This is where it started... Walk with me as I take the puppies on their first trip to the lake

in #walkwithme7 years ago

Sometimes it is easy to forget where you started.

I began on the beautiful piece of Welsh mountainside that I am blessed to call my home.

Seventeen acres of magical, mystical, mythical marvellous vibrant verdancy. Each little square inch bursting and bustling with the wonders of nature.

From the tiniest bug to the mightiest oak.

It is all there to love, respect and enjoy. You only have to look...


This afternoon I took a break from steemit to remind myself of why I am here and where my journey began.

Come walk with me around my little piece of Wales and enjoy the sunshine.


The view from our house across the valley is quite something. This morning the valley below us had a hefty wallowing of mist. This afternoon it cleared away to leave this pretty, pretty place...

This field in front of the house was planted with a deciduous mix of trees about five years ago. They include oak, ash, wild cherry, hazel and alder. The tallest are now approaching 4m. Alas many of the ash are succumbing to Ash Dieback Disease and will have passed to another place in a year or two.

Above the main woodland area we have planted about 25 fruit trees - apple, cherry, pear and plum. The tiniest hints of buds are already forming waiting ready to burst forth as the days warm up in a few weeks time.

Despite them being deciduous many of the trees have kept some 'Christmas decorations' for us to enjoy through the chilling winter days - the rusty dried oak leaves, the oak galls, and the hazel catkins...


At the bottom of the field is the lake. The lake is around half an acre with a small island in the middle. It was dug by the previous owners around 25 years ago to provide for their angling hobby.

We did restock the lake about 10 years ago with 300 or so carp, rudd and tench.

I never got round to learn to fish but the herons and the otters have been keenly honing their angling skills in my absence.

Just to the left of the picture is the area where we plan to build a small cabin so we can enjoy little lakeside holidays.

That one though is definitely part of the long-game - currently sitting comfortably at number 264 on our things to do when we have time and money list.

Bertie and Betsie, our two new puppies, had not been to the lake before.

They seemed entranced by the water and the upside down world that glistened before them. They really were not sure what to do next. A bit cold for a swim today I think... maybe next time.

Down by the lake there is a lot of fallen and rotten wood. I always marvel at the beauty of lichens that grow so prolifically in our clean moutain air. I so wish I could find the opportunity to learn to identify the different species of lichen.

Heading back up the mountainside I was reminded that despite the solitude and tranquility I enjoy here the modern world is still ever present...

We live about a third of the way up the mountain in an old farmhouse nestled all around by trees, including the mighty oak that guards above our greenhouses and the giant sycamore that stands proudly in front of our house.


I hope you enjoyed this brief walk round part of our homestead. I can head in a different direction next time if you are interested.

I am truly blessed to have found my way to this little peace on earth.

That we found out after we bought the house that it had been built by my mother's family 200 years ago demonstrated to me with certain clarity that there is a higher hand that guides us in our journey through life.

Love life. Respect the earth. Go in peace.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :





[ images by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

Wow pennsif, you are truly blessed! What an incredible property, that’s my dream. Thanks for sharing that I really enjoyed it.

Yes we are very fortunate to find this place. This is definitely our 'forever home' - I do not ever envisage leaving here...

I'm sure they'll be in the water in no time. After introducing my buddy to the river near the local park, we can't go to that park anymore without him making a bee-line for the overpass that he knows will get him to the water, especially on hot days!

2017-12-14 09.53.34-1.jpg

I guess the water will be a bit warmer for him over in Australia.

Maybe in the summer our puppies can go for a swim in the lake when it will be a little bit warmer.

I certainly enjoyed this walk around a part of your property, so would appreciate more.

And I love, love, love the ancestral connection! Coincidence? Absolutely not. ;) This is one aspect of genealogy I would love to get into, especially as patterns interest me. Are we really led, consciously or not, to connections with our ancestors?

I remember one episode of Who Do You Think You Are? featuring Jeremy Irons and he was determined to find such a connection to his current home, as he'd felt such a strong pull to that particular place. Sure enough ... :)

Yes I knew my mother's family was from this area but I didn't know the connection with this house before we bought it.

The original property was 96 acres. We now have 17 acres. I would love to buy back the rest one day if we can ever afford it and our neighbour wants to sell.

Family history research in Wales is trickier because of the commonality of many surnames - Evans, Jones, etc.

And some of the documents are in Welsh which adds another complication...

Tell me about it - I have Thomas and Owens and Price, lol.

I think it would be fantastic if you get to achieve the full restoration of the original property. Imagine you already have it, and it shall come. :)

I love positive thinking...

Thank you for taking us with you to visit your lake. My dogs would have gotten in the water whether I wanted them to or not. Great post!

Thank you - I am sure that will come in time with the puppies.

Wow, your property is breathtaking...what lucky puppies! They are going to love life <3 The trees you live among are beautiful.

The trees are my favourite part of the property - the diversity of ages and species especially.

That little lake is awesome..

Love the reflection pic of it with the trees and the sun.. those dogs do look like they want to swim..

I think the puppies will be in the lake soon. They just couldn't quite build up the courage on their first encounter.

such as awesome post... I don't really know how ya'll connect with dogs though. Never had any pet before.

your land is amazing.

How wonderful to have all this on your doorstep

gorgeous photos! lucky man

wow!! amazing post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89