Ulog No. 32: "Some of my Food Analogies" and a chance to win 3 SBI Shares

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I have so many favourite foods I can't even enumerate them. All I know is that when I eat that particular food (whatever it is), I'd say, "This is one of my favourites!!!" or, "Oooohh... I love this!!!!" And whilst I'm eating something that I really enjoy, I make this noise, which you can probably just imagine what that sounds like.

For example, ever since I ate "Baked Spuds" (for the second time around), "I fell in love with it". I don't know if you can use that expression when you think about food. But that's similar to what I felt anyway. It's like I want to eat it again and again, but I just had to control myself and not give in to the temptation to buy baked spuds. Because if I keep on eating it, I might become sick of it and not even want to eat it for the next twelve months or longer than that. The smell of it might even make me sick and want to throw up.

So, having it (or any other food for that matter) every now and then is fine. No problem! At least, I can still get a craving for it. There's no diminished liking to this particular food (again, same goes for any food that I consider my favourite).

"How come if it's your favourite, why can you not eat it regularly or more often?" Some might ask me that question. However, I have already answered that. You may read the last two paragraphs again.

Food Analogies

My having a favourite food is like having favourite people. You may have some favourite people in your life, but you would not want to see them every single day, would you? Unless it's your partner or your kids, or your family members that you live with (I guess, you don't have a choice).

When I say favourite people, like friends from school or work, even your best friend. I know I cannot vouch for anyone, some people just want that closeness and constant companionship, but when people get too familiar with each other, they will eventually get sick of each other, and think "I've had enough of that person!" (Things like this happen to couples, that's why there's separation or divorce.)

pjimage.jpg

Now, I don't want to feel that about any of the food that I really love. I love having that "spark" the moment I have my first bite again, after not eating a particular food for about a month. There's that craving that buying it, no matter how much it costs, will make me think, "It's all worth it!"

There's also the strong desire or motivation to put a lot of effort into making it because once it's finished, I'd feel a sense of pride and satisfaction that I made something out of love and because I love it!!!

Baked Spuds is something I didn't grow up eating. My husband, John, introduced me to it years ago. Just like probably in any relationship, it's not always that when one meets someone, that they like each other straight away. Most of the time, the first date is a horrible experience (thankfully, my first date with John was a beautiful one). But some "future couples" gave each other a second chance, and they realised that they could hang out and start seeing each other again.

I gave "Baked Spuds" a second chance. I didn't like it the first time, but the second time, I "fell in love with it." I looked for recipes on how to make it. I didn't get intimidated by the amount of work I need to do just to prepare the ingredients and the cooking, in general, or overwhelmed by the fact that I had never made something like this before.

I have used and followed recipes I found on Google. I have also improvised. I have experimented with the oven and the microwave oven. I have also used different ingredients, deciding what can be added and not be added to the recipe. When I put my mind to something, I want to achieve success. With Baked Spuds, I'm not close to perfection, but I know I will get there someday.

It's like any relationship. It takes hard work and perseverance, learning from mistakes, eliminating the negative elements (such as bad habits, inconsideration, selfishness, hostility, anger, grudges, etc.) and choosing the best ingredients (such as love, respect, trust, loyalty, faithfulness, communication, etc.) for a relationship to work, flourish, and last for a lifetime.

How about you? How do you compare food and cooking with life and love or with anything?"


Be creative and share your thoughts on it. I will pick three winners based on the quality of their responses and at my discretion.

First place: 3 SBI shares
Second place: 2 SBI shares
Third place: 1 SBI share

Deadline for this contest is Sunday, 5th August 2018, 11:00 PM (ACST).

For my homemade recipe of baked spuds, please check my next post.


Thank you for reading and I'm looking forward to reading your feedback, comments, and responses.

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog initiative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in #Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

Ulog No.
Title
31
My Maiden Last Name is now my Middle Name
30
"What was my day like in the city?" also, my Monday in Adelaide
29
Sunday Bustle

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
itestify1.jpg

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

All photos are my own, unless otherwise cited, and except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

If I can feed someone, I feel comfortable around them. I know that I've given them a part of what they need to live, and so, even if they aren't sure about my politics or my personality or whatever, at least they have some innate warm feelings about me. So food is love, or at least acceptance.

And yes, I love baked potatoes, too. Especially with sour cream. LOADS of sour cream. It might be that I love sour cream.

Thank you, @improv, for your input.

at least they have some innate warm feelings about me.

Whatever it is you "feed" other people with, for example, your ideas or opinions on a topic, you are opening up to them and sharing with them your innermost thoughts, which is part of who you are as a person. They can accept your ideas or not, but at least you shared your thoughts. Just like with food, it's up to them if they want to eat the food or reject it. If they eat it, you will see how much they appreciate it, if they reject it, no hard feelings. It's there for the takers anyway.

