Ulog No. 30: "What was my day like in the city?" also, my Monday in Adelaide

in #ulog6 years ago

What I love and don't love about the city


I don't get to go to the city of Adelaide that often. If it weren't for the Professional Development seminar/workshop that we, teachers, need to attend every year, I won't be able to see much of the city.

Or sometimes when my husband and I would visit his relatives, then I'd be able to come. What I love about the city is the variety of things that you find in their shops. Well, of course, there are lots of shops and malls. Unlike where I live, where there is only one shopping centre, and there are not many clothes shops and boutiques. There are not many restaurants where John and I can have lunch or dinner date when we feel like it.

I don't like shopping for clothes at any clothing store in our town. Why? Because there will be a greater chance that I wear the same clothes or dresses like the other people from my town. It can be a little embarrassing if you go to a public place and you're wearing the same outfit as the other. So, either I buy online or I shop when I get the chance to do some clothes shopping when I'm in the city.

Well, if that's the only drawback of living in a small country town, then, I don't mind it at all. I love living in the rural area. I love the peace and quiet of my surroundings. I love that I can go to places without having to worry about or anticipate a traffic congestion.

I grew up in Manila, Philippines where there is always heavy traffic. Every day, I could waste about 2-4 hours doing nothing because I was stuck in traffic, and that depends on the distance I was travelling. It could be more than that. If my work starts at 7 A.M., I'd give myself 60-75 minutes for travel time. Going home and commuting would always be dreadful. I didn't need to anticipate traffic because there would always be a heavy traffic. I'd be tired from work and I wouldn't dare fall asleep on public transport because I'd have to be alert and mindful of my belongings that no one would "snatch" my purse or my phone.

I also hate air pollution. Who does anyway? Of course, in an urban place with congested traffic and the population of private and public transportation is almost the same as the human population, what do you expect? Ugh! I really don't miss the busyness of the city, and I am happy and content where I am right now.

But I don't mind travelling if it only happens occasionally. I am excited to see what other places have to offer. I want to experience what I have never experienced before. Eat different food that I've never eaten before (but I will still not dare eat exotic food). Visit the zoos and wildlife parks. Go to art museums (just for the sake of going). Watch a theatre or stage play, and concerts, too! It's good and fun to go to the city every now and then.

Talking about going to the city...


So I was in Adelaide from Sunday night until Tuesday morning. I attended the Professional Development Seminar/Workshop on Monday at the Marion campus of the school where I work. I'm blessed to have the privilege to work as a teacher in Australia and therefore when the school leadership requires something of us, we can also enjoy the perks and benefits such as free accommodation and reimbursement of the money for the plane ticket or petrol, that is, if we choose to drive.

On Sunday night, I slept soundly, I guess, I was too tired from the flight and the travel, so as soon as I lay down in bed, I fell asleep pretty much straight away. How could I not? The bed was comfortable. The room was cozy. The warmth in the room was just perfect.

house5.jpg


Monday, 23rd July


I couldn't snooze my alarm. I had to get ready as fast as I could so that the other two teachers and I could all leave the house just before it was 8 A.M. We didn't want to be in traffic as it would be rush hour in the morning, since school started that day, as well as, you know, people wanting to get to their workplace early on time.

The school provided for our morning tea and lunch so we didn't need to go anywhere else to have lunch. I was glad to meet the new Early Learning Centre (ELC) teachers and educators from other campuses and to see those that I have already met before. It was good to collaborate with them and I was able to absorb fresh ideas that would benefit the whole centre. We talked about the research project that we need to finish by the end of the year as part of our continuous learning and professional growth.

Our centre will focus on the "Effective Strategies in Managing Challenging Behaviour of Children under our Care." This should also be in line with our mission and vision statements and Christian philosophies and values. At this stage, I don't know how it will turn out, but if all the teachers and educators work together, we will be able to present this to the leadership and the parents effectively, as we intend to have a "parent info evening" event sometime in Term 4.

The P.D. finished at 4 P.M. Since I didn't have a car, I travelled with my Director everywhere. Besides, we both stayed in the same accommodation and we would travel back to our town together. She would also drop me off at my house the next day. After P.D., we went to Glenelg to attend the staff dinner at Esca Restaurant. But before the dinner, we still had plenty of time to do some shopping and some sightseeing.



gle04.jpg

After dinner, we all said our "goodbyes" and "see yous soon" and "safe travels" to each other. Some of the teachers would have to stay for another P.D. day, whilst my Director and I would have to go back to our respective homes the next day, back in our little country town.

This photo on the left is me and the other two teachers trying to get into our house that night. Each one of us tried the keys to open the front door whilst laughing so hysterically because none of the two keys would work. I literally sort of wet my pants from too much laughing. We joked and asked each other if we were drunk (ironically, none of us didn't even have a sip of wine). We decided we should try the back door in case one of the keys was for the sliding door. Finally, and thank God, we were able to get inside only to find out that the front door had a secret inside lock!!!!

What a memorable and a funny end to our P.D. day in Adelaide!


rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog initiative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in #Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

Ulog No.
Title
29
Sunday Bustle
28
Busy day but there's still room for Ampalaya
27
Coffin Bay Oysters and How to Make Oysters Kilpatrick
26
When will it be my turn?
25
Tired

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify1.jpg


All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @terminallyill, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Disregard if you have participated!

Hi family, note that the whole ecosystem for the Teardrops SMT will be built around "certified uloggers". It will reward "proof of tears" or "mining the human" and will be used also as a token of influence on 3 steem-based interfaces, steemgigs.org, ulogs.org and macrohard all of which are modeled to "mine the human" into its awesomest version and all of which will be built around "a growing list of certified uloggers". It is time to grow this list and gather now. Note that the teardrops smt will seek to reward "past deeds". It should be loved and succeed, bulls or bears because "human" is involved. Thus, we will build this token around "certified uloggers" as these ones are "true celebrities" who are also "true fans" of human and ofcourse of the "teardrops token", which is "an emblem of human".

It is time to gather now.

Kindly help me participate by going through this google form and filling it up, if you have done a post at any time, under any of these tags, #ulog #untalented #steemgigs #teardrops #surpassinggoogle.

https://goo.gl/forms/jR5sPPoqkwM8zzvl1

If you have never done a post under any of the tags mentioned earlier above, please read this form carefully and participate, by filling it up:

https://goo.gl/forms/G1GmCp83lcmM5xeZ2

Consider contributing a video ulogacy for uloggerstv

We will gradually be sending out a URL linking to exclusive chat-rooms for "certified uloggers". We will send this in an email.

Please share appropriate form to any friend or acquaintance, who has a steem account.


This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33