Weekly Steemit Anthology | February 12 - 18

weekly-header-12-18.jpg

Each week, I culminate what you may have missed from me on Steemit.

In addition to my own published works, I was generously curated by a few of my friends and a few new faces. I've included links to those posts alongside my articles they've featured. Each author took time to read my work, understand its themes, appreciate their favorite parts, and share the praises with their audience. One of the best investments you can make in the overall quality of Steemit is to continue highlighting posts that resonate with you!

My two biggest Steemit lessons this week:

  1. Well thought-out and pre-planned posts formatted and edited ahead of publishing can make a HUGE splash in your community. Earnings aside, your post might be picked up by voting trails, could inspire tons of comments, may garner a large amount of new followers, and be featured in curated posts outside the @curie + @ocd circle.

  2. Using voting bots in a personal choice. It's a heated topic almost anytime it's brought up in discussion, but after careful review of my own performance and return, I'll be utilizing @buildawhale, @postpromoter, and a few others I am watching on Steem Bot Tracker 48 hours after a post has been posted but before the three-day marker.

Look out for a Steemit Beginner's Series feature on Voting Bots next week!



My favorite post this week:



header-my-first-month.jpg
Almost all of my header photos, including this one, are downloaded license-free from Unsplash.

I celebrated my first month on Steemit with a case study of my own profile.

In this post, which highlights the specifics of my account growth and experience, I discussed each of the lessons I've learned this month that contributed to my success. Success has different meanings to everyone, so I encourage anyone eager to learn about Steemit to learn from others, experiment to find what works for you, and get acquainted with aspects of Steemit that may be confusing at first!

Thank you to the generous curators who featured this article in their published collections:

  1. Curation of the day, a @buildawhale #curator-application by @fxf999

  2. 📌'Eyes On'👀- Issue #2📓 by @thealliance, of which I am a member and #Teacher in The Classroom

  3. Minnow University: Class is now in session. Let's chat about time and effort. by @kubbyelizabeth

  4. c0ff33 vlog 170218 - mistakes I've made a few, but in life you can't help being you by @c0ff33a

Read the full post here.




ladies-of-steemit-banner-4.jpg

Ladies of Steemit celebrated a month in curation!

This week, we celebrated Valentine's Day with five Ladies of Love, sharing in their own words how they're experiencing, enjoying, and emanating love in their lives. While this day carries a variety of meanings, some positive and some not-so-much, we spent our curation celebrating Love the way the Ladies of Steemit see it.

Featured this week:

Read the full post here.

@LadiesofSteemit is a weekly initiative curating exemplary posts by the female voices on the Steemit platform, covering all subject matters and introducing you to authors from every corner of our Steemit-universe.

New curations every Wednesday, and this week, we launch our Introductory Post!




wtl-header-freya.jpg

I spoke with Freya Dowson, international humanitarian photographer, for this week's Women Taking Leaps interview.

Freya is an unmatched up-and-coming documentary photographer taking the animal conservation cause by storm. She's genuine, down-to-earth, and honest that even though her talent shines like a spotlight, she's just like us: Flying the seat of her pants, making it up as she goes along.

An unmissable Freya quote when prompted for advice for those of us with big dreams who may not feel ready or confident enough that we can accomplish them:

“Do something every day. Keep working toward your big dreams. Don’t make a perfect plan and say “this is it, this is what I’m going to do.” and then wait until the right time to make it happen. Start now - do whatever comes into your head. Do what feels right. Focus on what makes you happy. Keep following that path.”

Screen Shot 2018-02-12 at 4.53.58 PM.png
One of Freya's stunning works which propelled her to be the Shortlisted Wildlife Photographer of the Year, by the National History Museum. Shot on-assignment with David Sherman Wildlife Trust.

Read the full post here and see Freya's incredible photographer displayed on her Instagram account, @freyadowson.

Many thanks to the curators who featured the Women Taking Leaps initiative with their community:

  1. GET DANTELIZED: DANTE'S MINNOW CURATION PROJECT (DMC) : 15/02/2018 by @dante31

  2. Rising Stars - SE by @syndicates, an account in #TheAlliance family




header-srh-9.jpg

Building my own home has taught me so much about planning and the importance of staying organized long-term.

I shared the project plan details, the programs we use, and our progress on the Slow Rolling Home conversion. If this is your first time seeing the Slow ROlling Home Journey, know that my partner and I are converting a 1989 Blue Bird school bus into a tiny house, taking it one day at a time.

Read the full post here.

Catch up on previous conversion progress posts:



kma-header.jpg

My sweetheart and I spent a rainy afternoon exploring the Knoxville Museum of Art and I captured a few of my favorite pieces.

About my favorite piece:

Love Laughs by Jane Hammond

This piece is my favorite of the whole exhibit. However, because I'd only perused it briskly, I barely saw each of the ornate details that made it so special. This piece is a hand-colored lithograph collage, crayons as the primary color medium that features crudely illustrated wives' tales in each section of a scaffolding-structured house. It's entertaining, incorporates multiple mediums/artistic styles, and I'm sure if I spent even more time with it, I'd discover deeper themes amidst those rooms.

Read the full post and experience a diverse selection of featured artworks!



Lady Ink was a photographic hit!

