Recent Thrifting Scores Bought For $177 And Sold For $1,178

in #thrifting6 years ago (edited)

I want to show proof of how you can make sustainable income for yourself. I suppose my investments here also beat the stock and crypto markets these days.

My bare hands have earned $1,400 in revenue from only $122 cost in the last 3 days for ~$950 profit after fees (recycling + thrifting).

No one helped me. I made this money myself from scratch by pursuing my passions, being resourceful, having fun, and "working" only a few hours a day.

I hope more people will learn how to free themselves from their dependence on others for money. That's my goal. I'm not doing this for the Steem rewards these days.

Here are some recent thrifting sales.


Just livin' off the fat of the land...

New exercise rebounder bought for $54, sold for $350. Shipping was $44 :(

Yamaha keyboard bought for $33, played for a bit, and then sold for $200. Cheap shipping.

Printer bought for $21, sold for $134. Interestingly also sold 2 of these I recycled from the curb this month.

Tennis racquets bought for $10, sold for $104.

Friends DVD collection bought for $10, sold for $70 in 3 hours.

Lamp bought for $6.50, sold for $59. I have 7 more of these.

Cow pattern golf pants bought for $9, sold for $56.

Baseball All-Star Game figure bought for $6.50, sold for $55.

Chess game bought for $4, sold for $45.

2 new kitchen timers bought for $10, sold for $38 and $40. I originally had 24 of these I sold mostly near $50, mainly to Europeans.

Never easier than a Mario Kart game bought for $3 sold for $27 in a day.

Sale prices are revenue before fees and shipping. There's plenty more, but I have to keep some of my tricks to myself.

The money adds up fast when I combine this with my recycling for income. While not everyone can recycle for income, thrift stores and garage sales are everywhere. There is plenty of money to be made when you put some effort into it, and then it becomes second-natured and fun.

Thrifting For Income:

Recycling For Income:

P.S. Learn more about me here.

Thanks for your interest and support. Ask any questions.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Always love these posts of yours, and remain fascinated at the amount people pay for some of these things!

Thanks for giving me a reason to post them. As for the prices, just blame us crazy Americans. I wouldn't pay for these things, but if people want to, I'll help them out.

Please stop raiding my trash.

What the fuck were you doing with cow pattern golf pants?! Some sort of guilty pleasure you need to admit to us, huh Chris?

HA. Glad I saw this. A brilliant response when I couldn't think of something funny.

I got you!

Plus he makes it too easy sometimes ;)

Very interesting article friend. Where are you buying these things for so cheap? And where are you selling them that you are making so much on some crappy items? You obviously have a gift! ;0)

Thank you. I hustle thrift stores in my city. Admittedly, I'm not thrifting that much these days. I get most of my new inventory from the curbs in my city streets on recycling nights. It's easy pickings and I barely have to roll my sleeves up. Here's an example post. There will be a few more recent examples at the bottom of that post in the list to check out. Why pay when I can get it for free and help the environment?

Now you just need to find the storage locker with the gold bullion in side.

When I do my curb recycling hunts, I'm always dreaming of finding something full of money. The law of attraction is at work here and your reply just amplified it.

I haven't done storage lockers just yet, but will definitely in the long run. They're too much fun to not get involved in. I don't have a truck or place to process the stuff right now in a city apartment.

You need to inception it!

Have a storage locker to process your storage locker loot.

Great wheelin and dealin !

I'm so envious, I would have bought those cow pattern golf pants if I knew you were selling them. It would be the ultimate golf tactic if you had them on and made cow noises before the other players take their shots ;)

Caught me just in time. I'll redirect the package to Australia. Size is 36x34 haha.

My man!

I'm ending my employment at the end of January and will pursue flipping at that point.

Wow. You must have a very supportive family and plenty of blessings for this big step. Congrats on the big move towards independence. Once you manage your own schedule, you'll be so much happier, and have more time for enjoying the most important things... even if income isn't the same as it was in the near-term. Good luck with the resignation process. Soak it all in!

Well, I now have a passive income of almost $24K per year. If I don't do anything more than that I would also get back about $9500 in tax return money for child credits and whatnot.

Also, very inexpensive medical care is included.

So things are looking good, especially when I can put any other income into things like IRAs and possibly a solo 401K to keep it untaxed and that hefty tax return intact.

Plus you'll have a ton more time for your family and for all types of health overall. Smart move for the long run. You've been planning for this for a while and have the savings to support the lifestyle now. Thrift stores and local yard sales won't know what's about to him 'em.

Thanks for dropping by! These were sold on eBay. I have some other channels, but those are for some vintage, delicate, larger or slower moving things. Happy Holidays up in Canada.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46