[HEALTH] 5 Signs A Woman Is Having A Heart Attack

in #health8 years ago

Women do not present with symptoms of a heart attack like men, so knowing what to look for and early detection is vitally important. I may save your life.

5 signs a woman is having a heart attack by Meredith Loughran. Health.
image source


Heart Health

Heart attacks are devastating. Unfortunately, I've known too many people who did not listen to the classic signs of heart trouble and died because of it. Most of them were men. Things like pressure in their chest which they excused as heartburn and took some antacids; excessive sweating and exhaustion attributed to working a stressful job, or dizziness because maybe they skipped a meal or had too much coffee.
Knowing the early signs of heart attacks are vitally important in getting help and preventing severe damage to the heart.

But those are classic signs of MEN having a heart attack

What you don't know about heart attack symptoms might hurt you

I don't know why I went on a search for heart health except for the fact that I'm in my 40s, I do not exercise on a regular basis, and I've been smoking again.

I know. I know! BAD MEREDITH

Honestly, my family history dies from cancer but every once in a while my heart does a little flutter and that's concerning to me.

What I've found is that women do not feel heart attacks like a typical male heart attack.
Women do not get the “classic” left arm pain accompanied by the heavy chest pain. For the ladies, heart attacks are usually more subtle. Most women don't even know they're having a heart attack until it's too late!

5 signs of a woman having a heart attack

1. Chest pain

A survey of women who have had chest pain as a symptom will state how “uncomfortable” they felt.

Here's my take:
I describe my three experiences of childbirth as uncomfortable so this is quite subjective, don't you think?
I have not found one article where a woman described a heart attack as an elephant sitting on her chest.

So is it that ladies have a higher tolerance for body pain and discomfort?
Whatever the case - if you do not usually have discomfort in your heart and chest area get yourself checked.

2. Pain

I know I've addressed chest pain, but a woman having a heart attack may experience pain in the neck - or back - or arms – or jaw – or stomach.

The pains will come and go like ocean waves: Gradual feelings of tolerable pain to a sudden onslaught of moderate to severe pain.

Women are more prone to excusing their pain.

My neck hurts because I've been working at my computer all day.
I was rearranging my furniture - that's why my back and arms hurt.
Of course my jaw hurts! I grit my teeth all the time.
My stomach hurts. Maybe it was the tacos I ate yesterday.

It's so easy to come up with excuses for our pain. But if you don't get it checked when these pains seem to come out of nowhere, you may be at risk of a fatal mistake.

3. Trouble breathing

Shortness of breath, feeling lightheaded or simply having trouble breathing is also another subtle sign that a woman is having a heart attack.

I can't speak for the rest of you, but ever since I had kids, my equilibrium has been off, so when I sit down for long periods of time and rise quickly, I tend to get lightheaded. If I went to the doctor every time that happened, they'd probably stop seeing me after a while because I'd be the girl crying WOLF! all the time.

See how easy it is to create an excuse? But here's the key: If you are simply sitting around and breathing suddenly gets difficult, it's not because you've been transported to a planet with less oxygen. There may be something seriously wrong and you need to call the doctor.

4. Cold Sweats

Being in my 40s, I have been regularly suffering from perimenopausal symptoms. Hot flashes and breaking out into a cold sweat really sucks - but can you see why this may be an overlooked symptom of a heart attack?

Keep this in mind: If you normally do not sweat and you find that you're breaking into cold sweats for no apparent reason - make a phone call.

A little Q & A with the doctor or nurse practitioner should reveal whether further examination is required.

5. Fatigue

I don't know about your guys, but there are some days when I feel tired ALL THE TIME. I attribute my fatigue to my fight with insomnia, depression, bi-polarism, or just keeping myself busy. Fatigue is an every day occurrence for a lot of people and often overlooked as a symptom of a heart attack.

So, let's just say that you deal with a certain amount of fatigue every day. How is one to know if it's the heart in trouble?

Perhaps fatigue to the next level is what should trigger a warning. If simple chores like folding laundry, walking short distances, or climbing a couple of stairs makes you extremely tired or feeling deflated then you need to get yourself checked immediately.

Final thoughts

Being aware of your body and its mechanics is vital to your health. Ladies: We deal with a certain amount of anxiety, pain, and exhaustion all the time. But if you are feeling a little "off" then get a physical.

Because of my family history, I went to my doctors for a battery of baseline examinations to keep in my medical history. This helps ease my mind and allows the doctors to see if I'm maintaining my health or if something is wrong.

Listen to your intuition. Listen to your body.
Any one of these ailments might be contributed to every day life or your current circumstances - but the bottom line is this: Get a check-up.

Remove all doubt about your heart health. Early detection and being vigilant may save your life.


Information cited from WebMD; heart.org; mayoclinic.org


Note: I have previously published this article on my blog at ScribblingBandits and edited content and formatting for #Steemit


If you like my content, please leave a comment and hit the upvote button!


