Panama series: The gringo price in Panama

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0719.JPG
View from the hotel's rooftop bar

Although Uber has been around for some time, I used for the first time only three days ago and I was pleasantly surprised. Having the app installed on my phone, I thought of giving it a try in Panama as well. Unfortunately my phone did not connect to the WiFi. Thus I had to take a regular taxi from the Tocumen airport to the hotel.
DSC_0724.JPG
View over downtown in Panama City

When your face and accent give away your nationality, then you get the gringo price, which means that everyone assumes that you must be rich and they must take advantage of it by charging you a double, triple or higher amount. On one side, I understand that everyone has to make a living and I don't blame them for trying, though it does not mean I will pay their price.

DSC_0725.JPG
View over downtown in Panama City

The first gringo price I got for a taxi ride that should cost around $15 was $50. The second told me $40. The third one mentioned something around $30. I walked away because I knew I had to bargain in order to get a decent price. A few minutes later I agreed to $20 and headed towards downtown at El Cangrejo.

DSC_0726.JPG

After a six hour long flight, a failed attempt of calling an Uber taxi at the airport and half an hour spent on looking for a taxi ride, we finally made it to our hotel. Since I was supposed to meet up with some friends later on for dinner, I had to take my kid to the pool only for a few minutes. As soon as we reached the top floor it started to rain. We had to change our plans and simply enjoy the view instead of the pool.

DSC_0722.JPG
The hotel's rooftop pool

The view from the roof top was rewarding. I bet that in the night it looked even better! The city's skyline is fantastic at night, as if the city comes to life. We wanted to go up and take a few more photos but we forgot.

DSC_0770.JPG
Albrook bus terminal

The following morning we checked out after breakfast and went outside to wait for our Uber taxi driver. While we were waiting, two taxi drivers showed up out of nowhere and tried to lure us to go with them. They were wearing an uniform and spoke English. Seeing us with the backpacks they knew right away that we were going either to the airport or the Albrook bus terminal. They were both very polite and courteous. They offered me their best price because I was speaking Spanish: $30.

DSC_0753.JPG
Buses in the Albrook terminal

I thanked them politely and told them that I had already ordered an Uber cab. The moment they heard the word Uber, they walked away. Not before telling us that Uber drivers were not serious nor licensed like they were.

DSC_0774.JPG
Aviation school in Panama City

On the way to the Albrook bus terminal I asked the Uber driver how was Uber seen in Panama. His answered was: Customers love it, taxi drivers hate it. He revealed that he switched to Uber and got a lot more clients than before. He added that the taxis at the airport were ripping off the gringos and that most of the locals go take a taxi at the departures floor and not at arrivals.

You want to know how much that taxi ride costed me? Only $5,60 USD, thanks to Uber!

DSC_0775.JPG
View over the Aviation School yard and the Port

The gringo price applies to everything, not only taxi rides. That's because the foreigners (gringos who do not speak Spanish) pay it for food, products, services, vehicles, real estate and so on. I know a lot of stories where gringo were charged a ridiculous amount for something that was worth way less.

DSC_0778.JPG
View of the runaway at the Aviation School

The unusual part is when gringos who established themselves in here apply the gringo price to newcomers. Who says that the expats community shouldn't do it as well? It's not like only the locals own the copyrights!

You can learn more about our Panamanian adventure in my next post on Panama series! Be well!

Here are other travel related posts:

ECUADOR SERIES: COTACACHI, THE CITY BETWEN TWO VOLCANOS

HIKING IN MONT-ROYAL PARK, MONTREAL

ZUMMER FUN BUS RIDE IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

F-MR STATION IN MONTREAL

THE STONEHENGE OF ROMANIA: SARMIZEGETUSA REGIA

ECUADOR SERIES - DUE DILIGENCE TRIP

LAURENTIANS MOUNTAINS: COTTAGE TRIP AT LAKE CACHÉE

OTTAWA LIGHTS SHOW ON PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

HIKING AT DANUBE’S GORGES, ORSOVA, ROMANIA

DECEBALUS CARVED STATUE, ROMANIA

TRIP TO CALGARY, ALBERTA

BALCHIK, A BULGARIAN GEM

PIRATES TREASURE PLAYGROUND, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 2, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