Hey, I love sour cream, too. I put lots of sour cream in my pumpkin soup as well, and also in my beef stroganoff.

MMM, and borscht. I'm thinking about sour cream in borscht now, too. mmmmm

I have never tried borscht. I had to google it what it was, and so I found out it's a beetroot soup served with sour cream. I guess that's why baked spuds with beetroot taste even more delicious with sour cream because beetroot always goes well with sour cream. I might even try making borscht or this beetroot soup. See if I will like it.

It's quite good, but again, that might just be because I love sour cream. ;P

I love sour cream too. The taste of the beetroot may be overpowering so I'll definitely put lots of sour cream in the soup if I make one. :=)

A good borscht mellows the beet, I think.

Good contest.
Life is like a food processor sometimes. You need to be crushed, tossed, and blended in order to become something beautiful and tasty. The process may be painful but the end result is worth it.

That's a good way of putting it. Any process can be painful, especially in life. It is always full of struggles and hardship, but along the way, you get tougher, braver and more resilient, until you realise that nothing or no one can ever crush or break your spirit unless you allow it to happen.

Well-said!

I have already answered that. You may read the last two paragraphs again.

hahahaha

I like the little food analogies that creep into our language, like, "She's as cool as a cucumber." "He's as sweet as cherry pie."

Here's one of my own: "You're the whipped cream topping on my birthday cake." (meaning, you're the best, and it just doesn't get any better.) 😁

Hahaha!!!! Your comment made me laugh!!!

I have one of my own: "You're way too mushy like a banana you make me sick!!!" which can be used as a reply to someone's pickup line. :-)

My interpretation of "You're the whipped cream topping on my birthday cake." is "You're too sickly and I just want to put you aside." LOL!!! That's just because I don't like the whipped cream topping on any birthday cake.

wow , it is interesting to read how you wrote the food analogies.
You have laid out the food with several other preparations which somewhat similar to what I can get.
I agreed with your analogy about favorite food with people who dine with you. Certainly, there is lesser degree to choose what your favorite food are when you are with you family members. But you have a wider choice when you eat out with friends though.
Nevertheless, learn to adapt to other choices of food can be a challenged but meaningful in a long run.
Cheers

Thank you, @digitalmind. Please check out my recipe for baked spuds where I also detailed how I'd prepare for all the ingredients needed to make this dish. Just like anything in life - whether it's relationship, studies, job, or even making a simple project- preparation is really important to make things work. You don't just go face the battle without equipping yourself first, and that involves preparation.

learn to adapt to other choices of food can be a challenged but meaningful in a long run.

Yes, that's true. Always find meaning in everything we do, just like your example, we can find choosing the food we want to eat can be challenging but can be meaningful...
especially when shared with loved ones and friends.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment.

Cooking for me is an extremely spiritual task. It is deep to me on a level that is extremely Tribal almost as if it's a ritual, that since men and women have lived on Earth, is that one routine that unites us all through the times. Cooking meals is also a noble task that breaks the language barrier, and is an art that binds every race, religion, or ethnicity under a common bond which we all can relate, and we all can share. Cooking meals is representative of who you are as a person and the amount of love you have for your fellow man and woman. You are literally taking a vital substance that without, we would all perish, and placing it inside of your body, or the body of others, which means it is the highest honor anyone can receive, or be trusted with. Needless to say I find cooking to be a serious act that should not be taking lightly, and meals for me come with either great acts of joy, sorrow, anger, or jubilation. Meal times for me are a very emotional event, and never taken lightly.

Thank you, @natepower, for your profound explanation on what cooking means to you. I have never thought of it that way, that cooking is a spiritual task. I totally get what you mean. It is not such any mundane task that needs to be done just for the sake of getting done because we have to put food on the table. This "noble and spiritual task" involves putting every element you can think of into the food you're cooking, such as love, joy, happiness, service, generosity, appreciation. There's more to it than just merely combining all the ingredient. Every careful and meticulous process that is involved in producing such a delicacy and a work of art just shows how much love you give and then you feel a great sense of pride and satisfaction when you see or hear how much your food is appreciated.

Thanks for the kind offer @evlachsblog.
How do I compare food with life?
Well, the fact is...

We eat to live, we live to have a life, and a part of our life is fill with a lot kind of food.

Food versus love

If we eat too much, it can cause us stomachache and the same goes for love...
If we love too much, we can easily get a heartache.

As eating food can get rid of hunger... So is love can get rid of loneliness

As eating too much of the same food everyday can make us queasy, so is giving too much love without return can make us fade up...

So, How do we make life more beautiful with food and love?

Food : We create a lot of recipe and eat different type everyday. Even in a day we are eating a lot kind of food.

Love : We do various activity that can make us connect we other more such as movie night, travelling, hiking, jungle tracking and more.

