Solo travel adventures - LISBON - Day 1

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Do you remember when I told you about my upcoming solo travel adventures? So today I have started the first one!

I came to Lisbon in the afternoon and I was already excited about the city in the plane as we had stunning views during landing.

Hotel where I'm staying is situated in the city center and most of the main attractions are within walking distance.

Let me tell you.. I have never walked so many stairs up and down the hills as today. Lisbon is built on seven hills and you will feel it in your legs if you decide to walk instead of using public transportation.

Of course I have prepared my travel itinerary in great detail but I decided to walk around and get to know the city without the map before visiting The Castelo de S. Jorge.

Well, the truth is that I did have a map but I forgot it in a cafe where I went for late lunch right after I left the hotel and I didn't want to waste time by getting back so I improvised 😊

Let's start the adventure!

DSC_0146.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/14 18 mm

It was a very long walk today and I've done almost 21,000 steps.

During these hours of walking I have seen different styles of architecture. What really caught my attention are beautiful azulejos on most of the buldings.

In Portugal the use of azulejos to cover walls and floors as a means of rendering spaces more aesthetically pleasing look dates back to the end of the 15th century. In the second half of the 16th century this trend became widespread with the commencement of local manufacturing and thus became a finishing option that now has over five centuries of tradition.

DSC_0115.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

You can see many different types of azulejos, with various colors and themes.

DSC_0055.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/13 18 mm

There are many big squares in the city center. On my way to the castle I have visited Rossio square lined with purple blooming trees. The official name is Pedro IV Square but locals are using Rossio (meaning 'large public square') instead.

Do you like classical music? Then don't miss to visit the neoclassical National Theater Dona Maria II situated in Rossio. It was built between 1842 and 1846, with a pediment crowned by a statue of playwright Gil Vicente, known as "Portugal's Shakespeare."

The theater replaced the old Estaus Palace, headquarters of the Portuguese Inquisition since mid-fifteenth century.

DSC_0095.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/14 23 mm

The Rossio square is dominated by majestic Column of Pedro IV known as “the Soldier King”. At the base of the column, there are the four female allegorical figures of Justice, Wisdom, Strength, and Moderation, qualities attributed to Pedro IV.

DSC_0093.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/14 18 mm

When I travel I like to visit various churches and cathedrals as you can learn a great deal of history inside of them.

The Church of São Domingos, originally built in the 13th century, is a mix of architectural styles and periods, thanks in part to extensive rebuilding after two natural disasters: an earthquake in 1755 and a fire in 1959.

This is the most beautiful church that I have ever visited. The inside of the church is completely different to what you would expect to see when you are in front of the church. Its interior is rife with gouged pillars, decrepit walls, and battered sculptures, all of which look even more ethereal when lit by a sea of candles.

DSC_0101.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/16 18 mm

From the Church of São Domingos I went directly to the castle.

There are many charming cafes and restaurants in the neighborhood on the way up. The streets are very steep with sharp turns that follow the natural lie of the land and provide shelter against the strong, cold winds that often hits the city.

DSC_0123.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 20 mm

After what seemed like a never ending way up I have reached my destination - The Castelo de S. Jorge. The ticket is EUR 8.50 per person. The price is reasonable for what you will get to see.

You can admire the entire city and Tagus, the longest river in the Iberian Peninsula.

Did you know that Lisbon was hit by a big earthquake in 1755, also known as the "Great Lisbon Earthquake" or "Disaster at Lisbon"?

When the earthquake arrived, most of Lisbon's population were praying in six magnificent cathedrals, including the great Basilica de Sao Vincente de Fora. Within minutes, this great thriving city-port of Lisbon, capital of Portugal and of the vast Portuguese empire and seat of learning in Europe, was reduced to rubble.

Immediately after the earthquake, many townspeople fled to the waterfront, believing the area safe from fires and from falling debris from aftershocks. Some of them looked for safety on the sea by boarding ships moored on the Tagus River.

But about 40 minutes after the quake, an enormous tsunami wave engulfed the harbour and downtown, rushing up the Tagus river, "so fast that several people riding on horseback were forced to gallop as fast as possible to the upper grounds for fear of being carried away". The area between Junqueria and Alcantara in the western part of the city was the most heavily damaged by the wave, but further destruction occurred upstream.

Then the first tsunami wave was followed by two more waves which hit the shore, each dragging people and debris out to sea and leaving exposed large stretches of the river bottom. Boats overcrowded with refugees capsized and sank. The maximum height of the waves was estimated at 6 meters.

The 1755 Lisbon earthquake was one of the most destructive and deadly earthquakes in history, killing more than a third of the entire population of the Portuguese capital. Tens of thousands of Portuguese who survived the earthquake were killed by the tsunami triggered by the earthquake.

Read more here

The city is restored now and you can relax on a bench with a glass of wine and enjoy the beauty around you.