Wray-5034-.jpg

Some of you have asked if this is me, but it is not! This is my gorgeous friend Melanie and her ink is beyond compare. I snapped this photo at her sister-in-law's wedding and I'm humbled that so many of my friends took the time to view and comment on this photo.

Also this week in photography, I shared:

Visit the original post for Lady Ink and consider joining the @photocontests community for #portraitphotography every Friday.



Many thanks to @syndicates for featuring Lady Ink in their Rising Stars - SE curation.



Thank you all for quite possibly the best week on Steemit!

Stay tuned this week for another installment to the Slow Rolling Home Journey, a #LadiesofSteemit curation, a live interview podcast with Meg Dixon about her food healing journey, and a travel photo diary from my Girls' Weekend in Asheville!

If you're a new follower, please introduce yourself in the comments so we can be properly acquainted. 🎈






Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. My blog has lived at www.amelia-bartlett.com until I discovered Steemit, where I now post most of my work. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

teamgirlpowa.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

ladies-of-steemit-banner-rounded.png

Sort:  

Looks like you're starting to get the hang of It! Well done.

Hi, I just discovered your blog on #buildawhale !

I'm a curious new follower of your steemit-endeavours.

Have a beautiful day,
@elenahornfilm

Hello @elenahornfilm! Thanks for dropping by. I love the @buildawhale community, it's so active and generous. Thanks for following along, nice to meet you!

So much information! Loved it!
I especially appreciate your opinions on bots. Like anything it's a personal choice. My opinion is that when we choose our posts to use bots on carefully, it's worth it. I will check out the two you mentioned...

@appiepearl I'd love to hear about the bots you've chosen! Using Steem Bot Tracker helps me to sort which bots are tied to larger initiatives, which are safer investments (those who refund if you make an improper bid are crucial!), and which are in a good position to give back a high return. @buildwhale consistently gives me at least 2x times my investment which just makes monetary sense!

I'll continue to experiment with bots and provide more information next week in my Steemit Beginners' Series post.

I haven't done much bot'ing (new word, yeah?) LOL. I've done resteembot but hard to tell what the return was; perhaps because I don't use Steem Bot Tracker. I do think I gained a few followers after it though. I also used randowhale and well, wasn't terribly impressed. He did refund immediately when I tried it incorrectly the first time. Just not sure the return was worth it.

I love these anthology posts, what an AWESOME idea. I’ve been feeling like I write things and it all gets buried so quickly. This is smart, smart, smart (also lovely and inspiring)!

Thank you, @lilyraabe! By all means, try an anthology-type post out for yourself. I'm sure you'll have your own style/spin to it. This is my second week doing it and I'm totally floored by the response.

So awesome, I am totally giving it a whirl. Rockin’ idea. :)

This is such a great reading and well written Amelia 😊 lots of great information and Awsome posts. Love how this post is personal and inspiring. That lady Inc is amazing and your shots are incredible. Awsome post dear 🤗
Happy Monday 💕💕

Happy Monday, my dear! Thank you for dropping by. I'm glad you like the Lady Ink photo. I'm so glad I chose to share it, I was nervous it wasn't good enough!

I might want to steal this concept! I totally believe I miss a lot of views because I always post in the same time frame... So might be a great idea to do a weekly round-up and post that on a very different time frame so I might improve my visibility among other Steemians from different timezones...

Thanks for sharing, you create such great content! Also happy to see you have experimented with and decided on an upvote bot strategy that suits you :-)

Yes @soyrosa and thank YOU for your input on my bot experimentation. By all means, take this concept and use it freely. I'm kind of shocked by the response to this one (the previous one wasn't well-scene) but I'm starting to see the importance of repetition on Steemit... having a post curated/featured in multiple circles made its organic engagement go way up. So, this is my own internal version of that!

:) do you feel like a huge hit because you are!

shucks

@kubbyelizabeth you are too kind. Folks like you give new Steemians like me the strength to keep going even when it feels like no one is listening. Thank you. 💓

you are a sweet 💜 heart!

You have certainly made some serious trends on steemit, I mean, look at your reputation, only about a month since joining. You are a classic example of how we all can succeed if we prioritize quality. Congratulations.

And before i fly away, I am #freewrites encourager for today.

It is a while since we last saw you. Your little #freewrite corner remains waiting for you!

Here with another sweet of the sweet pies from @mariannewest, we look forward to reading another of those great quality works of yours!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-123-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-fumigate

Wow @ebitularmbert those are high praises. Thank you for such kind words. I'm actually kind of stumped as to how reputation works but I do post so much 😂 I simply hope I'm continuing to improve, you know?

Thank you for the #freewrite reminder! I need to get those creative juices flowing...

Please do. I think the first reuirement for the reputtaion to rise is when you given high-percentage upvotes by those with reputation above yours....or something along that line. It shouldn't matter, anyway, if it keeps growing. And it should. because when it does, it somewhat allows people to take you seriously...it shouts for you!!!

Thanks

this is a great idea, good to see it coming along nicely, great job

Thank you! Happy to see you around here too. 😁

Thank you for all of these brilliant posts in one place. Having a weekly round up is an excellent idea.

Many thanks @sumayyahsaidso! By all means, I hope any and all use the concept. It's basically an internally hosted newsletter. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33