A Challenge for 2018 - can I sign up 100 new people to steemit in one year? #signup100

in #promo-steem6 years ago

This afternoon I helped @cryptojelly get set up on steemit.

@cryptojelly is the fourth person I have got on board steemit this year.

Getting new people on to the platform is vital if we want steemit to reach critical mass and really stake its claim in the social landscape of the internet.

I have seen amazing work being done around the world by people recruiting new steemians.

In her radio show this afternoon @beanz mentioned @ahmedyusuf who is helping people in large numbers in Aceh in Indonesia get on board steemit.

In the Philippines @steemph.cebu and steemit members like @jassennessaja are growing numbers every day.

Projects like @stach and steemians like @ejemai and @greatness96 are doing great works in Nigeria bringing new people on to the platform.

@reko is signing up a whole bunch of people in Sweden with his Word-of-Mouth Promo campaign.

At the higher level the #promo-steem campaign led by @stephenkendal, @starkerz and @anarcotech is now moving into top gear with the launch of the new website and the @steem-ambassador program.


In my little corner of Britain I have arranged the first Wales steemit meetup on 10 February. As part of that I have set a target of a 100% increase in the number of active steemians in Wales from 15 to 30 by 31 March.

I am wondering though if I should set myself a more challenging target. We have already recruited a third of our Wales target of 15 for the first quarter and it is only 8 January.

For me that has been one new steemian every two days. I am not sure I can sustain that throughout the year - but how about one every three days or so...?


So this is my challenge, and this is my pledge to the steemit community :

I will do my very best to sign up 100 new people to stemmit by the end of 2018.

Anyone else fancy picking up the challenge with me?

Imagine if 1000 people (that is one in every 50 active steemians) around the world joined the #signup100 challenge?

That would be another 100,000 new steemians - almost a 20% increase on the current account numbers.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :





[ graphics by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

Yesss!! this is a pretty good iniciative!! and we could even change even some people's life when they meet steemit, just like my life changed.

i like to always talk to my friends about steemit, i'm always ecouraging them to join steemit, recently i have joined to steemit : my dad, his wife, an parkour friend, my best friend and hist best friend, a total of 5 persons in 1 week

You are motivating me to reach out and in a short amount of time there will be a large amount of Steemians in Wales! Hopefully the Wales meetups will add even more! I think Doing some videos to submit on Dtube the day of the meetup will be an idea?

Steem in Wales is on the up !

DTubes would be a great idea.

I have signed up 5 people since I have been on Steemit, over a year and a half ago. one is family the rest are friends who truly have a wonderful notion of quality to offer in their content. It is tough coming from a smaller community to get momentum. I do keep trying my best. Thanks for helping our community along. @pennsif

That's cool. How is your daughter finding steemit?

Promoting steemit has been on the rise in the last few weeks.I have noticed quite a few people posting about it.

I have seen many of the meetups and would like to attend one locally near me (anyone in Michigan?) if t became a reality.

Hopefully you can get a meetup going in Michigan soon. I am looking forward to the Wales meetup.

Steemit needs to move up a level now where the 'population density' of steemians is such that you will know other people locally on it (just like Facebook).

Imagine that in the homesteading community if there were say 20 other steemian homesteaders in the area around about where you live.

That opens up a whole load more possibilities... trading in steem perhaps?

Wow, awesome job! I started signing people up this year too.. i have helped 4 people come to steemit including my fiance @ayogihasnoname
This is the year steemit will burst past 1 million users!

Excellent - do you think you are good for another 96?

Join the #signup100 challenge...

I am going to be traveling and I do plan on handing out steemit business cards while I travel so hopefully I will help well over 100 people find steemit. But I don't know if I will actually take the time to help 96 more people to sign up and get started, with moving and traveling so much this challenge is a bit much for me. But I love that you and others are doing it and I will do everything I can to help the platform grow in other ways :)

Have fun travelling.

Good work! Everyone I tell about Steemit believes I'm crazy, or trying to scam them. :-( I guess I'll have to start carrying my laptop with me, or use one of the Steemit phone apps and show them my account.

Maybe I look like a crook? Mmm.....

I have found telling people about steemit doesn't work... but showing them does!

Yeah, I can believe that. They come for the money, and stay for the non-censoring, no-ads, community-oriented, great content site...and the money. lol

Challenge accepted.

Great stuff, let me know how it goes.

A powerful goal to pursue. I believe you can make it. Actually you inspired me to have a similar goal in Dubai, sign up 100 new steemians over the next 30 days. It was nice hearing your yesterday on the discord room explaining your goal and sharing your post with us.

Wow, 100 signups in 30 days will be very impressive.

I would be interested to hear what methods you are using for finding the people to sign up?

Absolutely....I'll start working on it from tomorrow....I'll share my progress with you :)

sounds like a great project that could really add value to steemit but man i don't even know 100 people that challenge is a little beyond me.

Heck I have had a hard enough time even trying to convince the 3 people at work the showed a slight interest.

I have got a lot of friends that i would i love them to sign up to steemit here in Nigeria, but don't know how to go about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87