

  • The bus tires, which - just like any real tire - have 360-degree tread that does not "cease" (to the eye) when it touches the road.

  • Windshield wipers. I would have never thought of windshield wipers, but they are up in the photo provided and give the windows a focal point, rather than making them something our brains think we should see-through.

  • A groove in the bumper, which exists on our actual bus and gives depth to the front face, which is otherwise extremely two-dimensional.

SLOW ROLLING HOME - VECTORS-1.jpg

It's crystal clear that @themonkeyzuelans paid attention to every detail

and translated a real-life, dimensional object into a tangible, relatable vector. My beau Alhen (the Captain of the Slow Rolling Home) and I are thrilled with this submission and are excited to share with Steemit how talented @themonkeyzuelans are.

Keep an eye on their profile for a process post this weekend.



My future Slow Rolling Home progress updates, photos, graphics, and products will bear this logo proudly. It's a true representation of our journey, our tastes, and our personalities.

Thank you to everyone who participated!

The second part of this contest was for the logo with the most upvotes! That person would win 50% of the payout from this post, which is 2.79 SBD!

The winner is: @doctorvee!


What do you think of the new Slow Rolling Home logo? Share your thoughts with me in the comments.

SLOW ROLLING HOME - OUTDOOR MOCKUP.jpg

Get up to speed with the Slow Rolling Home



Latest Post

dream

Conversion Progress


In-Depth Guides



mattress-header

Even though my posts go out-of-date, I hope you'll enjoy the full build documentation through the complete Slow Rolling Home Journey.



Never miss a post! Setup post notifications with GINABot for #slowrollinghome to see the latest conversion progress first!

Sort:  

We are so happy!!! Not just because we resulted winners, mostly because now we feel like we are taking a little part on your journey. We want to congratulate the rest of the users that summited some cool graphics too! thanks to the Slow Rolling Home team for the opportunity, we wish you guys the bests on your journey and if you're going to pass thru Venezuela let us know and we'll show you our paradise.

You're amazing - I'll definitely reach out in the future, even just to collaborate on new ideas for the Slow Rolling Home! We're getting close to being finished and getting started on the big journey.

This is so cool! I just looked back at your post from a couple of months ago (before my time on Steemit) and I am so happy for you! Believe it or not, when I was growing up, my parents bought an old school bus that had been painted royal blue and my dad converted it into a motorhome. It was the coolest thing ever! We definitely turned heads at the camp grounds! It had a kitchen, a loft bed for me and my sisters, chairs with seatbelts, a TV and everything - this was 30 years ago. I hope you enjoy yours as much as we did ours :-)

That's amazing! We are still a work in progress. Do you have photos from your time in the school bus? Definitely post them if you do! I know I'd love to see them!

I'll have to take a peek in the archives! I know my parents gave me a bunch of CDs full of pictures a few years back, but I've never looked at them...I'll see what I can find. It was a sight to see! And much bigger than the camper we had before that.

YEAH for your new logo! It works REALLY well as black lines on a white background and as an overlay on pictures. It's really cool and I love all the details you wrote about - great eye for detail yet such a 'clean' image <3 LOVE! Glad this contest worked out for you!

Hey - thanks for the advice at its inception. Everyone involved was super pleased, and that's the most I could've hoped for!

I love this design! I also love the plan of doing the pacific coast. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! What an epic trip! Yay!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29