You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Peak #10: Mt. Makiling

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Ugh. Those limatiks sound nasty.
For those slippery days, if you can get yourself a pair of kahtoola microspikes or nano spikes it can help out a lot especially on the descent. Also carbide tipped hiking poles but if only using one you have to lead with it by putting the point down in front of you at the center of your body. To the side, your arm will just go wide as you fall.

Sort:  

Wow! Thank you so much! I'll look for a pair or two of those spikes. I'm just not comfortable with hiking poles. I know they might be important or necessary at times but I don't like using them.

You're welcome of course. :) I know what you mean. They tie up your hands. I often use one pole or one pole and a mountaineering axe (as Hermann Buhler did in Nanga Parbat google that one for an inspiring account...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32