Peak #10: Mt. Makiling

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Image Source


Mt. Makiling

Mt. Makiling is a dormant volcano situated in between Batangas and Laguna provinces. It has an elevation of 1,090 meters above sea level and is considered a major climb with a difficulty 5/9. The mountain is known for the Limatik (blood leeches) especially during the rainy season. The mossy forest can be located up the mountain while thick vegetation and tall trees are observed at the lower portion of the mountain.


Groupie at the first stop


Lunch time but beware of falling limatiks

There are fixed rope segments found in the trail such as the one in Melkas ridge which are very helpful when it's pouring. Stations are also distributed at the trails to mark your distance.


Image Source

MakTrav

The Makiling Traverse (MakTrav) is the best training climb for beginners. The entry point is at Sitio Jordan, Brgy. San Miguel, Sto. Tomas, Batangas and exits at UP College of Forestry, Los Banos, Laguna. There are a total of 30 stations from Peak 2 down to UPLB trail. There used to be two trails in hiking Mt. Makiling; the Palanggana and Sipit trails. However, in 2009, the authorities declared that the first shouldn't be no longer used because it passes through a private property.


Start trail in Sto. Tomas Batangas


Agila Base marks the end of the trail in UPLB

My Makiling Experience


No clearing for the day

The weather was awful when I climbed Mt. Makiling. There was no clearing and the limatiks (blood leeches) just kept on falling from the trees. We were advised to wear hiking pants but that was only an advice so I didn't took it. I wore shorts because I thought I'll be more comfortable with it. And it wasn't a bad decision.


Stoked at Haring Bato

The trail was so muddy, the boulders are slippery and hiking through ridges should be executed with extra care to avoid accidents. A guest during our climb almost fell. Fortunately, a member grabbed her, and another member grabbed the previous member and another club member grabbed that last member while holding on to a sturdy plant preventing a supposedly bad accident. Thank goodness!

It was a day hike so I only brought what I needed; a change of clothes, a bottle of water, my phone, my budgeted money plus an extra pocket money. What was funny and annoying was that after I took a bath I checked my things and I realized I left my undies back at home. Shame on me!

After everything's done, we packed up and rode the jeep from UPLB to the town proper and had our dinner there.


Finallly, dinner was served.


Highlights

It was my first time to see limatiks and I really don't like them. Whenever one or two fell on me, I just wriggle or shake them off. (LNT Principle #6: Respect wildlife.) And I often shrieked when I felt them on my skin. They really do follow the smell of blood. I will never forget when one of my friends, Rajill Rojo, kept on complaining to us that his eyes are really itchy. It started at lunch and he still said the same thing over and over again until dinner. I kept on teasing him that maybe it was a limatik and boy, was I right. When we were around the table to order our food at dinner, Raj lifted his eyelid and a black, fat and full limatik dangled. We were all shocked.


Image Source

Note: Please remember the following when you encounter limatiks.

  1. Do not pull the limatiks off your skin harshly. Their teeth or fangs (whatever you call it) might be left in the bitten area and cause infection. These blood suckers won't let go of you until their full. So the best strategy (I learned) is to let them be. They'll get off of you when they're done.
  2. Alcohol can remove them. A spray of alcohol or salt solution can take away limatiks but it will be bloody. So the best thing to do is to spray it in a cloth or wet wipes first and use it to separate the limatik attached to the skin by sliding it in between until the little creature looses its grip.
  3. Don't scratch the limatik bite to avoid irritation.


Check out my previous posts:
Peak 9: Mt. Kalugong
Peak 8: Mt. Romelo
Peak 7: Mt. Batulao
Peak 6: Mt. Manabu
Peak 5: Mt. Daguldol
Peak 4: Mt. Tapulao
Peak 3: Mt. Maculot
Peak 2: Pico De Loro
Peak 1: Mt. Pulag
Peak 0: Mt. Taal
Little Climber




Sort:  

Nice Picture and nice to meet you.
Please follow me @patricksanlin and upvote. Thanks

I'm glad to meet you, too @patricksanlin. Thank you for following. Followed you back!

Woww... You are a great and strong woman @krizia

Really? Wow. Hmmm. I wouldn't say I'm great. Lol. At least, not yet. But yes, I believe I am strong @noerulhd! 😊

Great posts! I have been up peaktwo like 22 years ago and that ridge still looks the same! Good job! Galeng mo!

22 years ago???? Wow! I wasn't even born yet sir! Haha. I think the authorities are doing their best to preserve Mt. Makiling as much as possible. I love that the mountain is still a thick forest. Thank you for your kind comment sir.

Hehehe oo ang tanda ko na 40 na. Sige habang bata at malakas pa adventure lang one after another. Looking forward to your future posts and will back read on the others.

Salamat po, tito. Lol. Can I call you tito? Haha. I've not posted all of the mountains I hiked. Not yet. Look forward po for those. Nasa 2016 pa lang po ako. Haha. Thank you in advance po.

Hehehe sure why not hija. Lol

Thank you tito. 😊

Wow.. About limantiks, we should be carefull when climb a mountain. :)

Hi @happyphoenix! How was your day?

Limatiks are usually present in mossy forests only. If the mountain doesn't have one, limatiks are less of your worries.

Ugh. Those limatiks sound nasty.
For those slippery days, if you can get yourself a pair of kahtoola microspikes or nano spikes it can help out a lot especially on the descent. Also carbide tipped hiking poles but if only using one you have to lead with it by putting the point down in front of you at the center of your body. To the side, your arm will just go wide as you fall.

Wow! Thank you so much! I'll look for a pair or two of those spikes. I'm just not comfortable with hiking poles. I know they might be important or necessary at times but I don't like using them.

You're welcome of course. :) I know what you mean. They tie up your hands. I often use one pole or one pole and a mountaineering axe (as Hermann Buhler did in Nanga Parbat google that one for an inspiring account...)

Amazing you did well and it looked fun.

Yeah. It was. I enjoy hiking so much! Thank you @jakeart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32