Ulog - Appreciate what you have

in #teamnz6 years ago

Ulog - Appreciate what you have

Sometimes we all need to see something that reminds of whats important in life, sometimes things get to us over what seems important to us at the time, but seeing people sleeping on the street as I will share in this post, really gives me a kick in the butt and makes me appreciate both what I have and what is important in life.

people sleeping on the Street-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 152mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 6400
Click here to view larger



When I saw this guy not far from Grand Central Terminal on Park Ave one morning, and again when I saw this shot when trying to decide what to do for this post, it really touched my heard to see someone sleeping in such an uncomfortable position and it also seemed clear to me that this gentleman is in such a bad state.

At the time, popped to a little store across the street and brought a bottle of water and a sandwich and left it by the man for when he woke up, I didn't wake him as sometimes people like this can wake up and be appreciative, other times that can get very aggressive so I just left them by him and let it be.

But seeing this again today and feeling a bit grouchy because I have a sore shoulder, back, and elbow, suddenly I realized that's just a minor inconvenience and will pass.

Let's face it I am sitting in my condo, on a comfortable chair with AC running, working on my computer and listening to music as I type this, what the heck do I have to complain about.

people sleeping on the Street.jpg

Sony A7iii 134mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 2000
Click here to view larger



And here is another guy sleeping on the street, also not to far from Grand Central, and you have to wonder what unfiortunate events have led him to be sleeping there.

people sleeping on the Street-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 181mm F6.3 1/40 ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


And lastly this shot, to me it looked like he was just taking a rest on a bench in a park, and probably is OK, but I know when I was younger I could have rested like that but nowadays I would get up achy, so glad I work in a nice comfortable office with a comfortable work chair so I don't need to rest like this.

And that's it for this post, but will finish off with this final thought

When things are getting you down for whatever reason try to step back for a minute or three and think about those in even worse situations, it may help you to deal with whatever is troubling you with a clearer mind.

PS I hope this is inline with the concept of Ulog posts, I am not sure but it seemed to fit to me.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png


!steemitworldmap 40.752412 lat -73.976960 long Midtown NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Yes and homelessness can come to people of all ages. My 22 year old niece and husband have been living in their car with their 2 and 3 year old children since about August 6th in Colorado Springs - which is about a 14 hour drive from me. It kills me and I have sent them money for food because I don't want the children to not have anything to eat. The only good news is my niece just started a job 3 days ago. Poverty and homelessness exists in the USA - we should all be grateful for our homes and comfortable beds. So glad you left him some water and a sandwich! I'm with you - the last time it was comfortable for me to sleep on the ground, was back in my late twenties! There is a huge homeless population in downtown Dallas...

the amount of homesless is shocking and somehting sure needs to be done

Wishing your neice and her family all the best

good job my man for helping out that guy. Most don't care so it's encouraging to see this. Thanks for sharing

@robertandrew to me its just a small gesture I do similar often thanks for your support

Sometimes it is hard to see the humanity in the people beneath you on the socioeconomic ladder. I often would ask people on the street if they would like a meal, even having a few turn violent when I wouldn't just give them money. But I never let the bad apples spoil my enthusiasm for helping my fellow man.

clapping

Being mindful of the fact we are all human and deserving of respect is what keeps you, well.. human.

Not sure if I said that right, but I'll run with it. Thanks for sharing. <3

Thats great that you never let bad apples spoil it for others needy, i try to do the same but after a close call with a knife I am a bit cautous these days

thanks so much for your visit and support

Another kind of support is incoming, I popped a little bot on you. :)

Thats so kind of you

This post has received a 28.57 % upvote from @sharkbank thanks to: @sammosk.

@tattoodjay nice post. It is important to keep perspective on all that we have to be grateful for... Homelessness is a real problem in San Francisco. I must confess that last weekend I was taking street art photos in a pretty rough alley. There were three buildings, I would photograph a building then get back in my car, move up a little and photograph the next one. When I got to the third and last building and started taking photos when I noticed a homeless guy sleeping on the ground behind a trashcan midway through the alley. I had been in the alley probably 10 minutes and didn't see him. It was jarring that someone else was in the narrow alley with me all that time unnoticed. Then it was jarring because I didn't even see him. I want to think I honestly didn't see him but sometimes the homeless become invisible because they are so common in SF. Very sad.

Thanks for such a kind and thoughtful comment
Yes when there are so many homeless around they can become part of the scenery and barely noticed

became park bench mutations
On the sidewalks and in the stations

Thrasher - Neil Young

Ohh yes I remember that song now

@tattoodjay Hi !! We should be grateful for the things we have, the work we have, the people we work with, the people we work with every day. We cannot allow ourselves to be taken for granted by laziness. We must be emotionally strong in the face of any adversity, not fall into vices. To avoid all this we must have that strength that Our Heavenly Father gives us. When temptations overwhelm us with fury, see your blessings count and true. We are blessed, We are children of God!... Greetings from Venezuela!

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

@betzy I so agree with what you say thanks for the visit

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=ulog-appreciate-what-you-have


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-people" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46