Thoughts on the Concept of National Military | Five Minute Freewrite: Day 141

in #freewrite6 years ago

11312790_845723165521028_7394332393544394378_o.jpg

This is the first time I'm sitting down to a freewrite without a single preconceived notion of what I'll write about. The prompt is the military. Considering giving an opinion or a fictional representation of something I know so little about - and yet still feel a strong regard for - gives me a slight anxiety. I live in a country that considers themselves a military superpower. The president recently said that his nuclear button was bigger and better than another country's, and that his actually worked.

I find war detestable. Yet, that's no fault of the military. A military is, in my opinion, a separate entity from the concept and action of war. A military participates in war, but they do not wage it. Commanders of militaries, stewards of nationalist ideologies and cultural biases wage war. The military is the device by which said war is carried out.

The common perception tells me I should feel safe because of the military that stands for my country. Without a doubt I am thankful for their commitment and service, for their sacrifice and effort, but does that make me feel safe?

Quite the contrary. I am forever in a state of low-grade fear.

Like a fever you only notice when it's hot. Or an ache you only notice after a long day's work. An insidious bug that quietly wreaks havoc on my peace of mind.

I am afraid of what that military will be commanded to do by individuals who were elected to represent my ideology because of where I live. Yet, they do not share my ideology.

We are out of time. But, I am not out of words.


This freewrite is dedicated to my best friend of 22 years, Jes, who enlisted in the US Army and now serves as a military police officer in the USA. I am forever grateful for her sacrifice and service. Photo used with her permission, whose name I will omit for privacy.

FREEWRITE-banner.jpg



Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Each week, I post on a smattering of topics, but mainly about women, herbalism + tea, fun facts and challenges, and my Curie curation journals. Every other week, I share my experience through the Steemit Beginner's Series. I'm also known to throw down a mean five-minute freewrite once in a while. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and get to know me a little bit more!

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

That is a great freewrite and I understand your thoughts and it's not really the sane here as in USA but still so many who makes great sacrifices
Well written my friend. Cheers! 💕

💓 Thank you for the support, @saffisara. It wasn't easy to write but I hope to be more open, have more discussions, and gain more understanding of military around the work.

Anytime my sweet friend 🤗
I understand that it couldn't be a easy write, but sometimes it is what's needed to get out of your comfort zone. And I love when you open up and we get to se more You in it.
Your thoughts etc. Hope to se more in the future.... And yes coming from the person that still is afraid of getting out of her comfort zone.... Lol
Have a wonderful evening. Much love ❤️❤️

Nice freewrite, and I agree with every word you wrote! Perhaps, showing pacifism here in Italy isn't seen as despicable like in USA, but times are changing and I see warmonger numbers grow more and more. I'm very worried about it. Memory of WW 2 is fading away...

I'm here as Prompt Delivere for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-114-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-frosting-a-cake
A lighter theme, that I hope you'll enjoy! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43