Ulog No. 33: "My Homemade Recipe for Baked Spuds with the Lot"

in #ulog6 years ago

In my previous post, I used baked spuds as one of the examples to explain some of my food analogies. Please check it out and also find out how you can win 3 SBI shares by clicking this link: https://steemit.com/@evlachsblog/ulog-no-32-some-of-my-food-analogies-and-a-chance-to-win-3-sbi-shares.

In that post, I also said I was going to write about my homemade recipe for baked spuds on my next post. So here it is!

First of all, what are spuds?"

"Spuds" is an informal term for potatoes. You might have also referred "spuds" to a narrow-bladed dagger which is used to cut roots or dig up weeds - perhaps, that's how the word "spuds" originated. People used spuds to dig up potatoes, then eventually they started calling potatoes "spuds".

"What do you mean by "the lot"?"

According to the Outback Dictionary, "the lot" means everything. So if you order, steak sandwich with the lot, it has everything in it: 5-minute sizzle steak with bacon, cheese, egg, tomatoes, onions, lettuce, pineapple, beetroot, tomato sauce.

So, my baked spuds with the lot are baked potatoes with cabbage, grated carrots, cheese, bacon, shredded cheese, beetroot, and sour cream. Other people prefer it with pineapple, too. You can add anything you want, but I think it's the sour cream that makes the difference.

My Homemade Recipe of Baked Spuds with the Lot


Ingredients
potatoes
salt and pepper
olive oil
carrots
green cabbage
beetroot
sour cream
grated cheddar cheese
bacon

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 180o Celsius.
  • Wash the potatoes and dry them with a paper towel. Do not peel them.
  • Prick each potato with a fork and rub with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.
  • Place the potatoes in the baking dish and cover with aluminum foil. (Ideally, potatoes need to be individually wrapped in alfoil or aluminum foil).
  • Bake for 1 hour or until the desired soft texture is achieved.

  • While the potatoes are being baked, prepare the other ingredients.
    ** Grate carrots.
    ** Dice or mash beetroot.
    ** Slice bacon into thin slices. Cook them in the frying pan until brown and crispy.
    ** Using a cheese grater, run the cabbage across the grater until shredded.
    ** Grate cheese.
  • Once the potatoes are baked, take them out of the oven and add an amount of sour cream to your liking.

  • Add a layer of shredded cabbage.
    ** Whatever the ingredient you want to add after the sour cream is up to you. Like I said, I improvise. This can change the next time I make baked spuds again.

  • Add diced or mashed beetroot.

  • Add grated carrots.

  • Add bacon.
    (I didn't get to cooking the bacon so I thought I'd just grill the baked spuds so I'd cook the bacon in the process.)
  • Preheat the grill at this stage.

  • Add sour cream.
    (I love sour cream so I added a generous amount on top of the bacon.)
  • Add grated cheese.
  • Put the dish in the griller, and cook for 5 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

This is the end product. That thing on top is not scrambled eggs. I realised I should have just put the grated cheese first before I added all the vegetables because it turned out that as the cheese melted, it solidified when I didn't take it out of the griller quick enough. I overcooked the cheese. So I'm a little disappointed with myself because of the cheese, but the baked spuds were still delicious.

Oh well, isn't cooking just like life? Even when we are faced with disappointments, life is still beautiful. We just have to take the good in every bad situation and savour life regardless of our circumstances. We need to accept that we don't achieve perfection overnight, or on our first few attempts. We will only learn from our mistakes, and we must humbly and graciously accept that we are not perfect. What matters is that through those failures, we are surrounded by our loved ones who will cheer us up and encourage us to keep trying and to never give up.

Just like these baked spuds, even though I thought it was a failure, it became a special and perfect dish because of the love that my husband and I shared as we enjoyed every savoury mouthful of it. (Now, that sounds too cheesy... again, just like my baked spuds!!!)

Thank you for reading and please leave any feedback in the comment section below. Thanks and bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog initiative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in #Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

Ulog No.
Title
32
"Some of my Food Analogies" and a chance to win 3 SBI Shares
31
My Maiden Last Name is now my Middle Name
30
"What was my day like in the city?" also, my Monday in Adelaide
29
Sunday Bustle

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @mahdiyari, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @cloh76.witness, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
itestify1.jpg

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

Hmmmm.. they seem to be delicious! Plus it has tons of nutrients because there are a lot of vegies in there.

Thanks for sharing your recipe!

You're welcome. Thank you, too! Yes, lots of veggies but I think the sour cream makes it less healthy, as well as the potatoes which are rich in carbohydrates. But when eaten in moderation, it should be fine. :-)

And yes, they were delicious!!!

Oh yes always in moderation. Too much is bad for you.. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I checked your profile and your description you gave to yourself is "frustrated baker." It's cute. :-) It reminds me of myself, every time I try to bake pandesal, I always end up frustrated because I can't get it to turn up the way the pandesals should taste or "feel" like.

Hahahaha oh my i found my baker sister!! I love baking so much even if how many epic fails i have had.. whats important is they still taste good.. hahaha one time I gave brownies a shot, and guess what they become cookies 🤣😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 21 SBD worth and should receive 149 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I never heard that term, "the lot," even though I lived in Australia for a few months. Guess I never ordered something with "the works," at which time I'm sure someone would have told me the Aussie way of saying it. :-)

Oh, there are some shops that serve anything with both "the lot" and "the works". I remember on our road trip to Sydney and back, we stopped over at a service station in Balranald, NSW. There are three options to choose from. One is just the regular, the second is "the lot" and the third one is "the works". So I ordered a steak sandwich with the works because I had never ordered anything "with the works" before. Well, the sandwich was really massive, that I couldn't even lift the sandwich up with my two hands. I had to use a knife and fork, and there's no way I could have all the ingredients in one bite. The sandwich was 5 inches tall.

lol Yeah, sometimes sandwiches are just TOO big. So "the works" has more stuff than "the lot"?

Yes, more than the number of ingredients in "the lot". "The works" is really THE WORKS!!! I wish I had taken a photo of it before I ate it. But I was starving and the sandwich looked really inviting!!! A long skewer was needed to hold all the ingredients together.

I really appreciate your engagement with and support of Banana Memos, @evlachsblog. And all the times you've resteemed the posts.
I've sponsored you for a share in steembasicincome. They say it can take up to 7 days to process, so look for it to be added to your account sometime next week.
Thank you! 🍌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29