Some of the features in the UNHQ New York Compound

in #teamnz6 years ago (edited)

Some of the features in the UNHQ New York Compound

Art In United Nations Knotted Pistol.jpg

Sony A7iii 41mm F8 1/60 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Recently I had a couple of meetings in the Secretariat building in the United Nations in NYC, and between meetings, I had some free time so I took a few shots of some of the pieces in the compound which have been donated by the member state countries.

I start with this shot of the Pistol with the knot in the Barrel, which if anyone has done a tour of the United Nations most likely has seen, it was donated by the Luxembourg Government and is called the Non-Violence Sculpture.

This post will be for @juliank’s daily photo contest for info check out the FAQ page

This is for the Travel Photography Friday

Art In United Nations Circle thingy.jpg

Sony A7iii 89mm F8 1/100 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And this visitors most likely have seen as well as it is near the entrance, it is titled Sphere within a sphere and was donated by Italy.

If you do the tour you will also see other art pieces and donations from various countries but for this post, I will focus on some that are in the grounds of the United Nations, the first two many will have seen, the next ones perhaps not so many have seen.

Art In United Nations Gardens Swors into Plough shares.jpg

Sony A7iii 40mm F8 1/125 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And this is a piece i have shared before titled Let us beat our swords into Ploughshares, which was donated by the Soviet Union,

Art In United Nations Gardens Wall.jpg

Sony A7iii 58mm F8 1/125 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And this piece I guess many will guess what it is and who it was donated by, but lets see,

What do you think this is and which Country was it donated by?

Art In United Nations Gardens Big bowl and Sword into Plowshares.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F8 1/100 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Update

I did some more searching and here is what I found
Centenary Tripod

China presented the Centenary Tripod to the UN on its 50th anniversary in 1995. Cast in bronze, the sculpture is 2.1 meters high and weighs 1.36 metric tons. The tripod is a traditional Chinese utensil that represents stability, tranquillity and peace.

Art In United Nations Gardens Shiny spikey thingy.jpg

Sony A7iii 47mm F8 1/125 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Also in view in the last shot was this bright and shiny piece, which again I am not sure at the moment who it is from so even though I do have more shots of the pieces on display, I need to do more research and see if I can find out a bit about them so I will finish this off and share it tonight and in the future share another post or two in the Gardens here.
Update this last piece is ROOTS AND TIES FOR PEACE donated by Brazil


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.748774 lat -73.967344 long United Nations HQ NYC d3scr

Art In United Nations Gardens Big bowl.jpg

Sort:  

Very interesting pieces... and very varied too!
The piece that looks like a pot (with the Beat the swords piece behind; and also the last photo) looks like from the Orient - the characters seen in the final photo (on the base piece) look Chinese (or Japanese/Korean)
I don't read so can't help you there... :) Kinda looks like one of the joss stick holders - wild guess! :)

@ackhoo Yes there is such a variety of Art inthe grounds and for that matter in the buildings

I did find out about the two I didnt know about here is the info onthe big bowl

Centenary Tripod

China presented the Centenary Tripod to the UN on its 50th anniversary in 1995. Cast in bronze, the sculpture is 2.1 meters high and weighs 1.36 metric tons. The tripod is a traditional Chinese utensil that represents stability, tranquillity and peace.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 210 (7/29/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=some-of-the-features-in-the-unhq-new-york-compound


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

This is truly amazing pictures my friend 😊
I love the gun statue alot such a great shot.
And second picture looks really cool and weard... Lol
Thank you for sharing this, loved all pictures.
Have a wonderful weekend Jay and much love ❤️🤗❤️

Thanks Kindly my friend, That gun one used to be my Favorite, but there is a new one there that I still have to edit the shots, that is so cool as well, will feature it in another post sometime soon

you to have a wonderful weekend

Those look really nice and that one with the gun is hilarious and almost cartoon like with a powerful message behind it!

@zen-art Thanks yes that gun does send a powerful message id used to be my favorite one there but now it comes second but that's for another post

WOAH! I’m not even sure which of these I like the best. They are all so magnificent. I love that you can transport me to a place like this through your pictures. Such beautiful sculptures. Thank you for loving photography and having a gift. Most of all, thank you for sharing it with us.

@topkpop Awww that is so kind of you to say as you know its a hobby that relaxes me

and there are more to come from there :)

These shots are freakin awesome! nice one @tattoodjay!!

@iammegankylie Thanks I was able to find out more about the two I didnt have info on and updated the post

I have been to NYC a million times because I live only a couple hours away from there or so and I have never seen these while I was in the city, truth be told I'm not even sure where the United Nations building is. It's never been one of my stops during my trips there but it looks like it's worth a visit!

@jonnyla08 Since i work for the Un and am in the compound so often I kind of take them for granted and just realized the other day I should share some shots of them, since many may not get there

The UN complex is on First Ave between 42nd and 45th, and doe have visitors tours which show a lot of the Art donated in the building

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72