Exploring the Knoxville Museum of Art

in #art6 years ago

kma-header.jpg

When's the best time to go to the museum? On a rainy day. There's nothing pulling you to be outside, enjoying the fresh air. Instead, you can be cozy, walk slowly, and take your time with each piece that strikes your fancy.

My beau Alhen and I went to the Knoxville Museum of Art at the offer of a friend who is a docent (tour guide) on occasion. She is multi-lingual, German being her first language, so giving a full museum tour in English has been part of her language practice since moving here. She did a spectacular job on our tour.

We went midday with our rain hoods up and saw that the pink marble building, made from East Tennessee marble, was glistening beneath a light sheen. The building is very modern, built of concrete in four floors, three of which open to the public, with ample glass on either side and a pink marble facade covering the entire building and its surrounding architectural features.

David Jolley: The Circle of Life

ORG_DSC03374 2.jpg

The piece you see above is titled Universe is part of a seven piece expanse titled The Cycle of Life. In seven pieces, Richard Jolley - who is known for his massive endeavors in glasswork, illustrates life through a metal carved forest, carbon cut-out early humans, a Tree of Life featuring glass doves, and the cosmic energy culminating into the Universe (shown above).

While glasswork is not my favorite form of sculpture, I had the opportunity to study this piece for some time, as it is enormous and covers the entire ceiling of the museum presentation hall.

In a small wing off of the presentation hall, a small but diverse glass exhibition was featured, furthering my understanding of the various styles of glasswork.


Higher Ground: A Century of the Visual Arts in East Tennessee

ORG_DSC03383 2.jpg

This piece was my favorite of the day, as it was the favorite of our docent and many others who have seen it. This is Morning by Catherine Wiley, an American impressionist who became ill, physically and psychologically, at a young age. Her artwork shows a stark decrease in her health as she transitions from a more traditional impressionistic style in the early 1900s to a darker, moodier, heavier-textured evolution of impressionism, as seen in this piece.

Our docent Eva explained that this piece, and a couple more of hers on-display, were somewhat unique in the sense that they are impressionistic but they are painted indoors. Impressionism was popularly painted outside as the style blossomed around the time that a type of paint was invented that would not dry-up if it was exposed to outside environments. To paint impressionistically indoors further highlights how introverted and reclusive her condition cause her to become.


Recent Art from East Tennessee and Beyond

ORG_DSC03387 2.jpg

I regret not taking a photo further back to provide more context for this artwork! While you see this tiny Mona Lisa displayed in this glass orb, what is composing the image is a meticulous wall arrangement of spools of thread. More on this piece from the Knoxville Museum of Arts Directory

Devorah Sperber uses groupings of ordinary objects to explore the connections between art and technology, and ways in which visible reality is perceived by the human mind. She became aware that an iconic image repeatedly seen becomes memorized to the extent that complete visual information is no longer needed for recognition to occur. By presenting images in a new medium, size, and orientation, the artist depends on audience participation through what is termed neurological priming, the ability of the viewer to decode visual patterns as an identifiable picture using mental imprints from prior viewings.

ORG_DSC03393 2.jpg

I found this piece by Westergren to be particularly enchanting. Thousands of sequins make up a stunning landscape of an iceberg in the ocean, depicting the artist's Nordic heritage. The further away you stood, the more you could see. The closer you went, the more hypnotizing the shimmering, sparkling sequins became.

What you see here is a skewed, extremely life-like self-portrait of the back of the artist's profile.

Featuring almost 1000 hours of hands-on contact and hundreds of his own strands of hair.

ORG_DSC03397 2.jpg

ORG_DSC03398 2.jpg

We were all struck differently by this piece. Eva found it very modern and exciting, I found it rather disturbing though I couldn't look away. Evan Penny's experience in costuming, movie-makeup, and sculpture have honed his skills so immensely that this looks like the back of a person's head, simply stretched, and would give any onlooker the willies. More on this piece from the Knoxville Museum of Art Directory

Working in molded and dye-painted silicone, implanting real hair one strand at a time, Evan Penny makes figures (most often head-and-shoulders busts) at twice life size or larger. Oddly, the closer one gets to this work, the closer one looks at the details of Penny's work, the more real it appears. Penny constructs molds for the silicone by modeling clay by hand, a technique he also uses as an artist who makes props for movies. This work, a self portrait, shares with other work by Penny a sensibility that goes beyond just technological virtuosity. Through the painstaking creation of scars, blemishes and other imperfections of the body, Penny investigates human corporeality and fallibility.


