Visit the Boquete Coffee and Flower Festival in the highlands of Panama

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Boquete, “The flower capital of Panama” is a charming little town tucked up in the green highlands of Chiriqui, Panama. Each January, the streets of this mountain town are flooded with thousands of tourists, Panamanians and foreigners from all over the world.

Most of the visitors take this trip to the valley of the eternal spring each year in order to attend the Boquete Coffee and Flower Fair ("Feria de las flores y del cafe"), which is held between 11th and 21st of January.

Beside the beautiful 37 gardens, the festival includes as well an Orchid exhibition and it hosts on the over 200 stalls of local coffee producers, indigenous artisans.

If you love good quality coffee and flowers, this is the place to be! The volcanic ash enriching the soil does wonders for the coffee plants. No wonder that the Geisha is a coffee with a pedigree!

Finca Lerida, Finca LaValentina, Don Pachi Estate, Hacienda La Esmeralda, Kotowa Estates, Cafe Ruiz, and Darmali Estate are only a few from the local producers offering an exquisite coffee.

The photos below were taken during the last festival that I attended. Some of them I took them with my phone, others with my camera.

Here is a short video aerial presentation of the Fair grounds that I found on Youtube.


All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone or my camera. Please credit @lymepoet if you want to use them on your blogs.



#teamgirlpowa #thealliance #teamcanada #steemsugars



Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Feel free to resteemit or upvote it!
Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!


@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

wow beautiful

Really cool pictures! We didn't go this year because we heard that there are a ton of tourists and we didn't want to deal with that craziness. :)

So festive! Those are gorgeous flowers. I can only imagine the coffee one could get there! Volcanic ash does do wonders for soil. I love lush areas like that. Thanks for the beautiful photos! :)

thats a cool event if I ever visit Panama would love to time it so I could visit this event

Wow, really great snaps of a beautiful place. Loving some of your poetry too! Followed your blog and can’t wait to see more. :)

Nice! We are visiting Panama in a couple of weeks! Very excited!

Have a great time and safe travels!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34