Little Climber

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

It's been three years since I fell in love with climbing mountains. I can't get enough of the rush of the breeze through my hair, the cool colors of the landscape, the sound of the birds and rivers and the warmth of the sun as well as the coolness of the rain. I marvel at the sea as it meets the skies. I look at the forest's end and the beginning of the city. I often feel like I'm on top of the world. I am proud when I am up there.


Struggles of a Mountaineering Student

1. You can't climb during school days.
I don't climb regularly because I'm still a student. Before climbing, I consider the following:

  • Do I have classes?
  • Do I have home works?
  • Do I have an exam tomorrow?
  • Do I have any seminar, congress or meetings?
  • Am I done with all the school paper works, projects and write ups? When's the deadline of submission?
  • Do I have field works?
    If all of the above is answered by a "BIG NO", then I'm good to go. And so I climb during the weekends, the holidays, and my free days.

2. You have to save for a climb.
Other than making sure I don't have classes, I consider my allowance. I can't climb if I don't have the money for transportation, my meals, the registration and guide fees. Although some climbs are cheap, others are very expensive, especially if it's out of town. And by out of town, I mean "other islands." (Since Philippines is an archipelago, you have to go by plane or boat when going to other places particularly the provinces located in Visayas and Mindanao if you're from Luzon.)

I have to save at least 2 months before a climb or do sidelines in order to earn money for the climb. (If you're a rich kid, then this one isn't a struggle.)

3. Preparation is necessary.
And by preparation I mean training. Training your stamina and endurance is important in climbing. You wouldn't want to be the patient or the invalid one during a climb. I have to stay fit. (Although, it's really hard to refuse food. I love eating!)

Training is a struggle because I, sometimes, have classes that start very early and/or end late at night. Then, I'm too tired to even lift my finger. So, how can I jog? I often skip training when the mountain I'm climbing is not too high.

4. Getting permission from your parents is grueling.
If your parents are as protective as mine and overreact on every bad news on the television, then getting permission to climb is really difficult. It's a combination of fear and worry; since, you might not be permitted. You have to convince them that you'll be fine and nothing bad is going to happen.

I also had climbs that I didn't ask permission to because as Grace Hopper said,"It's easier to ask forgiveness than it is to get permission." However, it's best if your parents are supportive of what you like to do than them being against it.

5. Your outdoor activities should not affect your studies.
In order for me to do what I'm passionate about, I should balance my activities. I should be able to manage my time well in order to maximize it. I have to enjoy mountaineering without dumping my studies. I need to be steady in both fields.


The 7 LNT Principles

I understood that one should never underestimate the mountain. So, I wanted to share the Seven Leave No Trace Principles to you. These are just principles but it's better if it's remembered by heart.

1. Plan ahead and prepare
2. Travel and camp on durable surfaces
3. Dispose of waste properly
4. Leave what you find
5. Minimize campfire impacts
6. Respect wildlife
7. Be considerate of other visitors

Above all these principles, the first and foremost any mountaineer should have aside from skill, experience and guts is common sense.


Here are the list of the beautiful mountains that let me experience their amazing trails and scenic views.


1. Mt. Taal


The crater lake
(Credits to Haggeo Perez)

2. Mt. Pulag

Sea of clouds at Pulag's summit
(Credits to Haggeo Perez)

3. Pico De Loro

The Monolith behind
(Credits to Ramzel Teodosio)

4. Mt. Maculot

Overlooking the Taal Lake
(Credits to Haggeo Perez)

5. Mt. Tapulao

The Poor Man's Pulag
(Credits to Gabriel Tapas)

6. Mt. Daguldol

Huge rocks at the Daguldol's peak
(Credits to Saihlene Morata)

7. Mt. Manabu

No clearing at Manabu's peak. (From left) Dave Morata, me and Erik Bumagat
(Credits to Nikko Olaya)

8. Mt. Batulao

Scorching heat at Batulao
(Credits to Marx Fidel)

9. Mt. Romelo

Low quality camera at Romelo's summit. (From left) Christopher Dela Cruz, April Gheam and me
(Credits to Patrick Velasco)

10. Mt. Kalugong

Overlooking Baguio City
(Credits to Haggeo Perez)

11. Mt. Makiling

No clearing at Haring Bato
(Credits to Junard Bertulfo)

12. Cinco Picos

Mt. Balingkilat (behind me) viewed from Cinco Picos
(Credits to Alfred Silisilon)

13. Kibungan Circuit

The view from Mt. Tagpaya's summit
(Credits to Gabriel Tapas)


One-leg monk meditation position at Mt. Otén
(Credits to Neil Chan)


At Mt. Tagpew campsite
(Credits to Haggeo Perez)

14. Mt. Tibig

Rocks at Tibig
(Credits to Haggeo Perez)

15. Mt. Lumot

The mossy forest

16. Mt. Ulap


The cordillera viewed from Ulap
(Credits to Rhodel Sarande)


I will keep on climbing. I will try to climb all the mountains in the Philippines. I will climb the mountains outside the country, too. Soon. I will always love the hike, the people I climb with and the breathtaking views. In the mountains, I think I'll always wander but I will never be lost.

"The mountains are calling and I must go." - John Muir


Message to the Reader

I hope you enjoyed my post. 😊 Do you also like climbing? Keep on climbing, then! Someday, we might see each other at the summit! Follow me and remember to upvote and resteem!

Lots of love, @krizia!


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

Great post and pictures
Any mountains left for future hiking? :p
and to summarise it YOLO!

Hahaha. Yes @filotasriza3! YOLO indeed! There's still so many mountains to climb. 😊

is it a risky affair ?

Well, it can be if one doesn't undergo the Basic Mountaineering Course. BMC is necessary in order to know the do's and don'ts of a mountaineer as well as the climber's responsibility. First aid, orienteering and ropemanship are also covered in BMC. One can also take survival trainings if wanted.

Most of the climbers nowadays, especially in the Philippine are Facebook mountaineers. They're the climbers who hike just for the pictures. Their main goal is to post awesome photos in FB when it should be just one of the rewards in hiking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68493.85
ETH 3838.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64