#If you have the opportunity to experience a docent tour at a museum - even the one in your hometown you've visited numerous times - please do so.
It was a tremendous experience to have a volunteer who was even more passionate than us about enjoying an afternoon at the museum. She knew the pieces, the artists, the methods and intent behind the curation of the exhibits, and kept us engaged with conversation-provoking questions.

ORG_DSC03408 2.jpg


Press Ahead: Contemporary Prints Gifted by Helen and Russell Novak

Upon approaching this section, Eva invited us to explore the rooms and view each of the pieces - briskly - and choose our favorite and our least favorite. Alhen and I split in different directions and this is what I found.

ORG_DSC03415 2.jpg

Love Laughs by Jane Hammond

This piece is my favorite of the whole exhibit. However, because I'd only perused it briskly, I barely saw each of the ornate details that made it so special. This piece is a hand-colored lithograph collage, crayons as the primary color medium that features crudely illustrated wives' tales in each section of a scaffolding-structured house. It's entertaining, incorporates multiple mediums/artistic styles, and I'm sure if I spent even more time with it, I'd discover deeper themes amidst those rooms.

ORG_DSC03417.jpg

Decapitation Nation by Tom Huck

Instead of photographing and sharing my least favorite piece, I chose to share my second favorite. Woodcut prints with their stark lines, monochrome drama, and high contrast seem reminiscent to Medieval print methods that further influenced the early-Pilgrim printed literature. Mainly, that of the Salem Witch Trials & burnings. This piece is a bit gruesome but is humorous in its depiction of ignorant, pointless violence.

Further reading if you'd like to learn more about Medeival woodcut history.


ORG_DSC03418.jpg

It was a pleasure to spend the afternoon enjoying art with my love, discussing our favorite pieces, our favorite styles, and learning a bit about each others' tastes. Lately, we've found that we fall into the same habit of "Netflix + (snacks, dinner, knitting/phone-ing, etc) as opposed to spending intellectually rich time together. This doesn't mean we're giving up Netflix + Chill for good, but rather is an opportunity for us to get to know each other and ourselves through more intentional activities.

What are you favorite date activities?

Share with me in the comments below so I can get Alhen + I out of the Slow Rolling Home and out into the world.






Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. My blog has lived at www.amelia-bartlett.com until I discovered Steemit, where I now post most of my work. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

teamgirlpowa.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

ladies-of-steemit-banner-rounded.png

Sort:  

This sounds like a fantastic date! The photo of you looking at the piece by Westergren reminded me of Ferris Bueller's day off. lol! I so need to go on a date with my man. Much harder to make happen when you have small kids. Love the date post, though. Great idea!

I love this great date concept.. nice to explore things outside the box.

Thank you @orlena. 😁 We had a lot of fun, even though I think my dude got a bit bored at times. I really enjoyed talking about the art, though. It enriches the experience!

I wish somebody would look at me like this guy looking at the girl...

Screenshot_200.jpg

LOL 🙄 That's my boyfriend looking at our tour guide, also our friend (who is married to another one of our friends).

Lol... Perhaps you should take up being a museum currator @captiansailor

Well you can always take a day trip to Nashville! I still haven't made my way out to Knoxville... I also.love Chattanooga and it's a little closer for us so I usually opt for there! Museums are always a good way to spend a few hours and taking in some bits of inspiration. It's been too cold for hiking so I think trip to the museum is in order! So many to choose from here!

Ooh we have been talking about Nashville. My boo has been but I haven't. Maybe we could do a double-date day with you and @gomatthew? 😍

Great reporting on the Knoxville Museum. As a long-time artist, I appreciate gallery coverage, especially of places I have never been too. Your post definitely makes me want to go there with my wife @denisechips. I think my favorite piece of art posted here is the Mona Lisa in the glass orb. I am sure Leonardo never imagined the art like that!

The sequin piece might by my second favorite. In fact, the photo of a viewer looking at that art is excellent too. Nicely done!
PS. Found you on #steemusa

Thank you @joechiappetta! Happy to have another @steemusa comrade here. 😁 And I know right! Imagine if Da Vinci could see all the ways his piece has been interpreted​... crazy.

Very good pots @ameliabartlett
Nice museum, in which there are photographs that have been made in history in natural science.

I liked the cosmic universe, the iceberg made out of sequins.

And the artist self portrait is weirdly compelling but the side shot gave me some horror though haha.

What a great way to spend a rainy day.

Hi @ameliabartlett! What a well written and thorough post! 100% upvoted! My husband @joechiappetta and I have the list of LA museum free days programmed into our phones so we can take advantage of every free "date" possible. Such fun learning adventures with your love!

Dante is here,No Fear

Hey there Amelia, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and rainy days are remarkable when we are able snuggle up with a book, a puzzle, with some friends, or at a museum like you said. That back head art piece is very anthropological. I love art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34