Women Taking Leaps Interview Podcast with Dominique Davis, Chief Creative behind All That is She

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

wtl-header-dominique.jpg
Photo by Dominique Davis

Taking the leap to pursue her creative work full-time and to be a pioneer social media influencer marketing

In this conversation interview-turned-podcast, Dominique and I go deeper into the inspiration behind her thriving Instagram community and influencer marketing personality: All That is She.

Listen to the full podcast on DSound:

Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 3.54.32 PM.png

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

I've followed Dominique journey for over a year, but even then she was a big deal. Amassing followers, driving trends, and iconizing her All That is Three photo project she shares with her two daughts are just the beginning of Dominique's prowess on social media.

After a year of Instagram features, community growth, and making major friends in the Instagram influencer community, Dominique started to put her own spin on working with brands for profit.

Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 3.39.24 PM.png
Photo by Dominique Davis sponsored by Taylors of Harrogate.

Influencer marketing (also influence marketing) is a form of marketing in which focus is placed on influential people rather than the target market as a whole. It identifies the individuals that have influence over potential buyers, and orients marketing activities around these influencers.wiki

A few common misconceptions about Instagram/Influencer Marketing:

  • It's only for privileged people who already live lavish aspirational lives

  • The content creators just photograph their life and get paid for it

  • It's easy

  • Content creators should work for product exchange and not get paid

  • You have to create trendy content or it doesn't work

Dominique and I touch on each of these in our interview, as she's the first to admit that when the slow living and cut flowers trend was high, she started creating media that reflected those images, not her actual life.

There seems to be a growing shift on social media - especially Instagram - as we become collectively fed-up with the trends and un-realities.

Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 3.06.58 PM.png

We talk at length about how All That is She has become a true family business. Her husband, named Dominic and referred to affectionately as Boy Dom, was a freelance photographer and imaging professional when Dominique ventured into blogging. Over time, he began to contribute more to her projects and ultimately merged his work with hers.

Add their two daughters, adorable whippet, and bunnies into the mix, and you have a full house of creative energy!

► Listen to the full interview on DSound


This is, in my opinion, my best attempt at a podcast to-date!

The audio is quite tolerable, there's a nice, balanced jingle at the beginning, and our interview was recorded in-full on a very reliable Skype connection, which led to minimal cuts and changes necessary.

Please share your feedback in the comments, and enjoy the show!


Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 3.06.40 PM.png
Photo by Dominique Davis, featuring her two daughters Amelia and Penny, in the iconic All That is Three.

About Dominique Davis

Dominique Davis may be best known by her virtual pseudonym: All That is She, where she blogs and creates stunning visual content both in personal and professional nature. Dominique is more than a talented photographer: she illustrates whimsical ideas, carefully styles stunning imagers, and works magic in photo manipulation while still keeping the image looking real. As a pioneer in influencer marketing, she works with brands and other influencers to impact this new and exploding method of advertisement - one that feels genuine, personal, and peer-based. Dominique's blog is a treasure-trove of education for anyone wishing to create Instagram gold and is a source of inspiration for those with a soft-spot for crisp aethetics and adorable pets.

Learn more about Dominique and All That is She:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/allthatisshe/

Website: https://www.allthatisshe.com/

► Listen to Dominique's full interview on DSound


Read the Introduction to the Women Taking Leaps Series

2018 Women Taking Leaps Podcast + Interviews Library

Read the 2017 interviews here on Steemit:

Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. My blog has lived at www.amelia-bartlett.com until I discovered Steemit, where I now post most of my work. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

Dante is here, No Fear

DQmYiLGSGAH44QnfxDNSRHx9oiLsbiHLTUj49L1H96H4qsp.jpg

A great podcast. I was considering having an Instagram before but I resisted it. Most of my friends are migrating from other social networks to Instagram (and Steemit to be frank) so I this really got me interested. There are really a bunch of interesting folks I follow on Youtube and Facebook that are Insta based so I am looking forward to it.
Do you have an account too? I'll definitely follow Dominique. I mean, she has bunnies!!!

We've found each other on Instagram! I've become terribly lax at the whole social media gambit... since I found Steemit, I went from posting 2x daily on Instagram to barely 2x weekly. 😂

I'm starting to see how Instagram became essential if you are running a business and as a business in and of itself. I use social media, including Steemit, more for maintaining personal relationships, self-education and venting but this approach I'm starting to come across here and while searching for inspiration for my posts is really interesting and fun to learn about. I am a true fan of woman self-employment because I don't think I could ever do it. You all are superwomen to me. I'm looking forward to seeing more from you and Dominique, and all others ( I already found Jamie Oliver and Ingrid Nielsen and @sanjalydia )

What a beautiful share!! I love Dominique's account on IG a lot, she is so amazing!!!

Yes, she is! Gosh, how could would it be if she were on Steemit. 😄

I wish she would😍😄

I love the pictures.

She sure is an incredible creative!

Absolutely incredible content! I'll be following you :-)

You should! Amelia is so amazing! Especially considering both of your interest in both promoting women-owned businesses and self-growth and empowerment in self-employment.

❤️❤️ thank you for such kind words! I feel like a magnet where all the best people on Steemit happen upon me and stick. I feel so fortunate to know you, even virtually @big.mama ☺️

Very interesting interview! Thanks for introducing as to Dominique and making this interesting interview 😊 Her photos are really amazing! What microphone do you use?

Fantastic and empowering!

Thanks to @randomwanderings, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42