Last but not least.

I have fun reading and commenting on your post.

Thank you for your input, @myd77. I agree with what you said:

If we eat too much, it can cause us stomachache and the same goes for love...

If we eat too much, we may also get heartburn. Haha! However, with this statement:

If we love too much, we can easily get a heartache.

I don't think there's nothing wrong with loving too much. When we give our love and that love is reciprocated, it's a wonderful feeling. When it comes to loving, I think there's never too much. Well, that's me, because I guess I am a romantic person. Yes, I get hurt, but that's because I let myself down for setting my expectations probably too high, and that's nothing to do with love. When I am let down, it is not because I love too much, but it's what I expect from the person instead.

So love should be unconditional (which is loving someone "so" much) without expecting anything in return. We just have to do it because we are commanded to love one another. We are also meant to "love ourselves" so we will have to do our best to protect ourselves from getting hurt. What can we do so that we won't get hurt? I guess, it's impossible. We will be hurt, which is part of life. And part of loving someone is also accepting the other person for who and what they are. If there's full acceptance, then there's no expectation. Again, that's my own opinion.

I totally agree with your statement:

As eating food can get rid of hunger... So is love can get rid of loneliness

Again, with this statement though:

giving too much love without return can make us fade up...

Maybe, if people try to love unconditionally without expecting in return, then there's no reason we will be fed up.

Thank you again for your contribution. I also enjoyed replying to your comment.

I agree with you too. I totally forgot about love unconditionally. Thank you for reminding me. Gosh I still need others to remind me until now.

Thank you for reminding me.
Guess I have been hurt a lot before that I keep forgotting about love unconditionally.

But that is the past... Now I am totally happy yet the painful memory still running in my mind.

Hopefully someday my old bad memory will be burried under my happy thought so that I could achieve unconditional love someday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, you're welcome. I also need that reminder myself. Sometimes I don't realise it until I say it out loud or write it in my journal.

Memories linger. That's why they're called memories. They are stuck in our brain. Good or bad, they linger, but usually the painful memories are the ones that don't seem to go away easily, but they serve as great lessons in life that hopefully the next time we experience or encounter the same thing again, it won't be as bad anymore.

The next time we encounter it, I'm sure it is not as bad as the first time. Sometimes, it won't feel bad at all because as you said... We do learn.

But...

I think it is up to an individual on how they take their lesson on bad experiences.

Some may be positive and some may be negative but as long as there is someone to remind us about all the good things that could happen, it will be just fine.

Posted using Partiko Android

Screenshot_20180730-101423.png

I can compare my very first baked ribs with my relationship with my husband, sis 😮

When I was about to make it at first, I was really anxious, yet excited for the outcome whether it'd be delicious or if my husband will like it or not.

Time is crucial in making baked ribs. It needs TIME - to make it tender and juicy! In addition to that, it needs a perfect sauce to make it even tastier and yummy. 😛😉

My relationship with hubby is comparable to that. 🤤 We were both anxious at first when we were on the adjustment phase, we always tend to argue on things before we got married, but at the same time, we couldn't wait for the day we would exchange our vows.

And as the days went by, with all the care & love that we do every single day for each other, I got to appreciate him and vice versa no matter how much flaws that we do have. That I think makes our love and relationship juicier. 😁

My first ever baked ribs wasn't that perfect, but the sauce I made matched it perfectly. So I believe that for a marriage or relationship to make it more livelier and more colorful, both individuals need to add the spice in it. 😎

And for those who are just starting in a relationship, both couples should prepare mentally, emotionally and spiritually just like when you prepare ingredients of your favorite food. Otherwise, the outcome won't be as good as you expected to be.

Now, my husband and I are more softer, more forgiving and more loving because we knew what the perfect spices and ingredients are in our marriage.

I hope those people who would read my comment can also relate to it hehe..

Thank you, @dynamicshine, for your response.

When I was about to make it at first, I was really anxious, yet excited for the outcome...

You would not have known the outcome if you had not tried to make it. So well done for trying and taking that first step. :-)
Same goes with any relationship, you'll never know how it will turn out if you don't give it a shot. Being anxious is normal, but it's good that we have the Holy Spirit to comfort us and lead us to make the right decision in life.

Time is crucial in making baked ribs. It needs TIME - to make it tender and juicy! In addition to that, it needs a perfect sauce to make it even tastier and yummy.

We need the right ingredients to make anything work. As with cooking and relationship alike, TIME is an important factor.

both individuals need to add the spice in it.

And that too ^^^.

Anyway, thank you for participating in my contest, sis. Great analogies!!!

that is an interesting story😊😍

Great job..
The intoductory part of your post got me laughing, it's really funny.

Thank you, @tomgodswill. I'm glad you got humour out of it, although I never meant to be funny because I'm such a boring person, I think. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75