Mausoleum Milford Cemetery

in #steemusa7 years ago (edited)

Mausoleum Milford Cemetery

A mausoleum is a free-standing monument enclosing the interment space or burial chamber of a deceased person or people.
A monument without the interment is a cenotaph which is something I never knew till researching this.

Cemetry Monument 2.jpg
Sony A6500 16mm F8 1/640 ISO 125
Click image to view larger


This memorial or mausoleum in the Milford Cemetery is very touching to see when passing by it, Seeing the statue of girl in the center bent over is so full over emotion.

Cemetry Monument.jpg
Sony A6500 32mm F8 1/400 ISO 125
Click image to view larger



Another Shot a little further out to show the setting
Cemetry Monument Charity.jpg
Sony A6500 22mm F8 1/2500 ISO 125
Click image to view larger



In the four corners of the Mausoleum are these statues, each with a word on the head band, this one is Charity

Cemetry Monument Faith.jpg
Sony A6500 16mm F8 1/640 ISO 125
Click image to view larger



And this one is Faith. not in as good condition as Charity
Cemetry Monument love.jpg
Sony A6500 29mm F8 1/320 ISO 125
Click image to view larger


And here is Love, a little worn but still in pretty good condition

Cemetry Monument Hope.jpg
Sony A6500 22mm F8 1/200 ISO 125
Click image to view larger



And finally we have hope, which has seen be, and this one was be facing the worse of the winds and weather I would imagine as it is really worn down, however i do feel it does have an ominous but yet still beautiful look to it

I took these a while back but had forgot about posting them till https://steemit.com/@melinda010100 did a cemetery post yesterday which motivated me to edit these shots and share them.

sorry if I was a bit behind on Visiting posts yesterday

I had a detail procedure done, a Tooth Pulled, Boone Graft and Implant all at once, sitting in the chair for close to three hours was not fun and in a bit of pain last night and today so wont be as active as usual on here today


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts Or Chat with us on in Gamma Syndicate of the alliance if you wish to join Gamma Syndicate on Discord**


JJ steemit banner w steemusa.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.225307 lat -73.052012 long Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

Also had no idea what a cenotaph was until now. Out of all the statues around it, Hope is my favorite just as I love the idea of weathering the storm like that.

They can be so cool there are a few in the cemetery here

historic feeding monument

it is indeed

These are really touching that's a beautful yet somber piece

beautiful yet somber those are the words I should have used so fitting for this

Fourth one is hope, which is missing and invisible :(

Yes it could be seen as a sad message

this mausoleum is built in the ancient Grecian style
those female forms are called caryatids
i wonder what Hope is holding in her hands

thanks for the info

Now I am intrigued what Hope is holding

Those are fantastic amigo. Few of them are quite eerie looking, like ghosts frozen in time.

Yes I agree some are very eerie indeed

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 30 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

beautiful captures...art at the cemetery can be captivating.
I have thought about exploring this area of photography.

i often walk by or through this cemetery but feel funny taking photos there so I seldom don

I hope you are better, the mausoleum is very well preserved and catches as always beautiful, happy wednesday

Thanks
And Happy Wednesday to you

Faith, love, charity and hope, and hope is worn down the most. There is a metaphor for life right there...
Hope you are back at full chomp soon! "Modern dentistry" still seems pretty barbaric to me lol!

I do so agree it is such a metaphor for life

Yeah in some ways it still is pretty barbaric indeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42