DSC_0151.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/14 18 mm

The wind was very strong and the weather was constantly changing. One moment it was very cold so that you had to put your jacket on while in a couple minutes you wished to sit on a beach in your swimming suit.

DSC_0157.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/13 18 mm

Due to its exceptional location, Castelo de S. Jore stands out among Lisbon's viewpoints for its unique and majestic sights.

DSC_0171.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

DSC_0169.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/11 18 mm

This collection of buildings provide the most significant evidence of the former medieval royal residence. It is now housing the Permanent Exhibition, cafe and Casa do Leao Restaurant.

DSC_0155.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

The castle is located on top of the hill in the place most difficult to access, making use of the natural slopes to the north and west. Although it was repeatedly rebuilt over the centuries, it retains its square plan with two courtyards separated by a curtain wall as well as eleven towers.

The purpose of the castle was to house military troops and, in the case of a siege, the elite who lived in the citadel.

DSC_0161.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

You can walk around the castle but make sure to have good shoes as the stairs are very steep and stones are slippery. I guess you don't want to fall off the walls 😊

DSC_0172.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

DSC_0176.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

DSC_0178.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

DSC_0186.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/13 18 mm

I have forgotten my umbrella in the room as the weather looked good in the afternoon and I didn't know that it could change so fast in Lisbon. By the time I got back to the hotel it rained a few times and once it caught me unprepared in the middle of a street with no shelter so I got wet as well today 😊

Now I'm back in the room sipping my tea and hoping that I won't get sick.

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed my first day in Lisbon.

If you like my article feel free to upvote/resteem it or follow me.

All pictures are taken by Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II.

Cheers,

M.

Sort:  

Wow! What great photos! Thank you for sharing and for the history lesson. I had no idea about the earthquake and tsunami. The architecture really is beautiful there too ;) Portugal has always been on my list of places to visit, but now Lisbon has moved up a few places :)

I found your post because @headchange featured you in our Pay it Forward Curation Contest and I'm so glad he did. I'm one of the judges so I get to see all kinds of awesome posts that I probably would have missed out on.

So I have to ask, why are you doing the solo travelling?

Thank you so much for your kind words! You should definitely go there! It is worth the visit 😊

I'm so glad @headchange featured me! Sooo kind of him!

Well, long story short- I've been laid off and I'm on a garden leave till July. My husband can't take so many days off so I travel alone. I'm not gonna waste 1 day of this garden leave 😉

Good for you @delishtreats !!! That's the way to live 😅

Sounds like you are getting a good work out. I think was worth it you got some amazing shots. I wonder how many have fallen off that. castle wall.
Hope you have dried out some and didn't catch cold.

Thank you for your kind words! I hope nobody has fallen off the wall :)

The first day it was raining just a little in comparison to today. It was pouring all day. I am completely exhausted but I had warm clothes and good shoes so I hope I won't get sick.

I will post my Day 2 and Day 3 soon. There is a delay as when I finally get to the hotel, I go straight to bed. It's an amazing city but walking and the bad weather cost me a lot of energy :)

I wish you a good day/afternoon/evening/night wherever your are :)

You rest and take care of not catching a chill. I am thrilled that you are out there collecting so much great material to share with everyone.
I will keep an eye out for day 2 and 3
Wishing you safe travels on the journey home.

You didn't tell me that you featured my article for the contest! Thank you so much! I'm really happy that you liked it! And yes, my feed is not all about the food :)

Day 2 is posted so you can have a look! I hope you will like it too! :)

BTW: You made my too! I really didn't expect such feature!

i thought you may enjoy a little surprise. Honestly I seldom see such beautiful food. I sometimes try to spruce it up a bit when entertaining. I only wish I could achieve such results.
The #payitforward project has become so much more than just a contest. It is a great way to meet new people and have some fun along the way.
Come join the fun anytime, a new round starts each week.
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@thedarkhorse/week-10-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

I absolutely did! What a great idea you had! I am really happy that you like my food :) Cooking is a big hobby of mine and I really enjoy it. I can relax perfectly while cooking for hours :)

I will definitely join #payitforward. It sounds like a great project and I would love to support other steemians!

Just wanted to let you know that @headchange featured you in their entry post for the Pay It Forward Curation Contest

Glad they did you took some amazing photos!

Thank you for letting me know :) I didn't know that and I'm so happy now :)

I'm glad that you liked my photos!

I have to sound spammy if I am to say great post but it is a great post indeed. This reminds me of @julimattos, a steemian from Portugal. Your travel posts also reminds me @watersnake101 who loves churches. What's also great is that you are being noticed and being nominated for the Pay it Forward contest. Well deserved!

It's amazing how the city rebuild itself and who would have thought that it was destroyed by earthquake and tsunami?

Those azulejos are great idea. It does make the buildings interesting. I believe those purple trees are jacarandas. We have them here in our city. I can't recall the history behind how they came about.