DOLPHINARIUM 1, CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

GONDOLA RIDE IN MAMAIA RESORT, ROMANIA

CONSTANTA’S MARINA, ROMANIA

BEACH DAY IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

BUBBLES - INDOOR PLAYGROUND IN CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

VISITING DAMARLI ESTATE IN BOQUETE, PANAMA

BAHIA DE PAQUERA, NICOYA GULF, COSTA RICA

EXPLORING AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS

MACKINAC BRIDGE, MICHIGAN, USA

CHASED BY TORNADOS IN MINNESOTA

MINNEHAHA FALLS REGIONAL PARK, A GEM IN BETWEEN THE TWIN CITIES

BANFF, A RESORT TOWN INSIDE THE BANFF NATIONAL PARK, ALBERTA, CANADA

OLD PORT OF CONSTANTA, ROMANIA

TEN FACTS OR MORE ABOUT BOQUETE, PANAMA

ENISALA FORTRESS, ROMANIA

MORAINE LAKE, A SURREAL BEAUTY IN ALBERTA, CANADA

TIPS ON HOW TO MAKE A LIVING WHILE TRAVELLING THE WORLD

FEELING UNINSPIRED? VISIT A WELSH RETREAT: GLADSTONE’S RESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

TURDA’S 400 FEET UNDERGROUND AMUSEMENT PARK, A HIDDEN GEM OF TRANSYLVANIA, ROMANIA

MEMORIES FROM CANCUN, MEXICO

CARIBBEAN PARADISE: BOCAS DEL TORO

TOURING MONTREAL CITY, CANADA

BOQUETE’S FLOWERS AND COFFEE FESTIVAL, PANAMA

VISIT TO SAINT-JOSEPH’S ORATORY IN MONTREAL, CANADA

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

@apanamamama says it's called gringo bingo. And it seems to be an entrenched part of the culture ---> gouging people who don't know better for as much as you can get. What a way to live. What Karma!!

Yes, gringo bingo! She is totally right!

I've heard they like to rip off foreigners, but Ive not traveled so I cant say Ive experienced that myself.
I enjoy coming along on your travels and seeing the beautiful photos! ♥

Thank you for coming along ;-)

In Asia, this is called "skin tax" by us Ex-Pats. I'm lucky. I look like a local in almost any Asian country...

Namaste, JaiChai

I know in Sri Lanka was called fair skin tax. Since I don't look like a locals, I had to pay it a few times.

First and the most important rule in this part of the world, ASK FOR THE PRICE BEFORE. If you don't agree just go, like you did with taxi.

Asking and bargaining for the price are definitely a MUST!

You just got my first test vote from the New World Order :) I'm glad to be able to give it a try here.

Thanks

I loved that New World Order! Thanks @bigtom13!

Dear @lymepoet,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Sorry no vote until sometime Saturday :(

I deal mostly in Mexico, where there can be a gringo price, particularly if you are using USD. Mostly, it seems, it's la mordita so generally a fairly reasonable amount. Except, of course, in the tourist enclaves. There the action really depends on what the traffic will bear.

Thanks for a great post. I have some friends that rode to Panama a couple years ago and got really good at finding the 'expat' communities where they could at least get the straight scoop on what was going on.

In Mexico it might actually be worse than in Panama ;-)

Damn gringo rate! Sounds like speaking Spanish and getting uber saved you a wad of cash in this adventure! Bit mad that the ex-pats also enforce the gringo rate when they know what it's like... oh well! Thanks for sharing your tales with us!

It did save me money for sure! ;-)

Hehe awesome trade secrets going on there. Learn the language before you go 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree that uber cost much cheaper than other taxi as per my own experience in India.
I see all your shots were from rooftop an ultimate way to view the entire city..thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

some really cool photos here!!

my pleasure, really cool to hear from you:) are you going to the steemfest ?

I would like to but I can't. Maybe next year. Are you going?

too bad, I will be there yes, my wife is really upset about me going without her, she doesn't understand any of this, but it's hard to expect people to understand that are not here :) maybe we get to meet at the next one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29