Peak #9: Mt. Kalugong

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Image Source


Mt. Kalugong

Mt. Kalugong is located in Tawang, La Trinidad, Benguet. It's very accessible which is 2 jeepney rides from Baguio City. It's not one of the mainstream mountains in Benguet but it is a famous tourist attraction in the area along with Mt. Jumbo (Mt. Yangbaw). It's also known as "Mt. Kalugong Eco Park" and "Mt. Kalugong Cultural Village." The jump off is exactly beside the high way and the registration area can be found in the cultural village just a few meters below the peak.


Street leading to the trail to Mt. Kalugong

Difficulty of trail

The trail is very easy, since the road has been paved all the way up until maybe more or less hundred meters before the entrance to the eco park. (I'm just not sure how it looks like now.) This trail is truly and literally a "walk in the park". It's just that the slopes are really steep and you'll need to catch your breath if you decided to go fast.


Ate Hannah leading us on our way home

The Main Feature

This small mountain offers a magnificent view of the La Trinidad Valley from the peak. It is marked by enormous rock formations that are probably limestone. This isn't surprising because Benguet may have been submerged in the sea long time ago before it rose to its peak today. The area is also forested and covered with pine trees.


The La Trinidad valley overlooked from the peak


Distributed rock formations along the lush vegetation

The area got picnic tables, traditionally-built houses (that's why it's a cultural village) which you can rent out at affordable fees and my favorite, the tree swings. Aside from the hike, it's best to have picnic and other recreational activities here with friends and family.


I had fun playing in the swing.


Haggeo and the Ifugao huts


My Kalugong Experience

I went to Mt. Kalugong last December 23, 2015. I came with my friend Haggeo Perez and his older sister, ate Hannah Bautista. Ate Hannah also brought her friends, ate Daphne Oredina and sir Jun-jun. We were singing and talking about a lot of funny things on the trail. I even learned Ilocano words and sentences from Haggeo. I enjoyed their company very much.


(From left) Ate Daph, Sir Jun (at the back), Haggeo, me and ate Hannah

We hiked Mt. Kalugong at the middle of the day. It was hot and cool at the same time. I was expecting too much of the mountain because it's Benguet but what a shocker! The climb was finished before I knew it. We reached the summit in not less than 15 minutes from the registration booth.

This climb was the easiest and chillest climb ever.


Check out my previous posts:
Peak 8: Mt. Romelo
Peak 7: Mt. Batulao
Peak 6: Mt. Manabu
Peak 5: Mt. Daguldol
Peak 4: Mt. Tapulao
Peak 3: Mt. Maculot
Peak 2: Pico De Loro
Peak 1: Mt. Pulag
Peak 0: Mt. Taal
Little Climber




Sort:  

Nice post upvoted and followed...please follow back @superkrish

Wow! My nickname's Sha but I use Krish, too. You're the super, though. I'm just normal. Haha. Thank you for visiting my post! Followed you back.

One Thing I found Interesting Is Girl Standing Behind you in the Last Picture in White

The lady with short hair? That's ate Hannah. She's married. Got a kid already.

That's Perry nice ... Please congrats her from me for having a child lol😍

Hahahaha. I'm sorry. This is her son, Enzo. He's 5 now, if I'm not mistaken.

His son is cute like her....🤣

Yeah. Too cute.

Nice one there my friend. This place looks so natural and beautiful. Who are those in the picture.

Thank you @richguy! Those are my good friends, Haggeo, her sister, ate Daph and sir Jun.

Nice walk in the park :) It does look like uplifted limestone

Yeah. Haggeo and I are geology students and we were surprised to see those outcrop at the peak. Thanks for dropping by.

I did a bit of googling around- a lot of the mountains around you seem to be old volcanos...

Yeah. They are. Philippines is located in the Pacific Ring of Fire so it's only natural to have a lot of volcanoes here; active and inactive. My country is seismically active, too.

My first climb was an active volcano, and my second climb was an inactive one. I only learned that it was a volcano when I saw it on the news a year after my climb. Yeah. So, there it is.

Pretty fascinating place to study geology. I wonder if the limestone strata were pushed up by a rising volcano.

It really is. Quite complicated at times. You should visit the Philippines sometime in the future.

Yes it sounds interesting there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32