SULAWESI: BIRA...!, by @marc-allaria (translated from French)

in #travel6 years ago

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by @marc-allaria: SULAWESIE -STOP#7- BIRA...!

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person who speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but Marc Allaria (@marc-allaria), a French guy.


BIRA



Reef shark

* * * * *

So I leave Makassar the holds full of food and the head full of certainties confirming me that the life of the cities is decidedly very incomprehensible. It's been two years since I left New Zealand, I am starting to accumulate some experience in the use of my sailboat and in my lonely life. I feel good in this space of 11.80 meters shaped like a corridor. It's my home. At the same time comforting and vulnerable. I also started writing my third book. This one would relate the story of this trip. This time I would sell neither Mayotte, nor Vanuatu, but my life ... I find that a little pretentious, who would it interest ...? We will see later, for now I enjoy writing and this completes the rhythm of my days.

* * * * *

Yellow moray
I head straight for Bira, another destination chosen for these announced dives and shelters available for Aurora. A calm navigation, a relaxing scenery, I think I will find there a stop for a few days made of diving and rest. And that's the case! Bira is the destination of proximity for city dwellers of Makassar wishing to isolate themselves for the weekend. The village is quite modern compared to the rest of the west side of Sulawesi. Life seems easy and calm to me. A few small restaurants, clean concrete streets, it has been a long time since I had landed in this kind of village.

Crinoid
The dive in front of the village does not look much, but after I look at it I find many reasons to take out my camera and spend some pleasant moments. The underwater life is varied on this rather flat playground. I spend several hours lingering around moray eels, nudibranchs and other organisms that are perfect macro subjects. Nothing exceptional, but all nice.



Bira, it is also the main shipyard of Indonesia manufacturing beautiful wooden boats that travel all over the country for diving charters. Huge units are produced here combining the know-how of yesteryear and adding some touches of comfort that modern tourism imposes. They were once used for the transportation of goods throughout the country and have now taken the niche of tourism as many types of boats in the world. I decided to go there on foot, hoping to meet the craftsmen of the site and can exchange a little. It is easy to be accepted by the inhabitants in this zone of the world, and that since Melanesia. As soon as I arrive at the port, the craftsmen spot my interest in these incredible boats and invite me to come aboard.

* * * * *

Inside is the kingdom of wood. Everything is massive, heavy, solid, all built with tools that seem rudimentary. The "Pinisis" weigh several tens of tons and measure up to 40m sometimes a little more. Chainsaws start the job site to adjust the ship's ribs. Then the wood chisels take over and complete the work. Inside, the scent of sawdust is inevitable. Everything seems noble and indestructible. The result is incredible. I am stunned to see what man manages to make from tree trunks. These guys are geniuses. Decidedly, a world separates us.






Next: Selayar!

* * * * *



01: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: Funny situations ...! at sea..., by @marc-allaria
02: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: The fishing file ...!, by @marc-allaria
03: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: The Cagayan Islands, by @marc-allaria
04: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: Seaweed...!, by @marc-allaria
05: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: The Bacuit Archipelago, by @marc-allaria
06: BORNEO: Kudat and the technical stop, by @marc-allaria
07: BORNEO: Kinabatangan River, by @marc-allaria
08: BORNEO: Maratua, part 1, by @marc-allaria
09: BORNEO: Big Fish School, by @marc-allaria
10: BORNEO: Diving in Maratua ...!, by @marc-allaria
11: BORNEO: The jellyfish lake ...!, by @marc-allaria
12: SULAWESI: Sewia...!, by @marc-allaria
13: SULAWESI: Story of a dive at Pasoso Island...!, by @marc-allaria
14: SULAWESI: Tanjun Kai...!, by @marc-allaria
15: SULAWESI: Kopoposang...!, by @marc-allaria
16: SULAWESI: PA-RA-SI-TE...!, by @marc-allaria

Sort:  

You are great person who tell that this is not your post, but other post.

This post is also informative for creature lovers.

thanks for this post, I learned a lot :)

Thankyou for visiting in indonesian.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13