SULAWESI: Story of a dive at Pasoso Island...!, by @marc-allaria (translated from French)

in #travel6 years ago

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by @marc-allaria: Sulawesia - Stop#7 - Récit d'une plongée à Pasoso Island...!

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person who speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but Marc Allaria (@marc-allaria), a French guy.


Diving... Pasoso islands...



Giant Gorgon

* * * * *

The visit of the village of Sewia allowed me to fill up with fruits and vegetables and discover the surroundings on foot. The countries are changing, the life of the villages and their reception remain the same. I was also able to confirm that the Pasoso Islands deserve one or two dives and that I am welcome to go there.

* * * * *

Group of heniochus fish
An hour and a half at a gentle speed are necessary for me to reach the two islets. As usual, I anchors Aurora safely and I finish my approach in its annex for diving. I discover that that the islets are traversed by a rather strong current. It complicates a bit for the the anchoring of my dinghy, but this is a clear indication that I will find a perfectly clear water. For those who take the thread of my stories now, I dive alone. This would shudder many institutions, but apart from one or two situations that a pair could get me out of trouble, I must admit that diving alone allows me to bring 100% of my attention to my own security. No one to watch, nobody to assist, all the skills I have are only for me. I do not share! And then ... sorry but there are no other words ... damn it, that is good! The only concern that haunts me remains the same question for all these years and does not happen under water, but on the surface: will my annex still be there, when I get out of the water ...? Bad grip, thieves, wind, etc ... I must admit that I think about it for 100% of my dives.

Eliselle
So I take a great care to anchor the annex, ensuring anchor attachment and then only enjoy the beautiful ride that awaits me. Clear water by great current, it is indeed the case. Pure water over 40 metres horizontally and the bottom perfectly visible from the surface. Wow! Underwater, no big falling, but a 30m bottom perfectly cut between boulders, giant sea fans, and turquoise colored sand area.

Being alone and a photographer, I never move much under water, a few tens of meters at most and I take advantage of each subject with which I spend several minutes. When we move slowly like this, we have time to observe our friends the fish. What are they doing with a strong current like today? Here they are all behind giant sea fans or blocks of rock. It works! Here I am safe from the current, swimming with gorgonians, admiring the eliselle, taking the time to take pictures of the shelter and enjoy this superb water. A school of heniochus fish kept me company and did not let me go. Curiosity exists in fish.



Crinoid hanging on a gorgon

* * * * *

An hour of pure happiness, photography, and company, all alone! My annex did not move, I almost did not think about it, but ... Phew ...!

* * * * *



01: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: Funny situations ...! at sea..., by @marc-allaria
02: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: The fishing file ...!, by @marc-allaria
03: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: The Cagayan Islands, by @marc-allaria
04: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: Seaweed...!, by @marc-allaria
05: DISCOVER THE PHILIPPINES: The Bacuit Archipelago, by @marc-allaria
06: BORNEO: Kudat and the technical stop, by @marc-allaria
07: BORNEO: Kinabatangan River, by @marc-allaria
08: BORNEO: Maratua, part 1, by @marc-allaria
09: BORNEO: Big Fish School, by @marc-allaria
10: BORNEO: Diving in Maratua ...!, by @marc-allaria
11: BORNEO: The jellyfish lake ...!, by @marc-allaria
12: SULAWESI: Sewia...!, by @marc-allaria

Sort:  

I hope to get to dive somewhere where the coral still alive before all is gone… I'm afraid that's gonna be extinct in the next 1 or 2 years and in the 100 scuba dives and more than 500 free dives I've done I've almost only seen dead coral... :/
Great post by the way!
Gonna follow you! :)

Wow... This is so cute... I need you to share d happiness with me as well @vcelier

Beautiful shoots Diving is great!

Thank you , you can find more on my blog.

Thanks for the translation, at least now I can read easily and carefully, thanks again for your thoughtful post @vcelier.

Wow great shot just like a treamndous .Thanks for sharing.and try something new.

Cool... I like this underwater photos :))

Thank you. If you like underwater photo, I have more on my blog. Thank you for your comment.

you are welcome :)

Whoa! These underwater plants look so damn rare and rich. They are pretty beautiful and abit deadly. Great photography who soever has done it. Simple but extraordinary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86