Meredith Loughran sharing knowledge bombs, humor and life stories on Steemit

Meredith Loughran blogs at ScribblingBandits.com | Follow her on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Come see what else I've been writing! Visit my blog page

Sort:  

I think the tendency of a lot of women, including me, to not be a bother and take care of others first comes into play, and you can quickly lose the ability to advocate for yourself when you're having a heart attack.

I knew within seconds of the onset of symptoms that I was having a heart attack, but I went into denial and didn't seek immediate help for two reasons: First, I had my dog with me, and I was afraid she would get lose or bite someone, and second, I felt an urgent need for my bed and, frankly, my bathroom.

My first symptom was pain in my upper underarms, followed quickly by pain in the center of my chest, nausea, and a feeling that diarrhea was just ahead. I had just left a Nicaragua beach and was near a restaurant when symptoms hit, but instead of seeking help there, I headed toward my home several blocks away.

It was a holiday morning, and no one was about once I left the beach area. I walked and rested, walked and rested, trying to get home before I began vomiting ... or worse. None of my neighbors were outside to help, so I walked up the pathway to my house. Once my dog was safely inside the fence, I asked for help from my husband and sought my bathroom--but I didn't immediately say I thought I was having a heart attack.

The help I received wasn't adequate; a medical student (and neighbor) told me if I were having a heart attack I'd be dead, and even though I knew she was wrong, I went along with the fantasy that I wasn't having a heart attack. Our house was 75 yards up a walkway from the street, with 34 steps at the end. I knew I couldn't get back down those steps on my own. If I were having a heart attack, that meant some other people would have to get my overweight body down those steps or across a field, while I would likely be vomiting--so it was better to go along with the med student's diagnosis of heartburn. Not being a bother could have killed me.

That is really scary, @steemerpat! Thank goodness you're still around. I guess that was part of the point in the post - most women will find excuses for not seeking immediate help. We're generally the ones fixing the boo-boos or saying, "No, I don't have time to be sick."

My heart flutters don't happen very often but when they do, I attribute them to stress...or something. To this day I've never had it checked out because in my entire family history, no one's ever had a heart attack or any kind of heart disease. It's usually cancer. There was one brain aneurysm and only one relative (that I know of) who lived to be about 86 (old age & dementia). So, in my head I'm thinking... No way would I ever have a heart attack. Kind of silly, right?

And chances are that I would have done the same thing "not being a bother", especially if I was out with my pups because they're my fur babies and I would want to know they're safe and secure too. And that medical student... hopefully she got a lesson out of your experience...or joined a new field of study!

Yes, I wanted to illustrate the crazy thought process that can endanger women. It's good you're going to get checked for blockages--but possibly also for mitral valve prolapse? It's a mostly benign anomaly that a small percentage of people are born with, and it popped into my head when you mentioned a flutter. See info here and on other sites.

I discovered that I had MVP in my mid-thirties; I was overscheduled and stressed, and that's when I began having pain and other symptoms. I have the heart murmer that sometimes accompanies MVP; the doctor who diagnosed me (after imaging) could hear the murmer, but I've found since then that most doctors can't hear it.

The protocol for awhile in the U.S. was that anyone with MVP should take antibiotics before dental procedures, but after a while that requirement was dropped. By then I had been dosed with lots and lots of antibiotics.

Good advice there thanks I'm due a MOT soon.

Karen, when I went for my baseline tests, the doctors were thinking that it might be excessive...until I explained my family history of cancer on both sides. I think it's a good idea for everyone to have at least a start point in their health records to watch for any changes and get early detection.

Sometimes I gnore the symptoms as I dont want to bother the hospital as it's probably only indigestion

I knew the symptoms where different but not so vague, I can tick a lot of these in a check list. hmm I think a check up might be in order.

So can I, Sarah. So can I. I haven't had a check-up in about 4 years because I can't afford it but I live in a sort of denial that my heart is fine. I wouldn't want to be accused of being a hypochondriac. Right now my biggest health concern are my teeth so I rarely worry about the rest because nothing hurts...and I can't see it.

I'm so thankful we have the NHS (not for long the way our current government are going they are deliberately under funding and privatising it through the back door wanting it to get to the point it fails.). I dread the day we end up with an american health care system.

Great advice and somethings i was't aware of and put down to generally ageing..

Yes, general aging. That's what I attribute most of my aches and pains....and forgetfulness to. I don't know about you, but in my house, I'm the caretaker so I tell myself I can't get sick.

general cook, cleaner and candlestick maker ....lol but seriously as I am getting older I am more conscious of what i eat and drink. Try to excercise most day, either walking dogs or jog ( not miles and miles , just to keep in shape) I take vitamin supplements for womens health . One thing I have just started taking these last few months is iodine and tumeric- did some reading up on it and the health benefits are said to be outstanding. I do feel better, but again time tells. Having health checks is important especially breast and cervical. Again if I go down, the ship will go down as well i believe...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67904.70
ETH 3244.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66