Stressed Out Santa

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

'tis the season to be stressed out!

The commercialization of Christmas has us scrambling this time of year, from picking up relatives at the airport to braving long lines and disgruntled shoppers at the mall.

That is, if you are lucky enough to find a parking space!

The spirit of the season can get lost last minute, too. Stress has a way of wringing out the goodness from what is supposed to be a joyful season.

It is important to de-stress and take some time for you. You are no good for anyone if you are overwhelmed. It's also important to help your mini-me's decompress as they lack the tools to be able to do it on their own.

Meditate

The benefits of meditation are widely known, but how often do you actually partake? Taking a few minutes per day to clear your mind and focus on your breathing can lower your blood pressure, reduce stress, improve your cardiovascular and immune systems, and slow aging. It also boosts concentration, a plus when you are juggling mad amounts of holiday activities and plans.

Find a quiet spot and lie down or sit comfortably. Focus on slowing and deepening your breaths. Clear your mind and just be in the moment with your breathing. Thoughts will come. Don't berate yourself, just acknowledge them and let them go. Over time it gets easier. Even 5 minutes of meditation can greatly improve your health.

Make a game of it with the kiddos remember to lead by example. Offer a reward after such as a snack or movie time. This is also a great way to calm them before sitting down for a movie or bedtime.

Treat Yourself

Sometimes we are so busy doing for others that we let our own needs slide. This is a bad habit to get into. Stop at the salon for a manicure mid last minute shopping. Treat yourself to a book and some luxurious bath oil and soak for an hour. Book a massage. Go to the gym- you may feel like you do not have time for a workout this time of year but afterwards you will feel refreshed and have more energy.

Orange You Happy

The scent of citrus ups the production of norepinephrine, a hormone that improves your mood, creates feelings of well being and alleviates stress. If you don't have an orange or lemon handy, put a few drops of their essential oil on a handkerchief for a little pick me up any time of day.

For a whole house boost, put some citrus oil in a diffuser.

Accupressure

If holiday chaos is getting to you , apply firm pressure to the flesh between your thumb and index finger. The hoku spot only needs 30 seconds to reduce anxiety and the stress in your upper body.

Teach your little ones this pressure point so they can apply the proper amount of pressure for their tolerance as needed.

Spice it Up

Enjoying a spicy meal triggers the production of endorphins to make you feel content and lessen stress and anxiety.

Think Positive

This time of year is meant for enjoying time with your loved ones. Negative thinking triggers your body's stress response. By switching your mindset when stressed, consciously turning negative thoughts into positive ones, you will in turn create a more positive vibe. A positive outlook will help you cope with the challenges that come.


What is your favorite way of coping when the holidays drive you to a breaking point?



Images via Unsplash and Creative Commons


I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-031410 Super Fun Writing Exercises for Winter Break!
~
Toughen Up!
~
Show, Don't Tell
~
The Amtrak Derailment, and Slowing PTSD
~
Best Comment Contest
~
Christmas Day 2050
~
Copying Posts and Comments is Illegal
~
There's an OM in Every Meow
~
6 Fun Must Visit Christmas Websites for All Ages


Fiction

Forbidden
~
Panic

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Your post sends love and light indeed!
Holiday's all about celebration, bonds and memories. LOVE! Priceless! One that's truly matters.
Stress from gift shopping, house deco or whatnot. Should not go in the way of what's the essence of this special holiday. :)

You are so correct, we should not allow anything to get in the way of the true essence of the season <3

Thank you :)

I have even avoided arguing with people on steemit - only until after Christmas of course, then the gloves go back on! lol

Hahaha, chill @lucylin ^^
Pls try to think some steemians are not well knowledgeable, some dont really meant what they have done. ^^
They'll live and learn as they go along here in Steemit. :) world peace! Hahaha ✌ ❤

But they're lucky you avoided arguing since its holiday. Hehehe

....some don't really meant what they have done. ^^

that's ...intriguing....
Care to elaborate.....?... I'm puzzled...

Who is lucky? lol

Don't worry, it's Christmas !(your secret is safe with me)

Haha sorry to confuse you dear. ^^
What I mean to say is that just incase those people who annoy you (probably people who say, "upvote me or pls follow me back")
Sometimes they just really dont know that its rude to do that.
They will live and learn eventually. I alao dont know at first the rules of steemit.

Exception to the rule are those whose really speak ill of another person/steemians. Those people should not be in Steemit. :P

| I have even avoided arguing with people on steemit - only until after Christmas of course, then the gloves go back on! lol

You avoid arguing with people in steemit. So steemians are lucky. ^^V

Sorry sorry. I sound so silly here. Lols

Your version of "giving" aye? LOL!

I detect sarcasm, young lady !

