Panama Series: Panama City's Skyline at night

in #travel6 years ago

First time I landed in Panama, years ago, it was during the day. Back then I did not get to see the stunning views of the city at night. That year I was on my way to Ecuador and I had a stop over in Panama City. I spent only a few hours there, as I was only in transit. I can't explain how surprised I was to see that Panama City was not quite a third world country capital, as I was thinking.

DSC_0653.JPG

Until that moment, Panama was not on my travelling bucket list, thus I did not know much about it, apart the fact it was connecting Central America to South America and the Canal was linking the two oceans.

DSC_0644.JPG

Before landing, when I saw the city's skyline, for a few seconds I was under the impression I was about to land in Miami, Toronto or any other cosmopolitan city.

DSC_0646.JPG

Like any first time visitor to Panama City, I was struck by the amazing views of the city. Seeing what a wonderful city Panama was, I decided to return and spend some time exploring the country. I still remember that my jaws dropped at the sight of the skyline on my way to the city from the airport on my second trip there.

DSC_0631.JPG

The Banking Area with all its skyscrapers was gorgeous. These photos were taken from a hotel's rooftop in El Cangrejo, a downtown neighbourhood.

The city consists of an unusual mix of safe and less safe neighbourhoods, meaning that only couple of blocks separate you from the poor neighbourhoods.

DSC_0643.JPG

Most of the people complain about the heat and humidity. I did not find it as hot as Dubai or Thailand, but humidity was definitely an issue. The weather was and still is unpredictable in the rainy season, as it can go from pouring cats and dogs to sunny. I called it super bipolar weather.

DSC_0649.JPG

Another thing that surprised me in Panama was that its population was a heterogeneous mix of people: blacks, mestizos, whites, indians, chinese. To latter I would add the retired baby boomers from North America.

DSC_0648.JPG

The Asian community is one of the largest in Panama. From what I have seen most of the convenience stores, supermarkets and smaller hotels are owned by Chinese. Probably the second or third of generation of Chinese in Panama.

DSC_0645.JPG

Panama City's traffic is no different than other metropolis. At peak hours you can expect traffic jams and lots of delays. Though no one seemed to be bothered by being late. Being on "Panamanian time" is the equivalent of "manana"attitude, meaning that nothing is really pressing.


Here are other travel related posts:

OTTAWA DAY TRIP

PANAMA SERIES: THE GRINGO PRICE

PANAMA SERIES: STREET ART

PANAMA SERIES: TEN FACTS OR MORE ABOUT BOQUETE, PANAMA

PANAMA SERIES: BOQUETE’S FLOWERS AND COFFEE FESTIVAL

PANAMA SERIES: VISITING DAMARLI ESTATE IN BOQUETE

PANAMA SERIES: CARIBBEAN PARADISE - BOCAS DEL TORO

ECUADOR SERIES: OTAVALO, THE ARTISAN MARKET MECCA

ECUADOR SERIES: COTACACHI, THE CITY BETWEN TWO VOLCANOS

ECUADOR SERIES - DUE DILIGENCE TRIP

ECUADOR SERIES: TIPS FOR TRAVELLING TO ECUADOR

HIKING IN MONT-ROYAL PARK, MONTREAL

ZUMMER FUN BUS RIDE IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

F-MR STATION IN MONTREAL

THE STONEHENGE OF ROMANIA: SARMIZEGETUSA REGIA

LAURENTIANS MOUNTAINS: COTTAGE TRIP AT LAKE CACHÉE

OTTAWA LIGHTS SHOW ON PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

HIKING AT DANUBE’S GORGES, ORSOVA, ROMANIA

DECEBALUS CARVED STATUE, ROMANIA

TRIP TO CALGARY, ALBERTA

BALCHIK, A BULGARIAN GEM

PIRATES TREASURE PLAYGROUND, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 2, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 1, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

GONDOLA RIDE IN MAMAIA RESORT, ROMANIA

CONSTANTA’S MARINA, ROMANIA

BEACH DAY IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

BUBBLES - INDOOR PLAYGROUND IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

