I am officially joining Operation Translation with @papa-pepper and @stellabelle - Links to some of my evergreen posts are listed.

in #translation8 years ago

After some careful consideration, I have decided to join @papa-pepper's initiative of opening my posts for translation.

Meredith Loughran's posts are available for translation
created in Photoshop


His original post: TRANSLATION OPPORTUNITY ON STEEMIT – Building Our Community and Reaching Out to Others While Earning STEEM explains the idea of allowing bilingual or multilingual members of Steemit translate posts and keep the earnings.

Here are his guidelines:

• Send me a reply on which article you would like to translate.
• Tell me what language you want to translate it into.
• You can use any or all of the original images from my post.
• Please link my original “English Version” article at the end of your post.
• Make it clear in your title or opening paragraph that your post is a translation of one of my articles.
• One the translated post is made, send me a comment or private message with the link so I can resteem it!

The essence of giving

I am listing a bunch of "evergreen" posts below so you don't have to scroll through nearly 3 months of content on my blog page.
Many of these were written when I was still new and did not earn much - if they earned anything at all.
Do not let that discourage you from translating the article. If you've developed a following, plus my outreach with resteeming it, I hope that you will earn significantly more.

Firstly, let me explain what "evergreen posts" are.

  • They are posts that stand the test of time, which means they remain relevant no matter how much time passes.
  • GOOD: How-tos, recipes, fiction, non-fiction, advice...anything that doesn't have a time-stamp or can be relegated to "yesterday's news."
  • BAD: News articles or latest trends or fads. No daily statistics. They should not focus on specific holidays or current events like weather, politics, or even opinion pieces.

I am not requesting compensation

Though it's true I put the work into creating the post, you are putting the work in to accurately translate it.
If you find that you've earned a good amount from it, I would certainly not reject a tip - but that is strictly voluntary.

I recommend that any translator receive a verification badge. I do not expect my footer and signature line be included in the re-post, but a link to my blog or original post will be required.

Why Operation Translation is Important to Steemit

In his post: OPERATION TRANSLATION : Now Under Construction – What it is, and How You Can Help lists a few reasons why making our posts available for translation is important.
Let me highlight a few things here.

  • The translator has an opportunity to take quality articles and make them available to non-English speaking users. This is important because it expands our user base to be inclusive. By giving permission to repost, I'm not so concerned about plagiarism of my content.
  • There is risk vs. reward. There is no guarantee that the translator will earn anything from translating my posts, but they will begin to have a portfolio of content to share and grow their own community.
  • The diversity of content should show an increase in value to the Steemit platform.

Consider joining Operation Translation

Currently @papa-pepper and @stellabelle have opened their posts to translation. I have also seen people translate whales' posts - though I'm not sure if they were given express written consent to do so.

As I did a search for #translate, it is interesting to point out that @sharingtheworld wrote a post Let's translate Steemit!!! about 3 months ago. Sadly, I have not seen any activity from them in about 2 months. The hiccup with the original idea was from the translator's perspective: to grab posts and translate. The problem is that without permission, it actually is plagiarism.


A list of some of my evergreen posts

Let me preface this by saying there may be some grammatical or spelling errors. You are also free to correct or slightly edit where you feel it is necessary. Please note that spinning the articles and claiming they are originals is NOT COOL.

Optimize Your Steemit Posts https://steemit.com/tips/@merej99/helpful-tip-optimize-your-steemit-postsc

Three Must Haves For A Strong Committed Relationship https://steemit.com/relationships/@merej99/relationships-three-must-haves-for-a-strong-committed-relationship

The Roommate - Flash Fiction Romance https://steemit.com/flashfiction/@merej99/flash-fiction-romance-the-roommate-exclusively-written-for-steemit

10 Things You Can Do When You Don't Have Any Money https://steemit.com/money/@merej99/helpful-tips-10-things-you-can-do-when-you-don-t-have-any-money

Sticks and Stones Have Their Place - mindset https://steemit.com/mindset/@merej99/mindset-sticks-and-stones-have-their-place

10 Interesting and Ridiculous Facts About Florida - with some commentary https://steemit.com/random/@merej99/10-interesting-and-ridiculous-facts-about-florida-with-some-commentary

Has A Former Enemy Ever Become A Friend? https://steemit.com/bullying/@merej99/question-has-a-former-enemy-ever-become-a-friend

Humor - I May Have Broken The Secret Man Code of Communication https://steemit.com/humor/@merej99/humor-i-think-i-may-have-broken-the-secret-man-code-of-communication

Health - 5 Signs A Woman Is Having A Heart Attack https://steemit.com/health/@merej99/health-5-signs-a-woman-is-having-a-heart-attack

Writing - What is Head Hopping and why avoiding it makes your writing better https://steemit.com/writing/@merej99/writing-what-is-head-hopping-and-why-avoiding-it-makes-your-writing-better

Seven 5-gallon bucket ideas for good fun and budget savings https://steemit.com/helpfultips/@merej99/helpful-tips-seven-5-gallon-bucket-ideas-for-good-fun-and-budget-savings

Strategy for Finding ENGAGED people on Steemit https://steemit.com/life/@merej99/strategy-for-following-engaged-people-on-steemit

Of Pennies and Humble Pie - a true story inspired by @bendjmiller222 https://steemit.com/life/@merej99/of-pennies-and-humble-pie-a-true-story-inspired-by-a-post-from-bendjmiller222

My other posts are also available for translation if you find them of interest or use. Please let me know which ones you select so I can resteem you when it's published.


Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated. Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape


Request your own verification badge @ Steem.chat

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68666.90
ETH 3251.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67