Love love love! @arbitrarykitten
And also love for steemit, POWER UP! hahaha
:)

<3 STEEM ever onward and upward :D

Yes, brilliant. My wife is from Philippines, this will be our 4th Christmas together. There is still things to prepare, but It is more about family rather than the usual stressy runaround. It is nice. When my nephew jumps up and down because he's got a new basketball, you realise what Christmas should really be like.

Exactly! I love hearing things like this. All we see is consumer messages overshadowing the meaning of Christmas. It's truly about the little things. Giving, family and friends :) And seeing the joy in the eyes of the little ones

Yes, mama! Baths are a favorite. A little rum and coconut water also takes that edge off. It's less stressful here, but we've had a whole series of crazy shit, so I've been feeling it anyway. It's all done now, though, so we're doing gingerbread house tomorrow, and that's it. Nice and easy.

I recently found coconut liquor and rum go very well together! I am going to have to try coconut water and rum :)

I love all things coconut, which is good since there's millions here. Fresh coconut water and rum is so, so fabulous, though. I have to be careful.

I am that way with anything coconut! I have always loved it, but lately... I don't know if there is some mineral or vitamin that my body is needing or what but when I start eating anything coconut I can't stop!

It has so much good stuff in it! Good for all kinds of things. In fact, I think that it probably cancels out the rum. That's my theory, and I'm sticking with it.

Aah yes.. the commercialization of christmas and holidays.. you described it in a befitting manner..

Holidays are meant to make yourself stress-free and to get you ready for a fresh start. Yet we slam dunk ourselves into another level of stress by putting obligations on us to complete a never ending list of tasks on holidays. So by the end of holidays, instead of feeling fresh, we get winded..

Though your post promote the concept of "healing and treating thyself", i recently made an article on an issue where people tend to do extravagant and crazy stuff on holidays rather than reliving the true spirit of Christmas.

Good post my friend..

I found your article. Stellar ideas!

Awww you curated my post. So wonderul of you.. i did not mean to advertise my content, I was just trying to augment and further strengthen your stance on what holidays are actually about.
But that was really nice of you.. ^_^

I have been known to stalk authors I enjoy...

I don't get to read as much as I would like, so sometimes something said sparks the Steemit wanderlust, if you will ;)

I really enjoyed it, and your extra spin is refreshing (and a nice surprise!)

I don't get to read as much as I would like, so sometimes something said sparks the Steemit wanderlust, if you will ;)

Hahaha..
and thank you very much.. it means a lot that an author of your stature appreciated my content..

Though i must admit that my vocab on that particular post was a little off (sometimes i just lose the skill of crafting a post which is supported by robust vocab) but i posted it anyway since the message was too important and i couldn't delay it till i get my mojo back..
^_*

Why thank you <3

Your message is very important, thank you for sharing!

I somewhat agree with your post. I think I have a better idea. When I am stressed ( like always), I immediately create 5 new stressors just to forget about the one that was bothering me. The approach is my own invention and has served me well. I had a head full of white hair at 18. By 19i was bald.

Hey... As least you don't have to stress over hair styling and barbers ;)

I personally don’t feel like reaching a breaking point on Christmas

I like to have time with the family, sleep a lot and just relax all day long.

This Christmas however is different for me, because I discovered steemit at the start of December and I am putting my time in here. And very happy about it!! :D

Right!

Well, as long as you are not stressing over Steemit, it is all good!

Welcome! I started in Dec too :) AND I like sleeping on Christmas 😂😂following you.

Hey thanks! 😆

The holidays are not stressful for me. Well, they aren’t any more stressful than any other time of the year (Freelancing Mom, 3 kids).

I like all the reasons to hang out with family, the shared meals, the tree.

When I do start to get stressed, I take a nap and remind myself that Christmas is not about the gifts, decorations and details, it’s about hugging your kids and making them smile. I ❤️ Christmas. I do admit it got more enjoyable when I pared down my traditional responsibilities.

I love Christmas too, and you are so right- when you pared down to the basics you can actually enjoy it so much more :)

That’s right! My parents had SO MANY traditions, and I felt like I was falling behind (make ornaments every year, bake cookies for a lot of people, have Christmas parties for Your different circles of friends, buy gifts for XX people, take the kids ice skating, pictures with Santa, expensive gifts) NO MORE! We still do lots of stuff, but we don’t HAVE to do any of it - so much better 🎅🏼

I don't know how our parents did it! Seriously! And made it to the hair salon!!! Lol

Good advice!!! It is so easy to get stressed out! And small steps can make a difference!

You have to start with small steps, it's the only way to begin to get anywhere, and it's the only way to arrive ;)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This post has received a 0.24 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67118.32
ETH 3521.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20