DIY Thrifting For Income - 3 Recent Profitable Snipes - $119 Spent For $661 Revenue ($445 Net Profit)

in #thrifting6 years ago (edited)

If you like thrifting, you can make good money from it if you resell.

Here are just three good sales from the last week to show that you don't need high volume to make a decent return. You just need to visit stores and chose wisely.

Make your money work for you and enjoy the positive reinforcement when your analysis pays off.


I sold this sealed new item at a heavy discount "as is" to kill my margin because consumers reported occasional manufacturing quality issues on this discontinued model. I made a clause that the buyer should buy a third-party product support package, which they did. Better safe than greedy and sorry with a defect/return issue.

Because of the potential defect risks above, I'd kept this unlisted for 9 months. That's a bad habit, folks.

Bought for $82, sold for $310 for a $190 profit after fees/shipping.


I grabbed this vintage sampler keyboard from 1984 for $11 and it sold in 5 days. I almost missed it thinking it was a toy in that section of the store. You can record your voice with it and make it a key sound. That was fun for 5 minutes until the novelty wore off. It's a popular cult seller.

Bought for $11, sold for $143 for a $110 profit after fees/shipping.


I found 9 of these DJ/audio engineer lights at once for $6.50 each. I sold one previously, and then sold 4 together at a discount to one buyer (ideal scenario). Four more to go...

Bought 4 for $26, sold for $208 for a $145 profit after fees/shipping.


Advice - Keep an eye out and look up the value of everything that looks like quality. Sealed new or discontinued = ideal. For example, I bought 26 new nail polishes for $9.34 at a thrift store, and made $174 net profit from them so far, with 4 more to sell. If you ever asked me if I'd buy nail polish in the past, the answer would be no. It doesn't matter what the product is if it's good quality and has profitable resale value that's a good return on your investment.

That's it for now. Nothing fancy above, but easy money. Most people would overlook the keyboard as I almost did, or the lamps. The sealed discontinued Logitech item was a good find at a high price point, but I knew it was a guaranteed sale when the right buyer who understood the risks to buy a protection plan came along. If it didn't have the potential manufacturer quality risks, I could've sold it for $200+ more.

Plenty more to share once my audience builds up a bit more.

Feel free to ask any questions and check out some recent thrifting/recycling sales below.


More Thrifting:

Curb Recycling:

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Excellent. Money sitting on the thrift store shelves... just have to go and grab it!

Another good haul.

Will you do an end of year summary... the total tally for all of 2018?



Thanks. Just the tip of the iceberg.

I'm not sure about that. I keep records and have pictures of every sale I've ever made, with all figures in Excel, but to post a total set of pics of items I've sold is a lot of work. For example, I've sold 92 things so far just this month, but only show a few. We you asking about more examples or overall numbers?

Not the idea to create loads of admin work, just curious about the overall scale in broad terms.

You must live in a 'properous' city with so much stuff of value thrown out. I live in a poorer rural area with much more meagre pickings generally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46