The steps on the way to the castle are lined with walls of modern and new. That is a nice contrast.

It's unbelievable that they were able to maintain the walls of the castle. That looks likes formidable and can last for very long time.

Funny about the change in weather there. It is the same with us here. We have a joke that the weather here in our city changes from one place to the other. Stay dry :D

You don't sound spammy but very kind and nice :) Thank you for introducing me to these two steemians! I will check out their profiles.

I was really surprised to get nominated again. I just do what I love and I get rewarded for it! What a life I have! :)

I have already heard about tsunami in Portugal but I didn't know that it was so destructive. Almost all historical buildings were affected and the city had to be rebuilt again. At that time it was very difficult for people to understand what happened as they didn't have any experience with it and they were trying to understand it from the religious perspective.

Finally I know the name of the trees! Purple is my favorite color and I tried to goggle the trees but well, it's difficult if you have no idea about the name.

Oh, the weather was getting worse everyday. Yesterday it didn't stop pouring. I don't mind rain that much but the wind is very strong. You don't even need the umbrella as you'll get completely wet because of the wind anyway :)

Thank you for your kind words! You are a great supporter and I appreciate it a lot!

No surprises there as your works speak for themselves. I wouldn't be surprised if you will be nominated again :D

During the tsunami and at that time, it would have felt the end of the world.

I love Jacarandas because of their purple color. They look great amidst the greens.

I hope where you checked in is a good place to stay at least to get cozy and warm.

You are as nice as ever my friend! Well, the hotel was ok but not the best :) I booked it because of its location. It was perfect!

I will be sharing the 3rd day in Lisbon today so you can have a look and let me know if you like it. Your opinion is very important to me!

First thing first! Your photos are absolutely beautiful, I thought I will find some food pictures, but Thanks God, it is more than I expected. Did you counted how many steps you took to reach the church 😁 just kidding. I like your post /story, thanks to @headchange because he's featuring you in the Pay It Forward Curation Contest this week. Take care yourself, will be waiting for your next posts🤗, Obrigado! (is it the way the Portuguese says Thank you?)

Thank you so much for your kind comment! Well, my feed is not only about the food! Hahaha :)

Oh, I had issues with keeping my breath. Counting was the last on my agenda to be honest :D

I've just learned that he featured me. So kind of him!

Obrigado is the only word that I have learned too! :)

The post about Day 2 is online so I hope you will like it.

Thank you again and I wish you a great day!

Now I can see that, perhaps there's another mobile application to count on the steps 😂😂😂, I'm not that serious too.
I'm following and I will watch your back through comments 😋. Don't forget to write about tourist awareness too, you know I read some posts about the other side of the tourism industry, sharing backpack hostel with strangers or something like that, hope that you won't experience anything bad. Enjoy your exploration 🤗

What an amazing display of a beautiful place in this world. I have many Portuguese friends and they speak highly of Lisbon. I never actually saw many photos of it. Very interesting facts as well. The world has so many places to explore. Thank you for sharing this. I wish you a wonderful time and I look forward to more posts about your travels!!!

Thank you for your kind words Carolyn! Lisbon is an amazing city but the weather really sucks. I have talked to my husband and he told me they have like 30 degrees in Switzerland while here we have only 16 and lots of rain and wind.

But well, I am persistent and I have decided to enjoy the city anyway and so I did :)

I will be sharing Day 2 and 3 soon. I'm just too tired when I get back to the hotel. But I promise to post them soon!

So many beautiful photos in one post!! Enjoy Lisbon – I’ll be heading there in 6 weeks from now. :D

Thank you Oleg!! I hope you'll have good weather! I'm here 3rd day already and it was raining all day today. Yesterday it was a bit better.

But all this rain and wind are soooo exhausting!

I'm going home tomorrow and I must say I'm looking forward to nice weather in Switzerland :)

I really enjoyed reading your post Sweetie..............your photography is outstanding. You captured the beauty and history of this beautiful city so well.

Thank you my dear Lena! Your opinion is very important to me!

Always a pleasure Sweetie 💖😊💖

Wow, this is really a beautiful post, with lots of pretty pictures and we can see the history of the city too! Thanks for sharing @delishtreats!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-06T21:04:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.50/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I came to your post becaused @headchange featured you in the Pay it forward contest

The pictures are great along with the explanations
I had no idea about the earthquake and tsunami . Thanks for the link I read it also .

Thank you for stopping by and reading. Lisbon is definitely worth the visit!

I am happy that you learned something new :)

I wish you a great day!

@delishtreats Thank you for your post I truly enjoyed it and was compeled to look at the links you provided . Well done
Happy travels 😎

Thank you! You can check out my Day 2 and Day 3 that I have posted already. Tomorrow I'm leaving to Barcelona so there will be new adventures to come :)

I hope you will like the posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87