My Childhood Days in the Home Counties of England, 1966 - The School Fete

in #dtube6 years ago


This is original unedited digitised cine film footage of my childhood days in the Home Counties, England.

It was filmed at the summer fete of my primary school on 11 June 1966.

Included in this film are :

  • The opening of the fete by a local celebrity. It was supposed to be the BBC newsreader Richard Whitemore but I am sure that is not him in the film. I guess he couldn't make it.

  • Me presenting flowers to two ladies. I then shook hands with the wrong hand!

  • Musical entertainment by a band called The Clarions - I wish I knew what song they were singing.

  • My godmother bowling for a pig.

  • The fancy dress competition including some very politically incorrect costumes (by today's standards).

  • I was Huckleberry Hound in the competition - I think I came first with my partner Yogi Bear.

  • My middle sister in the 'Pick A Pocket' for 6d outfit.

  • The ladies 'Prettiest Ankles' contest.

  • The 'Guess the name of the doll' lady.

  • The book and comic stall.

  • The three winners of the 'Prettiest Ankles' contest.

You can see the previous movies in this series at :


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations! You have been awarded the ‘Badge of Originality’ for your post!

badge teal small.jpg

This post has been curated by one of our @humanbot initiative team members (@beautifulbullies) and is Human Certified Original Work. Looking forward to seeing more from you!

This post has also been re-steemed to over 1400 of @beautifulbullies follower’s as part of the ‘Sunday Resteem’ project! Great photography, thank you for sharing! :)

For more information about Resteem Sunday, you can check out the post here: https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/resteem-sunday-focusing-on-photography-7th-january-2018

Awww I absolutely love this! :D

Good old school days. I am positive some of those costumes would be frowned upon today. Sometimes I wonder if we are too politically correct these days...

It's only one particular costume that really 'stands out' -- and there are even some minority kids present at the fate too, God knows what they must have made of it! And he gets a prize I notice.

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Ha! That's awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07