The Photocircle [ #photography curation project ]

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Friends!

Today, I'm pleased to introduce a curation project for the photography community with the intention to find outstanding work from talented photographers, enthusiasts, or hobbyists.

PC thumbnail.jpg


I’ve been wondering, what if there’s a way to see the best photography posts from our Steemit folks?


Although there are existing communities and curation projects that are in operation and are actively curating posts from outstanding authors.


I figured, shouldn’t we do our part in making Steemit a better place for the whole community? After all, we are the one (the users) who will benefit in the long run.


From this month onward, I will conduct a curation program. A personal decision, an initiative to help. My initial commitment will be one month of daily curation for the photography community.

This curation program will be named “Photocircle”, it is a combination of the words “photo” & “circle”. Basically, it’s a community for photographers, enthusiasts, hobbyist, & learners. Alongside this program is the new tag, it will be the #photocircle.


I encourage my fellow Steemians to utilize this tag to show your willingness to participate in the program.


Who will benefit on this program?

At the moment, it will benefit the Steemians with reputation starting from 25 to 52. It is for the simple reasons that these are the users that are either:

  • new to Steemit
  • users that hasn’t able to get enough visibility yet

I’ve been on this road before, everyone started rough at least for the majority, and it took me some time to learn about the ways of Steemit. This is not to say that I already achieve success in this platform, in fact, I’m just starting on my journey.


If I were to choose a good definition of success, it would be:

“Who are you tomorrow begins with what you do today”

It is a quote from Tim Fargo, though it’s concise, I do think that it’s meaningful. And I would like to put it in practice here in our Steemit community.


What do I offer for this community?

My task will start by scouting photography contents from outstanding authors (rep 25 – 52) that are posting using the current photography tag. Their posts will be curated and featured to an article that I will be posting in my feed, to gain a bit more of visibility.

The featured authors will be incentivize with the following:

  • I will personally upvote your post
  • earn part of the reward of 1 Steem which will be equally divided among the other authors

For a start, I commit to curate four (4) authors each day that will take a share from the incentives that were mentioned. The incentive might not be as immense as the other curation projects, but I will do my best to invite sponsors that are willing to help on this curation program.

Lastly, I would like to invite my Steemit friends to join me on this curation project by showing support to the featured authors. Show them your love!


PC comment footer.png


I hope you are as excited as I am for this project, and I look forward into finding your amazing works!


Cover photo option 3 - resize.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for the invitation to the program. I am glad that my photos have caught your attention.

Your work is truly captivating, thank you for your support as well. We are a growing community so we might as well help each other and be successful along side each other. Keep it up and I know you will do great. See you around :-)

Thank you for the resteem. The others that @photocircle have resteemed are some good ones. I will have to go back and upvote a few after my vote power refills.

Thanks for your support buddy! I will be writing the feature post in a while. I hope to get more support to be able to increase the incentives for the featured authors.

By the way, I have selected your posts to be part of today's feature, including the rest of those resteemed @photocircle which are obviously undervalued for the effort & talent that was put into to producing those work (yours included).

If this project went well, i would like to form a community where people like us can share ideas and learn from each other, which will focus on photography.

P.S. you may also drop a link of a post from an author/photographer that you think is deserving for the feature. That would be very helpful :-)

https://steemit.com/photoguides/@himalayanwomb/a-photo-a-day-10-shikari-devi-a-roofless-temple-3313-meters

I thought at first the photos on that post we're drawings.

A group to share ideas sounds like a good idea. I see a lot of the people I followed at one time have stopped posting. I think they get discouraged.

Its after my bedtime here buddy, I will chat with you tomorrow :) Don't want to sound like a broken record but thank you for the compliments.

Thanks for the help buddy (this is a good one!)! Looking forward to a collaboration work with you for this project.

Yes, have a rest. It's our lunch time here in SG.

Hey check this one out. I started following him when he had won the first #mypictureday contest I participated in.

https://steemit.com/photography/@alequandro/today-i-ll-tell-you-a-little-about-my-life-as-a-photographer

Great! I think I remember @alequandro. This post is awesome, great story as well. Yes let's feature him for today edition.

Thanks a lot buddy!

I have been browsing through the photography post tonight. So many photos without any type of story or context to go along with it. The story that goes along with the photos add so much to a post.

I get people wanting to submit photos to contest but it's a little disappointing to click on a photo post and there not be any text that goes with it.

I think it would be ok for now, let's be inclusive as long as it's their own work. I haven't come up with the technical details for rules. For now Im working for visibility and looking for sponsors. If this project gain more attention, we will release the @photocircle account and then invite moderators to join. That's the plan for this project. :-)

@snusmumriken might be someone to keep an eye on too.

Thanks! Will follow @snusmumriken as well.

By the way, are you interested to join me in this project? As one of the future moderators?

Hello @funtraveller! I'd like to delegate some steem to @photocircle but don't know how. This would be my first one. Can you help me please? I'd like to support @photocircle's work.

Hi @erikah, im surprised in the best way about your offer :) Ive been meaning to request delegation from supporters like you (for a long time now), though I haven't figure out how do I compensate or provide any form of gratitude yet. But that will be one of the future goals for the project. By the time i settle few things for the program then i will look into building the SP for @photocircle. I hope your interest to support the project is still on by the time comes. Im thankful for your initiative about it :)

Just to be clear, I'm not asking anything in return :) I thought it's time for me to give back, now I can, have some steem and I thought of you because you're doing a great job and you've helped me a lot. :)
So I can delegate you a small amount of steem if you want. Just tell me how and when because I don't like to keep steem or SBD in my wallet for many reasons :)

This is a welcoming initiative for the new photography related users on Steemit

@smawkward and me are trying our best to gather a community of photography enthusiasts. Feel free to join us :-)

I'll do my best to contribute as much as possible

Thanks a lot buddy. We'll try our best to support as well. Looking forward to your awesome works :-)

I like the idea..really..I do appreciate...

Thanks! Pls support the authors that will be featured in future posts :-)

That is a very nice idea, and I will be happy joining :-) You liked my mountain, but I think the doubtfulsound picture is even better. But New zealand is just the place to take amazing pictures :-) I will resteem your post but I can not upvote yet,, because I am only on 71% Thank you for visiting!

Thanks a lot for the support @janine-ariane :-) When I saw your mountain monday post, it immediately capture my attention :-)

It's fine :-) pls help to spread the word. Thanks!

producing extraordinary pliers is the dream of all photographers. because every photographer does an adventure to get the best picture. sometimes introducing photos around him in an effort to introduce something that is considered special

I am a photography enthusiast and I love this project, every time you get new knowledge from people like you, thanks for sharing, my best wishes and successes

Thanks for showing interest to the project. Feel free to share your photos to the #photocircle tag. Cheers!

excellent photography and great post @funtraveller

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55