BAHIA DE PAQUERA, NICOYA GULF, COSTA RICA

EXPLORING AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS

MACKINAC BRIDGE, MICHIGAN, USA

CHASED BY TORNADOS IN MINNESOTA

MINNEHAHA FALLS REGIONAL PARK, A GEM IN BETWEEN THE TWIN CITIES

BANFF, A RESORT TOWN INSIDE THE BANFF NATIONAL PARK, ALBERTA, CANADA

OLD PORT OF CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

ENISALA FORTRESS, ROMANIA

MORAINE LAKE, A SURREAL BEAUTY IN ALBERTA, CANADA

TIPS ON HOW TO MAKE A LIVING WHILE TRAVELLING THE WORLD

FEELING UNINSPIRED? VISIT A WELSH RETREAT: GLADSTONE’S RESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

TURDA’S 400 FEET UNDERGROUND AMUSEMENT PARK, A HIDDEN GEM OF TRANSYLVANIA, ROMANIA

MEMORIES FROM CANCUN, MEXICO

TOURING MONTREAL CITY, CANADA

VISIT TO SAINT-JOSEPH’S ORATORY IN MONTREAL, CANADA

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

It looks like a beautiful city. I'm really not much of a fan of cities, but I have good reports from the country. I know there is a huge expat community from North America, I know Americans and Canadians that are there.

I have several friends that have ridden motorcycles to the Darien Gap at the very south of Panama. They loved Panama.

I also have a friend that was part of the military operation that took down Noriega. He has a really funny story about creeping up on a place in the sticks before the operation officially started. He took cover in a shallow ditch that moved when the python in the bottom of it took exception to him laying on it.

Thanks for a really great look at a place I've never been.

OMG! That is a quite a story! It sounds like a Rambo movie scenario. I am glad he lived to tell the story ;0)
Since it's listed as one of the top 3 destinations to retire, the number of North Americans has tremendously grown. A big part of them prefer to settle in the highlands of Chiriqui, where the temperatures are a bit lower than the capital.

Great pics! It definitely has a feel all to its own in Panama City. It is kind of sad that the beaches are so worthless there though! I know they don't invest in tourism much (thanks to the canal revenue), but a few nice beaches would be good. The malls there are so huge and nice! Multiplaza was nicer than most of the malls I would go to in the Dallas area back in Texas. Traffic though is pretty crazy most of the time...pretty much everywhere.

What lovely views of the city you have captured! There is something almost magical about urban landscapes at night! Great shots! And what an amesome list of places you have visited! That is truly amazing!

It was so cool to have you join us in PYPT awhile ago in the SteemitRamble! If you want any help getting your Discord set-up for Push-to-Talk, feel free to DM me sometime and I can talk you through it! 😊

PYPT-GOLD-ThanksForSharing.png

Thanks for taking the time to read the post and go through my list, as well as for your offer to help. I will do dm you one of these days! Have a great week-end!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lymepoet
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=panama-series-panama-city-s-skyline-at-night


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Congratulations @lymepoet!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To be honest we didn't like Panama City and Panamá at all. We have been there for a month and only good memories we have from village and mountainous part of the country. Panama City is lake every huge town, overcrowded and contaminated with overrated prices. Anyway, your pics looks amazing and if somebody like urban travelling will be delighted.

Thank you! I did spend some time in this country and I agree with you that Panama City is overpriced and crowded. Valle de Anton and Boquete are even more expensive in terms of accommodation or services. Though Panama does have its unique charm. ;0)

great night shots and I really knew veyr little about Panama thanks for sharing

Thank you! I always struggled with the night shots. I was thrilled to see I finally got some good ones ;0)

you did awesome I to struggle with night shots

Dear @lymepoet,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

No problem ;)

Interesting post and photos! You did a great job, considering they were all taken at night.

I learnt a new phrase: bipolar weather. lol

I don't own the copyrights for the bipolar weather. It's one of my Aussie friends who came up with it. ;0)

What a beautiful travel report, @lymepoet! Excellent writing and superb photos.

Panama City looks great but since I'm so far away, I don't know if I will ever get to visit it. There are still a lot of other countries much closer to me that I want to see. 😃

Thanks for sharing!

There are plenty of countries in Europe that I haven't seen yet, so I get you. Honestly, the experience is what counts the most, not the destination. Have a wonderful evening!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63