Tonight I signed up my first YouTuber with 70k subscribers - I'm on target for the #signup100 campaign

in #promo-steem7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I wrote about my personal #signup100 campaign to sign up 100 people to steemit before the end of the year.

I had already recruited four people, tonight I added numbers five and six.

One of these is a successful YouTuber who has over 70,000 subscribers.


I won't reveal who he is until his account has been confirmed by steemit inc but I know members of the homesteading, permaculture and gardening community are going to very much enjoy his first class content.

Top witness @aggroed is very keen on encouraging YouTube creators to join steemit having helped @davidpakman on his journey here.

To that end I understand @aggroed has another one of his Saturday discussion forums coming shortly to which he is inviting a number of leading YouTubers to discuss their moves to steemit.



My second recruit of the evening is a long time local community activist. She has been involved in local politics for some time and is interested to see what role steemit might play in improving the lives of ordinary people in Britain.

Again I will be introducing this person more fully as soon as their account has been confirmed.



I would have completed a hatrick of signups this evening but for the steemit signup procedure.

This third almost-recruit is a professional film maker and animator based in France.

He is keen to sign up but he doesn't have a mobile phone so he got stuck at the point in the signup process where he needed to give a mobile number for receiving the authentication PIN number. (I believe this is all correct but do tell if I have got any of this wrong as I can't remember how it was when I signed up.)

I am going to investigate the likes of Anon.Steem and steeminvite to see if I can expedite his sign up.



You might ask how I managed to get 2 (potentially 3) signups all from the comfort of my office chair. I didn't have to move an inch.

It was simple. I opened up Facebook (which I don't visit very often now) and looked down my list of Contacts on the right. I scanned through those that were showing as active. Then I started chatting telling them about steemit.

The YouTuber I guessed prior would be interested as he is a very enterprising young man always willing to explore new opportunities.

The other two people I had an inkling would be interested.

I do prefer face to face recruitment but this Facebook contact method was perfectly adequate for these people.

Why not take a look down your Facebook Contacts list and see who might be interested in steemit.

Then just start talking.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :





[ graphics by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

I always talks about steemit to my friends!

They ask me why i'm not leaving venezuela and the answer is always the same : working on steemit i can afford to live.

and then : ¿what is steemit? and spent like half hour explaining steemit to them

and like 90% of the time i bring someone new to the platform

That is excellent. Keep at it.

Well, I’ve talked two people into joining in the last few days, and two that might join soon. I just hate to see people miss out on such a great opportunity.

That is my feeling too - it would be a same for people to miss out on what is probably a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Congrats! Haven't thought about a sign up campaign, but that wouldn't be a bad idea (if I may copy of course).

Feel free to copy the idea. Let me know how you get on.

Will do! Give me some time though. Currently struggling to keep up some simple uploading promises :(

Well done! I've signed up my wife and one friend. Going to start working on my other friends.

Good stuff, keep at it.

Great work pennsif :) I havent been online for a while but always enjoyed your challenges you set yourself. I remember your fruit trees you were planting, I must go back and see how you did there. Keep up the good work ;)

Hi @zalife. Still on with the fruit trees, hope to get another 30 or so in this year.

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

I definitely applaud your efforts to get people to join this community. We have 6500+ followers on twitter and an active Facebook page and will certainly be mentioning Steemit to our followers once this account gets a little bit established here.

Good going! I've signed up a few people personally as well as introduced quite a few to crypto. The fact that you have a target set is great and a YouTuber with a 70k following, nice :)

You'll reach your target before the end of the month at this rate. Good luck

Awesome @pennsif! I am literally begging my Facebook friends to come over here. And I tell them, it's not like I get a benny if you join. But if I don't tell you about Steemit, in five years you're going to hate and distrust me for not begging you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43