Peak #8: Mt. Romelo

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Mt. Romelo



Mt. Romelo is located in the heart of Siniloan, Laguna. This mountain rises to 300 meters above sea level and has difficulty of 2/9. This is a minor climb suitable for dayhike. The trail is very easy however, very muddy during rainy season. It's jump off is in Brgy. Macatad, Upland Siniloan. You'll know you're near the jump off when you see this giant Red Horse Beer logo.


Red Horse welcomes you

Mt. Romelo is also mistakenly known as "Famy" which is the municipality located at the north-eastern portion of the province of Laguna. It might be because of the highway leading to the jump-off is called Famy - Real - Infanta Road. The peak can be reached in 30-45 minutes only.


A side trip or the main attraction?

Whenever mountaineers climb a mountain, a side trip is almost a requirement for relax and recreation. However, in Mt. Romelo, the principal thing that allures the tourists, hikers and climbers (who rappel) to this mountain isn't the mountain itself but the great, majestic, dangerous and towering waterfalls hidden beneath it. The two-hour hike through the peak down to the the campsite is an easy-peasy trek. The real challenge is going to these breathtaking falls. There are a total of seven waterfalls behind Mt. Romelo. The following are:

1. Buruwisan Falls

2. Lanzones Falls

3. Sampaloc Falls

4. Diwata Falls

5. Batya-Batya Falls

6. Sapang Labo Falls

7. Binaytuan Falls

See Lakwatsero's post for more details. Click here.


New friends, new mountain: An extraordinary experience

I climbed Mt. Romelo right after climbing Mt. Batulao. I just went back to Manila to change clothes and I was back to the road; this time to Laguna instead of Batangas. I thought we're going to commute but, "Ola, Amigo!" We got a private car. And I got to meet new friends. I only know kuya Victor and Patrick in this climb. They were both good friends of mine. They introduced me to ate April and his boyfriend, kuya Ivan.


(From left) kuya Vic, kuya Ivan, me, ate April and Patrick

I like ate April a lot because she brought us a lot of food. And I love food. It was my first time eating graham balls and I was really delighted. I also think she was so cool because she's this little sweet 5-foot-or-less-girl who drives a really huge vehicle. If I am not mistaken, she drove a Pajero that time.

We only managed to visit 2 falls: the Buruwisan and Batya-Batya falls. We wanted to enjoy the food, the falls and the company so we chose not to move around so much. It was so memorable because I was able to practice and showcase my front flip in front of everybody. It wasn't perfect but I liked it. I always wanted to do that and to think I am bigger than average slim ladies, I'm so proud of myself.


At Buruwisan Falls


At Buruwisan Falls


Photo Credits to: Lakwatsero, Victor Ortega and April Gheam


Check out my previous posts:
Peak 7: Mt. Batulao
Peak 6: Mt. Daguldol
Peak 4: Mt. Tapulao
Peak 3: Mt. Maculot
Peak 2: Pico De Loro
Peak 1: Mt. Pulag
Peak 0: Mt. Taal
Little Climber




Sort:  

Nice one dear friend. How are you today?

I'm great. Talk to you in discord. Thanks @richguy!

Very beautiful photography..... I just amazed....i surely wanna go there..... Keep sharing.... I have already followed you.....

Thank you so much @bluec. The photos aren't actually mine. I mentioned it at the bottom of my post.

Photo Credits to: Lakwatsero, Victor Ortega and April Gheam

Ok..... But nice.... Keep sharing

Thank you so much dear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61